Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John W Bonner Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 721 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2013

I am not happy with this school. It is VERY OVERATED, the communication between school and parents is Terrible! Will diffidently not be back...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

I have had 2 girls at Bonner Elementary School and can say that the whole Family loves it. Mr. Catania (principal) and the entire staff care deeply about each individual child's progress and growth. Great teachers in all grades as well as they specialty teachers. I was involved in the PTA at the school and will say that it is one of the most organized I have been a part of. Any family would be lucky to be a part of the Bonner Family. Bonner Pride We Got It!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

the best school in Clark county . I love my sons school. I wouldn't change a thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about this school. I have two daughters who just finished 2nd grade. They attended Bonner for 1st grade also. It all starts with the principal, Mr. Cantania. He creates an atmosphere that children love. He both encourages and motivates the students every day and is constantly involved in all of their activities. My daughters teachers were also first rate. They were caring but strict and gave us constant feedback on their progress. Both daughters loved their teachers. I am personally amazed at their learning progress during these two years. Finally, the PTA at Bonner is run really well with involvement the parents and the teachers. I feel very fortunate that my children attend Bonner. Hats off to Mr. Cantania and his great staff!!! Great job!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

A great Princpal and great teachers. He is very visible at the school and the children love him. We moved from out of state where we have the cream of the crop school. We do miss the old school, but BONNER is awesome. My daughter has adjusted well and done well academically. I recommend Bonner to any parent looking for a school who allows for creativity, but also expects good behavior and good academics. Bonner has no major behavior problems, high test scores, quality instruction, and caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

The best principal hands down! We love this school! There is no doubt that the children are better off here. The school has great fundraisers and Mr. Cantania is all about using the money for more staff! Since it is such a great school, all the great teachers want to go here, so they have their pick of the best! We are very happy parents and my children love it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

Both of my daughters have attended Bonner since Kindergarten and are now in the 3rd and 4th grades. We love Bonner and their staff, who truly care about the children, their success in both education, character and as a community. We have had amazing teachers who are always willing to challenge the girls and keep learning fun for them as well! Principal Catania is a great leader and does a phenomenal job motivating the children and involving the parents and community. We looked at many schools - both private and public - before enrolling our daughters and are proud to be Bonner Bobcats! Undoubtedly a FIVE STAR school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2012

My daughter is graduating from Bonner in June, 2012. She attended the pay for Kindergarten full day program and has received a great education at Bonner. The teachers, the Principal and Asst. Principal ,the PTA, and the parents and kids make this a great school. Lots of activities and experiences ...my daughter has had a wonderful experience at Bonner. My son will start full day Kindergarten in August of 2012. I cannot imagine sending him anyplace else. A five star school on Las Vegas....Thank you to a great staff with great leadership
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

This our second year at Bonner Elementary and we love this school. It has great curriculum, great stuff and most important great principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

Bonner is an excellent school! Great Teachers, faculty and an awesome Principle! I believe he won Principle of the year. What great leadership in motivating (From staff to students) school spirit and having students strive to do their very best at all times. My son was in 1st grade but he sure came home talking about how well he wants to do on his work. Love it. Bonner encourages parent involvement as well. Even though I feel the classrooms have too many students...the teachers seem to be doing an awesome job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

My family has been extremely happy with our experiences at John W. Bonner Elementary School. My daughter has had dedicated, caring teachers every year. Our new principal is extraordinary. He always puts the needs of the students first. The kids love him. Parental involvement is welcomed. I have been actively involved each year that my daughter has attended Bonner. I would highly recommend this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

Both of my children went to Bonner. My daughter did excellent but my son didn't. The school is great as long as your child is a go getter, but if they are shy or a little slow, and in need of a little push, the school failed. Though he had some individual teachers that reached out and worked hard for him, we felt that over all the school, especially the principle at the time, didn't want to be bothered. All they wanted to do was label him ADD. Somewhere during his 5 years there someone told him he was stupid and not smart, this has taken nearly two years to undo. We had scheduled a meeting with the principle and she didn't even show for it. We never even got a call of appology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

both my daughters have received first rate education from Bonner. Excellent teaching staff as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

My son goes to Bonner. So happy with him there. The teachers are ahppy and awesome. He went to Staton last year and it was terrible there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

School has amazing teachers, staff, and parental involvement! We love Bonner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

This will be my daughters second year at Bonner. We have had nothing but the best treatment. Loved her teacher. Very clean. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I was not happy with this school. It is greatly overated and lacked communication between school and parents. It also lacked extracurricular activities as well as educational advancement. Will not be back
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

Our grandaughter is in her 5th, and final, year at Bonner...Wonderful school and faculty


Posted July 21, 2007

My children had a great year! The teacher, the student and the parent had great communication to help each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

I was not happy with this school. It is greatly overated and lacked communication between school and parents. It also lacked extracurricular activities as well as educational advancement. I was in another Clark County school where my son received extra help with his writing and did much better than the children already at Bonner.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

141 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female92%
Male98%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian97%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch92%
Full price96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant95%

Reading

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch79%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian96%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian96%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch86%
Full price96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant94%

Reading

All Students91%
Female95%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian78%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian95%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch86%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female92%
Male83%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian81%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch75%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant87%

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male85%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian89%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant87%

Science

All Students78%
Female77%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian77%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 39%
Hispanic 16% 39%
Asian 13% 6%
Black 8% 10%
Two or more races 8% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

765 Crestdale Ln
Las Vegas, NV 89144
Phone: (702) 799-6050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT