Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

Front office staff looks unprofessional. Vice principal's on the website picture wears a cross, is she going to convert/brainwash my child? or fending off the vampires? Very disorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

Cartwright is an excellent school with top notch teachers and staff. I am very lucky to have my children taught by such a great group of caring professionals. From the daily work, specialists, enrichment classes and PTA events, the school never drops the ball. I am honored to know such a great group of individuals. My only regret is that Cartwright doesn't teach through 12th grade. Thumbs up to the Coyotes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I love this school. The teachers and the staff are extraordinary! They are dedicated and care for each child. We are extremely lucky to be zoned for this school. If every team in Clark Cty was like the Coyotes, Nevada would be #1 in the country. Go Coyotes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

The teachers and support staff truely care about each child. Great school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

As a grandparent visiting and volunteering in the school, I was so impressed by the front office staff! What wonderful ladies! They made me feel so comfortable and welcome. They even remembered my name when I left. Being a retired business woman and understanding the message the frontline people convey to the public, these women certainly have excellent customer skills. Kudos to Cartwright Elementary! I've never seen a school quite like this one!


Posted February 7, 2008

My son attended this school for 4 years and now my daughter is attending, it is a wonderful school, lots of parental involvement, and teachers and staff who really care about the children, the criteria for our home search was to stay zoned for this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2007

Cartwright is the best! Dr. Barker and Mr. Iverson provide great leadership. My children are in Kindergarten, 3rd, and 5th. The academic enrichment activties were continued because of the creativeness of the administration and willingness of the staff. A first rate music program and choir teacher who keeps the children interested in music - which studies prove advances learning. The GATE program is fabulous and keeps my daughter actively engaged and excited about learning. I've had absolutley no bad experiences throughout the past 4 years we've been at this school. It truly is wonderful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

Cartwright is a fabulous school! The teachers are awesome. Dr. Barker has brought in the best of the best and the test scores prove it! Look at the growth...every year! It just keeps getting better! Thanks for all of the extras that the staff puts forth. These teachers and administration really care about kids. OUTSTANDING!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

My son has attended Cartwright since the Fall of 2004 when he started Kindergarten. All of his teachers from Kindergarten through second grade have been excellent. They all expect a lot out of their students and put in the time and effort to achieve their goals. My son loves all of his teachers and his school. His father is active in the PTA and he works hard to ensure there are a lot of activities for the children to participate in. Dr. Barker and Mr. Iverson are excellent administrators. They spend long hours ensuring the children have excellent programs and extra-curricular activities. All of the staff and administration are dedicated professionals. We are extremely lucky to have our son attending this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2006

I had my child rezoned so that she could attend this school, because I have friends who said how wonderful it is. My child is way above average and her last school was unable to provide the proper outlets but Cartwright has been amazing so far. The teachers are great, Dr. Barker is a great principal and there are tons of extra-curricular programs for the students. Barker/Teachers are very involved and in touch. The onhe ly problem I have seen there is with the Health Office, they seem a little inexperienced, but everything else is great!!! The PTA is top-notch, winning lots of awards and always hosting events and keeping in touch with members. School starts earlier, but I have never seen a problem, as long as you send your kid to bed at a decent time they aren't tired. Maybe this school has changed for the better since 2005.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

I have two kids at the school and one in middle school and I have seen it regress. Good teachers have left the building while other 'long time' teachers should. I get the feeling that some there now don't what they are doing. Music teacher is excellent, but other specialists are average at best. My daughter was scared to go to PE because of the angry teacher. Administration is average...lots of saying and not doing. Unfortunately this is probably not even an average school in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

As a parent of a fourth grade student at Cartwright, I am extremely happy with the Administration, staff and teachers. I feel my child is receiving a quality education and feels very safe attending school. I'm grateful for the after school enrichment programs offered at Cartwright.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

My son attended there when they had students in trailers under the hot blazing desert,due to severe overcrowding. The staff was much more interested in fund raising and cramming for competency tests they had little time for teaching or concern for making school an enjoyable experience. After rezoning my son attended Gehring Elementary directly across the way. Same situation. A miserable situation in Silverado Ranch as far as I am concerned. Not only did I take my son out of school, I moved out of state. I pity anyone who has to send their child to either school, the middle school(Silvestri) or the high school. Good Luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

Great school! start time is early, but I see no problem with this. My child gets involved with several extracurricular activities, and enjoys going to school very much. The school constantly talks about local issues and what is happening in our community. In fact the local free paper did a write up on one of the most recent programs the school and students were involved with. The learning environment is strong, but I wish the curriculum could be more challenging for my child. I do not blame this on the school , because it is more of a district problem. Overall again I would say GREAT school, but as a parent we take a active roll in our children s education , and by no means relay solely on their schooling for this. This is why we work with our children, in outside studies and programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

Not happy at all. The teachers tend to turn a blind eye to alot of things that occur up there and dont communicate effectively with parents. My children have been there two years now and we are in the process of looking for another school. No extra curricular activities whatsoever except for chorus and the pta seems more focused on appeasing the teachers then they do the children. Start times I agree are way too early and they have alot of underqualified people substituting and several ineffective people teaching. Would not reccomend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

Not happy at all. The school is very political in terms of who gets the good tracks and who gets the good teachers. If you dont have the time to committ to voleteering up there dont expect to get the track you want. Also, the start time is ridiculous, I have seen more kids falling asleep at the early start time then I care to mention. Complaining about anything does no good as sides are always taken with the staff. If I had to choose again, I wouldnt choose this school. Unfortunately my child is already in the fourth grade so to move her now would not be in her best interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

I really like the school and the teachers. In the three years that my children have attended, I've been very satisfied with the teachers. My children like their school and have the utmost respect for their teachers. Also, I enjoy being able to e-mail the teachers if I have any questions or concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

Lovely school. My son has attended all six years. The PTA holds several activities throught the year. Ms Aguero has been great! I agree with previous post that the school start time is a bit early.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

117 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female78%
Male84%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian77%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch75%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant81%

Reading

All Students73%
Female76%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian77%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch61%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female81%
Male89%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch77%
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant85%

Reading

All Students83%
Female81%
Male84%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch75%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female81%
Male85%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant83%

Reading

All Students74%
Female74%
Male74%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant74%

Science

All Students70%
Female65%
Male74%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch57%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 37%
Hispanic 29% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Black 7% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 East Gary Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89123
Phone: (702) 799-1350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT