Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School 1

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
I'm giving Cartwright one star for several reasons. The first being their policy on recess and outdoor activity for the students. My 3rd grader gets 8 MINUTES of recess for a 6.5 hour school day. Yes, you read that right. It has been this way for years now, and when I took my frustrations to the principle (who wouldn't see us but instead had us meet with the assistant principal, who by the way is extremely rude. Not unlike all of the office staff) she said that their before school "line-up time" counted towards the required 30 minute of physical activity a day quotient. Also, to fill in the remaining gaps, their walking in between classes to their next class filled in the rest. Are you KIDDING me??? My son is a straight-A student and very social and he is miserable at this school. We left and moved to Portland for one year, to a school that had several recesses a day, and coming back to Cartwright this year has been awful. This school's primary concern is getting the students test ratings up so the school will receive more prestige and funding, not the welfare of its students. And the school thinks the way to accomplish this goal is by hot housing the kids in classrooms working all day. Other issues: My sons afternoon teacher uses degrading remarks toward the class, and also, the front office staff, like I mentioned, is atrociously rude and snotty. They never fail to make you seem like an unwelcome interloper whenever you need to talk to them. The only good thing I can say about this school is that my son had some good teachers for K and 1st grade. The Las Vegas school system is a mess.

Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School 1

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
The "five star school" posted in the office shouldn't be there. This school is nowhere near two stars. Office staff are rude.


Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School 1

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
Front office looks disorganized, the staff looked tired and unengaged. Not a good impression. Otherwise school outside looks well maintained and clean.

Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
Cartwright is an excellent school with top notch teachers and staff. I am very lucky to have my children taught by such a great group of caring professionals. From the daily work, specialists, enrichment classes and PTA events, the school never drops the ball. I am honored to know such a great group of individuals. My only regret is that Cartwright doesn't teach through 12th grade. Thumbs up to the Coyotes!

Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. The teachers and the staff are extraordinary! They are dedicated and care for each child. We are extremely lucky to be zoned for this school. If every team in Clark Cty was like the Coyotes, Nevada would be #1 in the country. Go Coyotes!


Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2008
- a parent
The teachers and support staff truely care about each child. Great school...

Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 03, 2008
- a community member
As a grandparent visiting and volunteering in the school, I was so impressed by the front office staff! What wonderful ladies! They made me feel so comfortable and welcome. They even remembered my name when I left. Being a retired business woman and understanding the message the frontline people convey to the public, these women certainly have excellent customer skills. Kudos to Cartwright Elementary! I've never seen a school quite like this one!

Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
My son attended this school for 4 years and now my daughter is attending, it is a wonderful school, lots of parental involvement, and teachers and staff who really care about the children, the criteria for our home search was to stay zoned for this great school.


Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2007
- a parent
Cartwright is the best! Dr. Barker and Mr. Iverson provide great leadership. My children are in Kindergarten, 3rd, and 5th. The academic enrichment activties were continued because of the creativeness of the administration and willingness of the staff. A first rate music program and choir teacher who keeps the children interested in music - which studies prove advances learning. The GATE program is fabulous and keeps my daughter actively engaged and excited about learning. I've had absolutley no bad experiences throughout the past 4 years we've been at this school. It truly is wonderful!!

Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School 5

Posted July 03, 2007
- a parent
Cartwright is a fabulous school! The teachers are awesome. Dr. Barker has brought in the best of the best and the test scores prove it! Look at the growth...every year! It just keeps getting better! Thanks for all of the extras that the staff puts forth. These teachers and administration really care about kids. OUTSTANDING!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School
1050 East Gary Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89123
(702) 799-1350
Last modified Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roberta C Cartwright Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top