Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Duane D Keller Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2014

This is the stupidest school EVER! Mack is better. All my 5th grade friends are gone cuz of this school. U suck keller, go mack!


Posted December 16, 2013

The 8th grade counselor (Ms Benson)has caused alot of problems for my family. I have never met this lady and she has acused me of abusing my chikld went as far to file a police report. As I stated she has never met me and is only going by what my child is saying.As far as I concerned I dont want my chilkd anywhere around her anymore and looking for new school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

the art teacher Mr.Olmstead is very picky and should be fired .My son has been turning all of his classwork in so i am going to report that teacher


Posted November 13, 2013

Hello I attend Keller Middle school now and I'm in 7th grade and I want to say all of these bad reviews are wrong. My teachers work hard on me and want me to succeed. I love Keller because it's a fun and well educated school!


Posted October 23, 2013

No books, but they do have I pads which is way cool. I like the dress code.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

must say this is the most horrific school. the kids were uncontrollable and this school had a HUGE problem with bullying. i reported peers 3 times for bullying, and nothing was done. the counselors gave them candy and when i told the dean about the bullying she tried holding her laughter back. some of the teachers didnt, well, teach! a worksheet a day and no learning. i really hope this school has improved because it was honestly the worst school when i attended. do NOT send your children here.


Posted July 7, 2012

I was a student here for 6th and 7th grade year. Based on my experience, I don't really recommend this school to most people. If your like me and you dislike busy crowds, obnoxious students, and constantly having to deal with trouble making students, then I defiantly DO NOT recommend this school. The only plus and positive thing about the school is their wonderful staff! Their staff has done a well job on maintaining the school as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2011

i went to keller for most of my middle school years.... they went too overboard on everything. i followed the dresscode everyday, but they somehow found something wrong with what i was wearing. so therefore i always had detention or w/e else they came up with. one teacher was really psycho but i've heard he got fired since then. the kids were all mean and believe me, there were tons of fights. the teachers back then really didn't care about your education, if you were failing they gave you an attitude. it was basically all favoritism. it's probably changed within the past 5 or 6 years though.


Posted February 13, 2011

Wow! Since when is a school rated on 'Funness'. Is that even a word? Apparently the student above does not pay a lot of attention in class. Keller MS has some of the hardest working teachers in the state of Nevada! They work their tails off to try to get students engaged with the process of learning. The faculty consistently amaze me with their creativity and approach to the sometimes messy art of teaching. Hats off to you Kellerites!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 25, 2010

i go to keller and i hate it because its like work, the teachers are mean and strick. and its dumb how they made that school i rate this school a 0 in funness and everything else


Posted August 22, 2009

I really like this school a lot. I don't know why most people don't like Keller. Sure it as a dress-code but, I see my friends wear stuff from Hot Topic so it really doesn't matter. The teachers there are kind of slow I guess but, there still friendly & pretty smart too. Last year I went to Mandalay Bay( the beach part not the Shark Reef ) and all I have do to get there is to pass the CRTs, and for the students that didn't pass the CRTs got a got two field days FUN. They got a really cool updated thing called a 'Smart Broad' in a the classrooms. They have macs and pcs in the computer lab. And over all I really like it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2009

This is the best school my son has been to. It has great discipline, and it has a strict dress code. They also do a lot of nice stuff for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

Keller Is A Great School My Son Has Mild Autism & ADHD My Son Can't Read Words Very Well & He DayDreams A Lot One Time A Kid Fell On His Desk & He Didn't Even Know That He Was There!!The Teachers & Students Can't Even Tell My Son Has Mild Autism & ADHD.He Has All A's & All O's,All The Kids Like Him,& I Tell Can tell
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

To any parent who wants to enroll their child I dont recommend this school the students are out off control and they seem to run the school. My daughter attends this school and the way she discribes it to me is like going to work everyday to a job you dont like. I personally will not be sending her back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2007

This is the worse school my child ever attended . Very few teachers care about the students.They are not updated wit the in touch system for the parents to review online . I am very unhappy I a parent was there several times and to discuss my child grades dropping from A to D and they just blame the student who wants to learn and they do not communicate with the parents that want to be involved. I would never recommened any parent to have their children attend this school.Also the counsler my child had has her own issues . No concern for the students that need the help to not be pushed around from( Bully's) students that just go to school because they have to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

The academic programs at Keller are fine. Sports and music activities are available, although the music activities are not appreciated or supported by the administration. Administrators are afraid to discipline wealthy LDS children and children with learning disabilities. Administrators are NOT afraid to attack teachers regarding any complaint from parents or upper class children. It follows that Keller Middle School is an unpleasant place to teach. Students suffer from the lack of morale that is a direct result of administrative policy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

489 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

441 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Female35%
Male35%
Black/African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian40%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch34%
Full price42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities39%
Students with limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English42%
Not migrant35%

Reading

All Students45%
Female46%
Male44%
Black/African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian49%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch42%
Full price61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities49%
Students with limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female44%
Male39%
Black/African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian39%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch42%
Full price38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities43%
Students with limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English49%
Not migrant41%

Reading

All Students49%
Female54%
Male45%
Black/African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian62%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities51%
Students with limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female21%
Male28%
Black/African American13%
Asian40%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian33%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch21%
Full price35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities27%
Students with limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English28%
Not migrant25%

Reading

All Students32%
Female40%
Male26%
Black/African American29%
Asian50%
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian35%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch29%
Full price43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities36%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English39%
Not migrant32%

Science

All Students39%
Female39%
Male39%
Black/African American32%
Asian65%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian55%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch35%
Full price50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities43%
Students with limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English45%
Not migrant39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 73% 40%
White 12% 37%
Black 8% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 North Fogg St
Las Vegas, NV 89110
Phone: (702) 799-3220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT