Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edith Garehime Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 650 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

It's currently my last year at Garehime, The teachers are excellent educators and believe in every student to succeed. I love the model city program that they provide. I loved participating in the First Friday events and actually making products to sell with our very own (Garehime Gold) and being envolved . The staff is really nice and it's a great community. I've met many friends, everyone is really nice and they make it fun. This is a phenomenal school!


Posted November 3, 2013

My daughter went there last year for 2 months (Kindergarten). In that short time my child learned more than she learned in 7 months at another school. Great teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

My son just started his second year at Garehime. We love sending him here and he loves going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

This school is Amazing. They really prepare children for real life with their community approach. The model city program teaches in a fun and interesting way what it means to be a great citizen in society. Kids understand more than just book smarts. The teachers are great and the parents are dedicated. Love sending my son here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

Love this school. Principal is a great leader. My daughter loves this school. We got a zone variance because of the school's reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

I moved my daughter from a Christian private school to Garehime. It was a very wise move for me to do that. The school offers model city program, which I think is a very smart thing to do, staff and teachers are great too. My daughter loves it here and she doesn't want to go back to private school. Message to govt officials: please support our school system well. Please support the great schools to perform at its best and please give a chance for other schools to do better. Cutting education budget is not a smart thing to do. Our kids will one day run for office and therefore we need to guide them well and give them the best education quality possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

Great school, no real complaints with this school at all. My son attended this school before and now my daughter does. We LOVE Garehime! Too bad the middle school in this area does not compare a bit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

This is my sons 6th & final year at Garehime :(, There is NOTHING wrong with this school & EVERYTHING RIGHT with this school! The teachers are great, patient, helpful,understanding & FUN. The staff is observent, helpful, caring & freindly, but I think the most important thing is that my son feels SAFE at this school, he knows he is surrounded by people who know him & will do there best to care for him, this school is not full of bullies ( teachers or students) & at Garehime they teach life skills not just book smarts.Hats off to all the staff at Garehime for creating such a great enviroment for kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2010

I just graduated from this school in June and I was also the mayor of the model city. I went to Garehime since kindergarten and loved it every single year! There is NOTHING bad about this school and anyone who has rated it, say, 3 stars or less is completely out of their minds. The teachers, principal, vice principal, and staff are all friendly and caring, but mean business. I love Garehime so much and will miss it when I go to Molasky next year!!


Posted April 27, 2010

My son has been at Garehime for two years now. Garehime and the way they run the Model City is outstanding! Students are learning not only academics they are also learning the real world! Almost all of the teachers have been there since the school opened. No teacher turn around here. The principal and vice principal put a huge amount of time into Garehime. Garehime is now an Empowerment school which will give the flexibility that will make Garehime even better. 5 stars to Garehime!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

My twins are in 1st grade and both of my boys have outstanding teachers. They love going to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

My daughter loved Garehime when she was there. We moved to Southern Highlands and both her and I miss many things about Garehime! It really is a friendly environment with alot of support from teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

I really can't say enough good things about this school. They go beyond just teaching by the cirriculum guidelines, and really get the children involved. Garehime Heights is a town and the children are residents who are taught responsibilites and lifeskills. They take great interest in each and every child....the staff is awesome and takes interest in each and every child. This school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

Garehime Elementary School has been the best experience for my child. The school is a microsociety and is run like a real town. There is a court system, bank, and class businesses, as well as student run businesses. My child has not only learned the basic math, reading, and writing skills, but also the various lifeskills needed to gain confidence. The teachers and staff work very hard and are dedicated to teaching the children at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

We love it here at Garehime Heights! The teachers and staff are very dedicated & caring. My daughter has loved every minute of her time at Garehime: K-3rd grade. I would recomend this school over any private school around. The teachers ensure that each child is challenged to acheive their personal best without pressuring them. They have a town structure within the school that gives every kid a chance to take responsibility and to learn business skills. They gain self confidence so quickly with this program. It is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

This School is Wonderful!!! All three of my Children attend Garehime...we bought our house so they could attend both Garehime and Centennial High School. Excellent Teachers and Staff! I Give Garehime an A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

I love this school!! It is the best place to be. My children have benefited greatly by the special program. The staff works so hard to make Garehime such an awesome place! All of the teachers are exceptional! The principal and assistant principal are also exceptional!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

Garehime has been an excellent school for my child from the very beginning. From open door policy to assisting in lifeskill advancement, all the staff and teachers have afforded their time and effort in teaching the children to be the best that they can be. All parents have been encouraged to become an intregal part of the school process and I for one apppreciate the thoughtfulness in the big picture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

Gareheime is an excelent school. As a parent, I want the best for my son and Garheime is it. I have moved 9 miles from the school district, but still keep my son enrolled at the school. I am not able to find the same quality in the school in our area. Private school is just too expensive, but Gareheime is as close to a private school as my son can get. Parent involvement is encouraged and the school spirit is amazing. My son was having reading problems in grade 1 and was placed with a reading specialist 3 times a day for 6 months and his reading level went from a level 4 to a level 19! The staff is caring, knowledgable and looking out for our children. Take a tour of the school - Have you ever seen such a well cared for school? Gareheime is GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

This is a TERRIBLE school. The teachers are unapproachable and the principal lacks respect for the parents and children. As for parent involvement, I was told we were 'over involved parents and they no longer wanted to deal with us.' The principal was known for hanging up the phone on my husband and yelling at me and my son. I would do EVERYTHING in my power to avoid this school. If your child does attend this school, I recommend being as involved as possible or your child will be shoved in the back of the classroom and forgotten about.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

104 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female77%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant80%

Reading

All Students75%
Female77%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian74%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male94%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian94%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch81%
Full price100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%

Reading

All Students90%
Female91%
Male88%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch77%
Full price99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant76%

Reading

All Students72%
Female80%
Male64%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian77%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full price73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant72%

Science

All Students75%
Female80%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 37%
Hispanic 20% 40%
Black 10% 10%
Two or more races 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3850 Campbell Rd
Las Vegas, NV 89129
Phone: (702) 799-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT