Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Las Vegas, NV
Students enrolled: 1,219

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Francis H Cortney Junior High School 5

Posted March 02, 2012
- a community member
I would like to start out by Mr. Wilson the math teacher he has had a great influence in my life he is a great person who genuinely cares about each and everyone of his students I have yet to meet another person who is so dedicated to his job and loves it as much he does. I was one of his first students the year they opened and some of my family members have had him over the years too and i know they can say the same about him. Overall this school is great and I would recommend anyone to this school. Keep up the good work guys! 13 years and I still remember how great of a school this is.

Francis H Cortney Junior High School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a community member
I'm a substitute teacher, and I love coming to this school. Normally, as a sub you meet the office staff and possibly a teacher or two.. My first day subbing there, I met the principal, and many teachers who were very welcoming. I've subbed for this school many times, and the teachers are quality. I wish the community would be a little more involved with the school... I.E go to basketball/sporting games, watch their step team!! I saw comments about how parents don't know the teachers..Your child spends, hopefully, countless hours at this school. Meet the teachers by sending in a note, email, try and call after school, etc. Teachers would like to have more communication with parents, and are understanding about how busy schedules are because they are busy themselves....teachers often are taking courses, or are doing extra curricular activities, etc...having an involved parent who can help improve their child's education makes life easier.


Francis H Cortney Junior High School 5

Posted December 04, 2011
- a community member
i am currently attending cortney. it is awesome. all the teachers are very helpful. the one that out stands the most is Mrs. Gledhill. She treats cortney like her home and cares for everybody.

Francis H Cortney Junior High School 5

Posted November 01, 2011
- a community member
My name is Garrett Morrison I am a former student that went here all three years, and this school was and still is amazing. I personally believe this is a school where all of the teachers care about your education as long as you apply yourself. One of the things I remeber most was the loving librarian Mrs. Gledhill. The core classes such as math, science, and English were challenging, but the teachers are so encouraging that you are motivated to do the work. My math teacher Mr. Wilson isamazing. He truley cares about his student and gives the hardest yet easiest homework. In conclusion this is an one of a kind middle school.

Francis H Cortney Junior High School 1

Posted October 19, 2011
- a community member
I am a current student and dont recommend it. I came from Montana and i have already learnd all of the things that i am currently learnig now.I enjoy P.E. but i dont like hows its an elective in seventh grade.The U.S./Nevada history section I learnd in 4-6 grade.also were i am from middle schoolm is 7 and 8 so elemntry is 6th. I dont recommend this school. I only like 2 out of my 6 teachers.Thank you for reading this


Francis H Cortney Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
They don't give up on their students. They actually care.

Francis H Cortney Junior High School 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Francis H Cortney Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted November 30, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attends Cortney,I like the uniform policy.I also find the office staff disinterested.When I enrolled my sixth grader I was very nervous,she is my first child to attend middle school,and we had just moved.I felt concerned about the staff I encountered.I find the Counselor and attendance lady to be great!I am sorry to say as of today I have not had any interaction with a teacher.


Francis H Cortney Junior High School 5

Posted March 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Francis H Cortney Junior High School 1

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Francis H Cortney Junior High School
5301 East Hacienda Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89122
(702) 799-2400
Last modified Francis H Cortney Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Francis H Cortney Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top