Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Francis H Cortney Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1197 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2012

I would like to start out by Mr. Wilson the math teacher he has had a great influence in my life he is a great person who genuinely cares about each and everyone of his students I have yet to meet another person who is so dedicated to his job and loves it as much he does. I was one of his first students the year they opened and some of my family members have had him over the years too and i know they can say the same about him. Overall this school is great and I would recommend anyone to this school. Keep up the good work guys! 13 years and I still remember how great of a school this is.


Posted February 8, 2012

I'm a substitute teacher, and I love coming to this school. Normally, as a sub you meet the office staff and possibly a teacher or two.. My first day subbing there, I met the principal, and many teachers who were very welcoming. I've subbed for this school many times, and the teachers are quality. I wish the community would be a little more involved with the school... I.E go to basketball/sporting games, watch their step team!! I saw comments about how parents don't know the teachers..Your child spends, hopefully, countless hours at this school. Meet the teachers by sending in a note, email, try and call after school, etc. Teachers would like to have more communication with parents, and are understanding about how busy schedules are because they are busy themselves....teachers often are taking courses, or are doing extra curricular activities, etc...having an involved parent who can help improve their child's education makes life easier.


Posted December 4, 2011

i am currently attending cortney. it is awesome. all the teachers are very helpful. the one that out stands the most is Mrs. Gledhill. She treats cortney like her home and cares for everybody.


Posted November 1, 2011

My name is Garrett Morrison I am a former student that went here all three years, and this school was and still is amazing. I personally believe this is a school where all of the teachers care about your education as long as you apply yourself. One of the things I remeber most was the loving librarian Mrs. Gledhill. The core classes such as math, science, and English were challenging, but the teachers are so encouraging that you are motivated to do the work. My math teacher Mr. Wilson isamazing. He truley cares about his student and gives the hardest yet easiest homework. In conclusion this is an one of a kind middle school.


Posted October 19, 2011

I am a current student and dont recommend it. I came from Montana and i have already learnd all of the things that i am currently learnig now.I enjoy P.E. but i dont like hows its an elective in seventh grade.The U.S./Nevada history section I learnd in 4-6 grade.also were i am from middle schoolm is 7 and 8 so elemntry is 6th. I dont recommend this school. I only like 2 out of my 6 teachers.Thank you for reading this


Posted October 3, 2009

They don't give up on their students. They actually care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

My daughter attends Cortney,I like the uniform policy.I also find the office staff disinterested.When I enrolled my sixth grader I was very nervous,she is my first child to attend middle school,and we had just moved.I felt concerned about the staff I encountered.I find the Counselor and attendance lady to be great!I am sorry to say as of today I have not had any interaction with a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

My son is attending Francic Cortney . I like the Teachers interest in helping the student after classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

My son loves attending Cortney. I feel that he is getting a quality seventh grade education and a chance to grow independently from peer influence. He feels very safe at school. For the most part, the kids are friendly and helpful. The office staff seems honestly disinterested. I have never had to deal with the deans; but the seventh grade counsleor is outstanding! He has gone above and beyond to assist me and my son in every way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

I went to Cortney for 6th and 7th. I enjoyed it. the teachers and staff were wonderful. I feel that I have learned alot from them. I am now a high school student in Seguin Texas and I feel I learned more from that school when I was in lower grade levels then I am now. the way they were teaching me helped me remember and learn it better. I would like to thank them all for everything.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

355 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Female37%
Male33%
Black/African American18%
Asian50%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial35%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian42%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch34%
Full price41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities39%
Students with limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English39%
Not migrant35%

Reading

All Students55%
Female62%
Male46%
Black/African American44%
Asian68%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial45%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian55%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities61%
Students with limited English proficiency24%
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female45%
Male35%
Black/African American31%
Asian57%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian42%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch36%
Full price56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities42%
Students with limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English46%
Not migrant40%

Reading

All Students55%
Female63%
Male47%
Black/African American45%
Asian74%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian55%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch52%
Full price66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities58%
Students with limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students28%
Female24%
Male30%
Black/African American19%
Asian52%
Hispanic24%
Multiracial37%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian30%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch26%
Full price35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities30%
Students with limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English29%
Not migrant28%

Reading

All Students37%
Female40%
Male34%
Black/African American28%
Asian49%
Hispanic32%
Multiracial56%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian49%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch35%
Full price43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities41%
Students with limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English39%
Not migrant37%

Science

All Students46%
Female43%
Male48%
Black/African American38%
Asian61%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial48%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian51%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities49%
Students with limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 39%
White 18% 39%
Black 11% 10%
Asian 8% 6%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-2407

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5301 East Hacienda Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89122
Phone: (702) 799-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




GV Christian School
Henderson, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT