Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Doris Hancock Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 481 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2013

This is not a good school. My kids hate going there. I've also had problems with the counselor Ms. Eliott. She plays favorites with some of the students and she is very hateful towards others. She made hateful comments about my child to another parent not knowing that parent and I were friends. She needs to go. I can't believe a counselor would talk about a student to another parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

I am finally pulling my daughter out of Hancock Elementary because it has become so horrible. The principal has cancelled all specials EVEN PE forcing students to go to the computer lab to work on skills. Students sit all day long with no movement, no fun, and utter confusion as to what is expected from them. Teachers have complained that they have no freedom to teach how they want due to the overcontrolling principal. Isn't it illegal to not allow children to have PE??? The principal cut the art program this year. Social studies and science are not taught at all. The students do worksheets all day long. Horrible, horrible school. Yes, kids can pass a test, but they have not learned anything other than test taking skills. Beware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Terrible school.My son is getting transferred (thank God!) to Griffin E.S after 4 years @ Hancock Because is a turnaround school,they made drastically changes that are totally wrong. They make the kids line up way in the back of the school,have. P.e at 2.45 pm wiith 106 degrees .....they are forced to do push ups ,jump rope and run .....and when they are exausted they need to request permission for standing in the "shade". The teachers,office staff and pretty much everyone is new ,and won't respect or addressed any situation .....they just simply don't care. Comunication with teachers is extremely poor. Everyone is so busy controlling time,mentioning every single regulations that they totally forgot what a school should be:.a safe and happy atmospherewhile our kids can learn with a HUMAN touch and caring for the little ones.... Don't take your kids there,you will regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

This is an incredible school they have a lot of activities for the kids and are so helpful , the teacher is so nice and challenge the kids to improve my daughter is so happy and that's make me happy too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My son goes to school at Hancock Elementary. I am very impressed with family night activities here. The staff goes out of their way to try to include parents in the school. As for my son's education, the teachers that he has had have used differentiated instruction. (They had to explained to me what that means....) That means they are teaching my son at his level and closely monitor his level to make sure he is learning at his instructional level (not his independent level or frustrational level). They do this for every child in the classroom!!! In fact, his teachers have been very good at explaining what occurs in the classroom and how well my son is progressing. I am very impressed with this school and plan to make sure he stays until 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

I went to this school for 5 years, and I absolutely loved it. The teachers were great, the classes were interesting and everything about it was awesome. If only this school went up to 12th grade. Even though I have already graduated from high school, I really loved this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2008

yeah, i went to this school since 4th grade and now in 8th...this school is great because the teachers really help the kids (when i was them) and its fun to be there in my point of views...my point is they should look at the kids view of points on understanding the schools spirit... doris hancock is awsome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2008

My son attended this school for kindergarten and there is no way he or any of my other children will ever attend this school again. The office staff are not helpful, his teacher was not supportive of his ability to read, and there was terrible school to home communication. My phone calls were never returned and newsletters were infrequent and most of the time late. Many times we missed school events because they had already occurred by the time we received any information regarding them or the teacher would tell us the day before and we had scheduling conflicts. It is a poorly managed school with teachers who are more interested in their personal lives than with educating their students. I hope this experience isn't indicative of the public school system here in Las Vegas or we will be looking at private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

I used to love this school, now I will do anything to get away from it. Not a very healthy environment for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

The teachers at this school really take an interest in children. Learning is the focus. There are many activities where families are invited and after school programs for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

I love this school. It is small, personable and caring. I wished it went to a higher grade level. I had much happiness with this school and it very close to home.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

72 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female78%
Male76%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Students with limited English proficiency77%
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant77%

Reading

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiency73%
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female68%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiency77%
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant71%

Reading

All Students71%
Female61%
Male77%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiency68%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch87%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant85%

Reading

All Students76%
Female81%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch77%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant76%

Science

All Students72%
Female65%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch71%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 39%
White 17% 39%
Black 14% 10%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1661 Lindell Rd
Las Vegas, NV 89146
Phone: (702) 799-4205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT