Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ed W Clark High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 5 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2014

I attended the school my junior year & my experience was horrible the school was crowded, I couldn't walk in the hallways, in the classes students were on the counters. The teacher on their phone. In an "advanced" class I had the students were rude & the teacher didn't even teach, also there was a lot of bullying. Worst school I've been to.


Posted October 21, 2013

There is no such thing as perfect high school anywhere. One can always find faults in the school or school district. With that said, your and your child are the lucky ones if enrolled in Ed W. Clark High School (Magnet). The sure way to judge academic strength of a high school is by the amount of high quality students it produced. Almost every year, Ed W. Clark High School has the highest number of National Merit Scholarship semifinalists.This year of 1013, there are 14 students from Clark High honored as National Merit semifinalist. It's highest in the State of Nevada. Washington Post ranked Ed W. Clark High #1, 2011 and #3, 2012 in Nevada. To give one star review because some medical forms mishaps is unfair and ignorant. Clark is a full size high school with 3000 students and 6000 parents. There bound to be issues among students, teachers and school staffs. My experience has been nothing but positive. I find all my child's teachers has been very responsive to his educational needs and my inquiry of missing homework or testing grades. Great teachers and willing parents are the secrets to a successful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

I'm a parent of an incoming freshman and so far I am NOT impressed with this school. The office is not helpful in getting the necessary paperwork(i.e. medication forms) for my child to safely attend school. I was informed about freshman orientation by automated phone call the Friday before it was to take place AND parents were NOT allowed to attend. And this was after the staff at her middle school bullied and threatened my child to pick elective classes or be expelled, all of this happened with NO parental notification or a chance for me as a parent to advise my child. As a result, my child chose electives that are so inappropriate for my child's medical conditions and continued health. The school would not give me a copy of her schedule so that classes could be changed before school started. I was told that my child would probably have to sit out in the classes for about a week before her schedule could be changed. So if this happens, my child will be a week behind in school. And we all know that teachers DO NOT let students not participate in class. I will be looking at other schools and options for my child and the rest of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

I currently attend clark high school and i am glad to say that it is a very good school. This school is very pro student, its all about the students, they have great teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2013

I've heard only good things about Clark from my old friends from Hyde Park, and it has produced exceptional college results and quality students as well as strong extracurriculars in math and science. Top school.


Posted October 28, 2012

This wonderful high school is no secret among educators and parents alike. E W Clark has second highest number of National Merit Scholars 2012 among all the Nevada's public & private high schools. Washington Post and Newsweek consistently ranked Clark High as one of nation's top public high school. Its arguably the best in Nevada with a comprehensive academic curriculum for college prep. Graduates from here go on to colleges like Yale, Harvard, Stanford, UCLA, Johns Hopkins, UC Berkeley and UNLV. $12-13 million in annual college scholarships. Good Luck parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

I graduated from Clark High School as a member of the class of 2007 and I am proud to say that I am a Charger. The teachers present material in a way that is interesting and useful to the students and are always available to help you whether it be with academic issue or personal problems. School spirit was always high with many thanks to the amazing student council that is always elected. Although our sports programs were not known for being successful, the outpouring of support at athletic events was evident, especially when we won state in varsity soccer. The administration was always very caring and worked hard to ensure that the students and teachers had everything they needed. I was a member of the TEACH program and had many friends in AOF and AMSAT. All three programs have fantastic curriculum's and wonderful teachers. ROTC, theater and the music programs are amazing and bring much deserved recognition to the school. Being in this neighborhood has given Clark a bad reputation, however as Mr. Smith always used to say Clark is 'the best kept secret in Las Vegas.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2010

Clark High School is without a doubt one of the best, if not the best, schools in Clark County. The students are enthusiastic and ambitious and I have always found myself challenged to do better and excel as a student. There is no other school that encompasses all that it means to be a high school student. Clark High School includes some of the best musical productions from their orchestra to their band to their choir, a great variety of sports to participate in, and any club imaginable like NHS, Key Club, or HOSA. Students from Clark go on to colleges like Stanford, Harvard, Princeton, and Duke, to name a few. My four years have been absolutely incredible and I have grown tremendously as a person.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

This is my 4th year teaching at Clark, and it's never been better. New principal, Ms. Pendleton is a great addition to CHS, although we will always miss Mr. Smith. The APs are all outstanding as well. The students have a lot of spirit and are well-behaved for the most part. The neighborhood gets a bad rap but the school is safe. I can't wait for my son to start his freshman year there next year. Hands down, best school in Vegas. I'm proud to be a Charger!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

What isn't there to like about my school? The teachers would gladly stop what they're doing and help you with your problem. It has the best Magnet Program in the state of Nevada. We always do well in DECA and FBLA competitions. ROTC is the best and we've won a lot of awards. We have the biggest Orchestra in all of Clark County. What isn't there to like?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Awsomeness contained in a building. No need for shaking because the fun never settles and no batteries required because the staff will give you more energy than you ever need. Most diverse, enthustiastic and proudest school in the entire state. With no doubt.


Posted January 8, 2009

The staff and students are extremely cultured at Clark High School. This is a school that dominates in academics and school spirit. THe teachers are excellent and the students have pride for their school. I am proud to say I was once a Clark Charger. Any student attending this school should be lucky for the education they are receiving, especially if they are involved with any of the magnet programs.


Posted October 3, 2008

I loved this school for my four years attending there! it has an amazing staff of people that are always there for you and there to help with what ever you may need. Also there are so many differnt things that you could get involved in at this school. Anything that intersts you, I'm sure that you can find something like it at clark. If I had to go back and do high school all over again I wouldnt change anything except for maybe it to be longer so that we could have spent a little more time in the school which we have grown to love so much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2008

i love Clark. i feel so welcome and the education is great. the teachers and staff actually want to be there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

I'm an alumni from the Academy o Finance class of 2008 and I gotta say that Clark was the greatest 4 years I ever had. It's fun getting involved and there are so many programs available like Key CLub and sports and DECA, etc.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2008

Great school - best kept secret in Clark County - nationally recognized school - only one in Clark County. Math & Science program is excellent. Options for students to take Honors & AP courses - great choices!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

i go to clark and i learn alot even day im in the magnet program and im planning on going there all 4 years. i would recomend it to anyone who wants to be challenged and is willing to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2008

This is one of the best schools in the country earning Silver by U.S. News just recently. No other school in the Clark county school district has that. We have three great programs. Clark is the right choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

Academy of Math Science and Technology is great. So is the orchestra program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

My son is a Junior this year. He really enjoys being there. I believe that this school lacks communication with the parents. Also, it seems that the counselors are never available and never return calls. I can't believe that the school doesn't have any programs for families that are going through hardships such as divorce, or death in the family. I thought that's what the counselors are there for too. Not at Clark.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

672 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

670 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

657 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female68%
Male75%
Black/African American65%
Asian91%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency39%
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant72%

Reading

All Students71%
Female70%
Male71%
Black/African American58%
Asian81%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial90%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant71%

Science

All Students69%
Female64%
Male73%
Black/African American61%
Asian83%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial80%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiency23%
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant69%

Writing

All Students74%
Female75%
Male74%
Black/African American63%
Asian82%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial97%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiency24%
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 6%
White 16% 37%
Black 9% 10%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-5813

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4291 Pennwood Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89102
Phone: (702) 799-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Delta Academy
Las Vegas, NV


Summit School
Las Vegas, NV



Bonanza High School
Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT