Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frank F Garside Junior High School

Public | 6-8 | 1114 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

This.school is the worst school in all of Nevada !!!! This school should be closed down ASAP ... Kids at this school are so horrible. Teachers and the Dean are even worse, my kids were even scared to go to school. I'm relocating so the kids do not have to attend this school next year!!!!! If this school is open next year they should invest in metal detectors instead of a pool. Take my word! The only person that is amazing there is the office manager. She would do better at a.different school she should transfer! I would give no star's!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

The worst of the worst. They are more concerned with suspending students for three days or more because their jacket is not the appropriate shade of blue. I actually had to relocate my family to get them out of this school. My daughter was honor roll and in accelerated classes until I put her in int Garside. When she left,.. she had C and D's. My son hated it so much that I had to put him into the online shool program, When that didn't work, I ended up putting him back into Garside. When we left, he had D and F's. The Staff seems to take on no responsbility to the education of their students. It seems like most of them are there just to punch the clock and collect their paycheck. One Cold Rainy Afternoon, I had to give my daughter a different coat because she was catching a cold and the zipper had broken on her Dress Code Jacket. As soon as she came to school she was suspended. This is a low income area,.most of these children can't afford the appropriate clothes. If a child gets too many dress code violations, they are sent to behavior school. To All Parents.This school is terrible... "Avoid It If You Can"...!! We are now at Canarelli, A 5 Star School and the kids are doing well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

This school is TERRIBLE. Pretty much ALL of my former teachers (I spent one year there and then I switched schools because I couldn't take it anymore) had no idea what they were doing and would show and even say that they were only there for a paycheck. They didn't care about anything going on in their classrooms. The environment is terrible. Students are disruptive and very unruly and walking through the actual school is like walking around a prison and I'm not even exaggerating. The bullying problem is unbelievable and no one does anything about it. If you care about your children's education and well being at all, DO NOT send them to Garside. I would rate zero stars if I could.


Posted August 29, 2013

I am a student from Garside Junior high school.I had been there for 1 year.I got so many memory from there.I made a lot friends,they are very nice to me.Also the ipad program are help me a lot from my homework.I got straight A's for my whole school year.There have G square program,there have bell choir,there have dance team.I love the way Garside look like.Is my favorite school!!! There have no racism at all,maybe there is a lot Hispanic but who care,at least u can have a good middle school life in there.I love Garside,and I wish I can go back there as an volunteer one day.:)


Posted October 30, 2012

Frank Garside has no viable approach to Bullying. My Granddaughter has loved school since she started. Until she supposedly broke the unwritten law of NO SNITCHING. She was being bullied and it wasn't even her who contacted the authorities. It was another concerned adult. I am almost 60 years old and can't walk past that school without hearing the most vulgar insults I've ever heard a young person say. We have met w/ the principle , vice principle and dean of students. TO NO AVAIL. They say this is not a dangerous proble. MY daughter took my granddaughter to her parent-teacher conference , She was met outside by not only the bullies and their friends But also the adult sister of one of the students who brought along her own two young babies in a stroller to watch this fight or whatever was suppose to happen that day. The authorities that be said they took statements from the people involved . To my surprise the bullies statements matched, All 12 of them. The 3 that didn't were deemed misleading. Last week the school called us at home and asked us to pick her up for her own safety. she is scared to go to school.13 yrs.old and can't go to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

Garside is a very kewl school. we get to do alot of things like dances, basketball games, and feild trips. you can join diffrent clubs like the girls or boys basketball team, band, orchestra, choir, the cheerleading team, or just do what i do and join the Dance Tem!!! im a 8th grader this year and im not even sure i want to go to high skewl because of how much fun it is at garside! I Love Ya GDT 09' 4 Life!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2009

Garside was a great school and made me a better person... I played on the basketball team and the coaches were great, send your child there and you won't regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2009

I am a former student at Garside, now attending Bonanza High.i do agree with some of the comments, for example, the root of discipline is at home. my parents have high expectations for me and i attempt to fulfill them. Yes, Garside has a bad reputation of a 'ghetto, bad school', but what makes people think that is the reflection on the student's personal image and because the school is an old building. Many programs there are not great, for example the band, i blame most of it on the teacher, Mr. Howley, he does not know how to teach for the success of the student and the program alone, yet their Orchestra has had much success with Mrs. Wood. They need teachers that are hard working and ENCOURAGING in a good way for a good view on every part of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2007

I'm a former student now attending Western High, Garside was a pretty cool school. The staff was overly discipling with the students you really couldn't do much without getting in trouble. They stick the kids in classes they didn't want to be in and there basically stuck in there wasting there time when they could be doing something they enjoy.The teachers are way better then the staff in my opinion. Espically Mr.Brody the 8th grade world geography teacher. He made school really fun. Garside is a good school not ghetto at all i enjoyed my 3 years. at that school. They just need to lighten up on the dress code.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 27, 2007

I am a student at Garside, and I have just started at seventh grade here, and I am loving it so far. I have very excellent teachers, a very good principal, and an overall great school experience. I have not experienced anything yet that would tell me that this is a bad school. It is a very, very good school, and I, personally, would not have it any other way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2007

I am also a student at garside. I enjoy it for the most part. I don't agree with out new lockers. Other than that, Garside is pretty good. We have great faculty, and marvoulous teachers. Thanks =)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2007

Great School.....Great Teachers


Posted April 25, 2007

I am a student who goes to garside. I think its a great school. The teachers are great and are nice. Sometimes the staff is overly disciplining. They are great though. I love garside :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2005

I am a student at Garside. I want to say that it is not what I expected. They lost important paperwork, they throw people into classes that they didn't want, they have kids trek around the entire campus next to a busy street, they do not inform teachers of our new dress attire that much (they dont't get descriptive with the attire towards teachers), they have a low budget for teachers (my teacher ran out of paper so I couldn't take a test, which put a 0 in her grade book), and they only have 2 deans, 2 campus moniters, and a school cop for safety among student (290 students for each person) to stop fights. However, they do have good teachers there. I have encountered several good teachers that have taught me a lot. But, that is it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

I know it would be hard to be a teacher. I have 4 6th graders going to garside. My triplets are good students, but i have a nephew that lives with me that gets in a little trouble occassionly. I can only hope that before the child gets suspended for something another child might accuse them of that there will be a total investigation.You might hear one side of the story and bam that childs parent is called and can not come back to school for a few days. I hope that before it comes to that the dean would investigate the problem first to see if there is infact a true problem. Thanks trish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

I am a former Garside Middle School student, I went there all three years, and now currently attend Bonanza High. Garside is a pretty good school, there are a lot of rumors about the school not being a very good one, but that's not true. I don't think that it is the best it 'could' be, but it's not a bad school at all. Don't hesitate in sending a student to Garside, it's a pretty safe environment, and the teachers by far are really great. Most of them will be willing to stay after school and help out a needy student. Last year most of the teachers were extremely forthcoming with the students, but one of them has left this year- Mr. Slocum. One thing I can garantee is this: Students will enjoy a great experience in 8th grade with Mrs. Bautista, and in 7th grade with Mr. Bautista. (Both Math Teachers.)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 21, 2004

I have a 13 year old daughter that attends Garside and I feel that the school is getting a bad rap from many who have commented on it. The staff can only do so much as far as teaching the studets. They sometimes don't have much to work with when the parents don't do their job of dicipline at home. My daughter hasn't had any problems thus far because she knows what I expect from her. There are clear limits for what I find acceptable,and she knows this. It starts with dicipline at home. This will lead to a better school. You can blame the schools but lack of parenting and dicipline at home is the root of the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2004

The majority of the teachers at this school I truely do believe care in the quality of education they are teaching. There are a few though that I question. I've had three children attend this school, this last year has been the worst. With all of the new teachers this year the quality of education has dramacticlly dropped. I have one more child to attend junior high and have opted to send him to a different junior high because of the poor quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

I have had actual feelings of dread when I drop off my children. I have never had a positive interaction with the support staff. On a good note, they have a new principal. The last one was just terrible. The immediate surrounding neighborhood is bad and the children's appearance overall, reflects it and it is ashame that living 2 miles away, still requires my children to attend this prison like facility. If your children can avoid attending, for their sake, avoid it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

This school is in a great environment, and is ideal for all students enrolled.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

360 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female23%
Male27%
Black/African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian35%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch25%
Full price20%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities27%
Students with limited English proficiency3%
Proficient in English31%
Not migrant25%

Reading

All Students46%
Female50%
Male42%
Black/African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian61%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch45%
Full price55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities50%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female23%
Male27%
Black/African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian33%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch24%
Full price30%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities27%
Students with limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English31%
Not migrant25%

Reading

All Students40%
Female41%
Male38%
Black/African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian56%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch39%
Full price46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities43%
Students with limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English49%
Not migrant40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students20%
Female23%
Male17%
Black/African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian25%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch21%
Full price17%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities22%
Students with limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English23%
Not migrant20%

Reading

All Students32%
Female43%
Male22%
Black/African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian50%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch32%
Full price31%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities35%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English39%
Not migrant32%

Science

All Students34%
Female34%
Male34%
Black/African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian61%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch33%
Full price38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities37%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English41%
Not migrant34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 40%
White 13% 37%
Black 10% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-4296

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 South Torrey Pines Dr
Las Vegas, NV 89107
Phone: (702) 799-4245

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Summit School
Las Vegas, NV


New Horizons Academy
Las Vegas, NV






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT