Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Helen M Smith Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

Hellen Smith is an excellent school for children of special needs. My son is in a class of 10 w/ 3 wonderful caring teachers who are dedicated to the understanding of the needs of the children. They take time to speak to parents w/out the need of a meeting. The staff are pleasant and the nurses department are professional in caring for students health seriously. I couldn't ask for a better school for my autistic child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

Principal Hanyl runs a tight ship..staff is very good. Hidden treasure..Many experienced and highly qualified school Real old school attitude...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

i LOVE this school! My daughter just stareted this year (2010-2011) and we had to move 2 months into the year, she cried her eyes out at the new school, we ended up moving back so she could continue being a SUPERSTAR. The teachers are great. My daughter had trouble with learning a few things, and she gets better everyday. i couldn't be any happier with where she is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

As a prent of 2 school age children I can honestly say "I LOVE THIS SCHOOL" When I wake the kids the big question is WHAT DAY IS IT? Thats so they know what to dress for (p.e.,art, or shool shirt). I enjoy the ride to school,after picking up neighbors, the kids all talk about the day before in class and what they are doing today. It makes me feel good the first person we see is the lady who guides the cars and busses. She is always smiling and greeting the students by name. Our next step is to the classrooms where we are greating the same way. We all know the teachers do fantastic jobs that is proven time and time but to see they enjoy it is nice. I have to give the teachers and staff they are there for the students all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Helen Marie Smith Elementary School has been chosen as one of a select few schools in the nation to receive the coveted 2010 Blue Ribbon National School designation from the United States Department of Education. US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced on September 9 that only 304 schools 264 public and 50 private - were named for the honor this year. Only two schools in the state of Nevada were selected for the award that recognizes schools that are either academically superior or have made dramatic gains in student achievement and helped close the gap in achievement among minority and disadvantaged students. I am very proud of my staff and our community. It was truly a team effort of all of our stakeholders in the community..
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2010

Awesome school! As a parent and volunteer I have been at Smith for 6 years and seen first hand the most dedicated teachers and staff. They go over and above to make sure their students are achieving to the best of their ability. The administration makes a point to even do recess/lunch duty so they can get to know all the students. That alone makes a difference and shows dedication. The 1st CRT Boot Camp this year was a huge success and the kids loved it. It is one of the best schools in Nevada,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I have a 5th grader and a 2nd grader my kids love going to school staff, teachers always happy willing to work with children/parents it is a great school highly recommended
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

H.M. Smith is a wonderful school! According to my son, and from what I have seen myself, positive behaviors are definitely recognized and reinforced at this school. The teachers and the principal, Mr. Haynal, obviously care about their students and are going to great lengths to build that sense of community that is lacking in so many of our schools today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

I used to absolutely love this school. My 6th grade daughter went here, my son is currently in the 4th grade and I planned to have my two year old attend when she turns 5. Unfortunately, the principal left last year and it has gone straight down since then. I don't know how Mr. Haynal's lack of leadership and very poor personality has caused such a rapid decline but it has. Bullying, fights and poor behavior in all grade levels has forced me consider homeschooling my son's last year of elementary. Very sad, it was a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

my daughter atends hms and we love it the principal is so involved with everything that goes on in his school and the teachers are great. my kid has learned more at this school then her last school she atended in clark county.we will stay at hms!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

H.M.S. rocks!...The teachers are great and the principal is very personable and devoted to the kids...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

I think the school is great but they have really dirty bathrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

You couldn't ask for a better principal. The teachers are amazing. Education and safety are a priority, and yet the kids have a lot of fun. My 2 children that attend, love the school and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

105 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female68%
Male65%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant66%

Reading

All Students59%
Female56%
Male61%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian72%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch52%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female83%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch84%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiency70%
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant83%

Reading

All Students68%
Female73%
Male64%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian79%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiency45%
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female74%
Male71%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant72%

Reading

All Students78%
Female78%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian77%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant78%

Science

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 37%
Hispanic 38% 40%
Black 9% 10%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7101 Pinedale Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89145
Phone: (702) 799-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



New Horizons Academy
Las Vegas, NV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT