Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Anne Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $61,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

St. Annes is an enriching environment all around. The pricipal is first class. I have never met a more involved principal, he greets all children as they arrive, prays with them, makes them laugh, motivates them, and visits every classroom everyday. He is truly a major part of their education. He teaches math in the upper grades.The office staff is ver professional and extremely personable at the same time. The teachers we have had (k-3) are all highly recommended and have a lot of drive to push the students and individually keep them motivated. the special instruction classes; library & computer are very modern and the teachers are solid yet, refreshing. Music is mostly choir, however the teacher is a professional singer. I wish they were teaching music reading and some beginner instruments like xylophone, hand bells, & recorders. The p.e. coach is very impressive. He truly enjoys all ages. only other concern is the sports programs that aren't coached by the p.e. teacher, there is a lack of involvement, motivation, and overall winner's attitude. There seems to be just volunteering without commitment or the winners attitude. The principal goes above & beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

So far I am very pleased with where my son is academically. This is our first year at St. Anne's and he is propably where my daughter was in her Kindergarten year at CCSD and he is currently a Pre-K Student. I love the daily religion exposer, he is alway asking us if we knew about this or that. Mr. Ruggles (Principle) seems very involved with the students individually, the interaction by this Principle exceeds any I've ever known. They are currently revamping the Library & updating the Computer lab. (Exciting) Overall from my experience I can not think of any needed improvements other than the location! We will definitely be back next year for Kindergarten. Look for next years review. Mrs. Smith
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

Please read all reviews first.Been there many years,not what i expect from a private school. ALL reviews are true, but to give 5 stars because St Anns listens to you, or the staff is nice,or this is what you expect in a catholic school is crazy. The problems with teachers there outweigh any pluses you may get with those descriptions. I loathe some of the teachers there and find others to be inept. To simply say you are free to go else where does not improve the school.The negative reviews are the most accurate ones, i am sorry to say. Equally important is that there is no accountability report that i know of, where does the school stand compared to the school district regarding academics? Having a safe place to learn is important,nice people are important a school that hears its parents is important, but isn't (the best) education important too? I challenge St Anne to provide every parent with an accountability report so they can compare with the ccsd and see where they stand. After all what is the most important part of education.....CHILDREN. Half of what we need for our kids is present at St Annes wheres the other half? Mabye its time for a new mission statement !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

I love this school is what you would expect in a catholic school, so far is my son second year there and he loves it, teachers and staff are nice and they have a new principal who cares for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

I'm also leaving, I'm very disappointed with this school. The school DOES NOT care about academic excellence. Best Prinicpal?? don't think so, he picked the material think about it. I can understand the spiritual education but your far behind public school, COMMON CORE STANDARDS -.-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

The school welcomes my opinions and encourages my involvement. The families are down to earth and very approachable. The office is friendly and helpful. The teachers are always open to discuss my students with me when asked. The children begin and end their day with prayer. For those who want to be involved, the opportunity is yours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

I will honestly say that I hate this school. The teachers, who do not teach well-at least in the middle school grades-, explain poorly. They give assignments with little or no explanation at all, and you get in trouble for asking for help because they say you weren't "paying attention" when they clearly didn't even lecture in the first place. The facilities are by far the worst. The bathrooms are dirty and old. The computer lab only has computers from ten years ago; they are slow and obsolete. The school doesn't even have a science lab; just a room with science tables. There are lots of cliques and its hard to fit in-although this is the case for most schools unfortunately.


Posted September 2, 2011

In response to the parent on Aug. 5. the great thing about all of this is that you have a choice. Go somewhere else. No one is forcing you to stay and you obviously are not happy. If I were as unhappy as you I'd pull my child. The principal's degree thing., well, see how many principals in the diocese has one. You either can run a school and deal with all the nasty people involved (like you) or you can't. What pastor consults with parents when hiring? Really? I'm happy and you're not. Go somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

This is a great school with wonderful staff, teachers and administration. The classrooms have been redone, new textbooks in several subjects, extra minutes added to the school day, and the children pray together four times each day as a community. Parents are encouraged to participate and it feels like a community, a real Catholic community of believers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

this is my daughters first year of school and our experience so far has been great!! the teachers are great and the parents are very informed. my childs progress from the first day of school is unbelievable and i would recomend this scool to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Please disregard all old negative messages about this school. This school has a new principal, who is fantastic. The office staff is wonderful and all the teachers are great, especially the Pre-K and 1st grade (those are my children's teachers). This school is GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

My son really likes it! its clean, staff is nice and Mrs.Tesh is so nice! Austin Likes it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

I would never recommend this school to anyone. It is not worth the money you pay for. My child's education was better at home then it is now! The office never knows what is going on, most of the teachers there are rude and scream at the childern. If you want your child to only learn about religion and not educational gram then it would be perfect for you. My child will not be returning to this school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

The office staff is rude, and acts like it is an inconvenience to even be there. The curriculm is not up to par, or worth the money paid. I do not feel as though my child recieved a 'private' education apart from learning religion. The parents are all nice as well as the teachers I have come into contact with, is a family like atmosphere as far as that goes. Older students are very nice to the younger ones. We are not returning and would not recommend St. Annes to anyone else, unless some serious changes are made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

This place has become a dysfunctional nightmare since the wonderful new principal (who began the school year in Aug. 07) left in January 08. The school does not offer enough enrichment or extracurricular activites. Academically the school needs a more challenging curriculum. Some teachers are clearly ready for retirement, regardless of age. Others do a wonderful job and care deeply about the students.


Posted February 6, 2008

As of the 1st of Feb.,2008 a wonderful new principal took over this wonderful and community based school. The teachers are great and you can truely see all the great progress they are now making. The school offers sports clubs, cheer team, forensic club,school newpaper club, and lots more. It is now a quiet,enjoyable, and academically challenged place to be. You should definitly take a look at this school it has alot to offer your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

The school has a new principal this year (2007) and has revamped the programs offered at school. Teachers seem motivated again. Art, Music, PE and Computers are offered during class. In addition, there is a new After School Enrichment Program which allows parents a chance to enroll their child in piano, ballet, computers, Spanish and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

If you want to keep your children away from the public school riff raff, then this is fine. Academically unimpressive. No music or art program. Limited sports programs. No grass or play area. Most of the teachers show up for a paycheck and should have retired years ago. Principal is practically non-existent. Church takes the lion's share of funds raised by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 35% 40%
White 28% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 6%
Two or more races 11% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 2% 10%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Las Vegas
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1813 South Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89104
Phone: (702) 735-2586

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Academy For Learning
Las Vegas, NV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT