Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
674 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Viator Catholic School 1

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
What's sad about this school is that there are so many bullies. This is NOT A SAFE PLACE to send children to middle school especially during transition from elementary to middle school where several changes and challenges occur among students during these years. There are so many kids here who are rude, show off, and bullies.

St Viator Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
Academic wise, it's good. There are teachers who are great, some are mediocre. But the morale of the school community is very low.


St Viator Catholic School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
Academic wise, it's good. There are teachers who are great, some are mediocre. But the morale of the school community is very low.

St Viator Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 14, 2016
- a parent
There are so many kids here who are rude, show off, and bullies. And I see some parents who are the same, no wonder their kids act this way. So many issues in terms of honesty, integrity, and fairness among its students. So sad.

St Viator Catholic School 1

Posted December 09, 2015
- a student
I went to st viator school 4-8 grade. I disliked this school very much. The curriculum is horrible. 4 & 5 grade were good and my teachers taught everything in an easy way. Once I moved up to middle school the teachers seemed unamused and just like they didn't care about the students. The math teacher should not be the math teacher. Half of the class failed when there were tests and she expected us to know all the information before she taught us what we needed to know. Once I failed my test and she told me I should have properly prepare. I asked her questions and she did not care to explain the information to me. The office staff is rude and they treat the students and parents poorly. There is also no security on the campus. The school has made it so that you have to sit out in the courtyard before school. This is unsafe and they should just let the students sit inside the gate before school.


St Viator Catholic School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a community member
My children know kids from both their grade levels that were not treated very nice by other students.

St Viator Catholic School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a community member
How can this school develop honesty AND integrity in children when they are misleading parents into thinking their staff are all licensed and qualified in this state?

St Viator Catholic School 1

Posted October 14, 2015
- a community member
Only 8 out of the 22 staff members possess VALID Teaching Licenses in Nevada, and the principal doesn't even have an administrator's license. She states on their website, "All of our teachers are degreed and certified in their field and many members have Master Degrees and Catechist Certification." This just isn't the truth. This year we moved our children to a charter school where all teachers are licensed. Our children will receive Religious Education at Viator's Parish, where we remain parishioners. We feel they know more about God than education at this point.


St Viator Catholic School 4

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
My kids have been at St. Viator for several years & have only had one teacher I didn't agree with. If you belong to the Parish & are involved then you might have a greater appreciation for the school. Some reviews are old ( 9 years ago.. times have changed). There are going to be cliques wherever you go. There are security gates around the campus & you have to get buzzed in the office via a camera intercom system. The gates are locked after school & you need to use the intercom to get your kids from aftercare. There are single parents, divorced parents, all ethnic backgrounds.... I feel everyone is treated the same. The kids are well mannered and classroom sizes are larger than I would like but there are 2 teachers in the classroom. My youngest child's class size is much smaller than my oldest's class. I have a family member who is the same age as my youngest (they go to public school) and St Viator is more advanced from what I can see. Get involved & volunteer so you can see what the environment is like, even if it is 1 day a month. All volunteers get fingerprinted & background checks done. If you are not happy at the school then find a better fit. Being positive goes a long way!

St Viator Catholic School 2

Posted August 03, 2014
- a community member
I went to this school almost 9 years ago. After graduating from here (after Pre-k-8) and going to a public hs I realized how far behind I had gotten. I had almost no algebra skills when I graduated. My parents were getting divorced when I was there in middle school and I was treated differently by teachers, parents, and other students. Another parent actually called my mom several explicit names for getting a divorce. I remember being treated like the "other" because my father was a mechanic and not wealthy. If you are looking to get your child a good education on catholic doctrine, that is one thing this school can accomplish. Nothing was ever explicitly said against homosexuality, however it took me years to recover and accept myself and rid of the shame I felt. Bullying is characteristic of many of the children at the school. I remember the uniform being changed arbitrarily by the administration several times, which was a real struggle for my family considering how very expensive they are. If you are looking to get your child a good education, I would suggest other schools. Checkout some of the magnet schools in the area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Viator Catholic School
4246 South Eastern Avenue, Las Vegas, NV  89119
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (702) 732-4477
Last modified St Viator Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top