Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Las Vegas Day School

Private | PK-8 | 950 students

We are best known for accelerated academic program.

 
 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2014

love my school! so happy ! I wish I can RE ATTEND school! so comforting when you walk in, and everyone is absolutely so caring....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2014

This school is ABSOLUTELY amazing!!!! family owned, everyone personable, everyone cares, the administration is top-notch and I am so happy that I am here. What a blessing. great curriculum, and the teachers actually care about your child as if it were their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

LVDS took al mah monah! I need to sue dis school fo' al dey got.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Fantastic school! I moved my child from a small faith based school to LVDS and couldn t be happier. Their focus is on academics versus religion. They are also big enough to have specialists to teach Spanish, music, art, PE and computer as well have numerous after school sports and clubs. It is more expensive but well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

You don t know how great this school is until you try someplace else. We left for three months for another private school and came right back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

I have been very pleased with the education my children have received at Las Vegas Day School. They have been there since Preschool and one is currently in fifth grade and one in eighth grade. Well rounded curriculum and challenging education but my children love to come to school every day. They are good students but they have to work for their grades. Just difficult enough but not too much that they are frustrated. You won t be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

Great school overall. Our two boys attend (ages 5 and 7). The administration is involved and active, there are numerous school activities and the academics are first rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

I toured and subsequently enrolled my child in Las Vegas Day School. The environment is warm, caring and compassionate starting with the Admissions Director to the teachers, aides and administration. As the school year went on and different issues naturally occurred all of my initial feelings were confirmed in a positive manner. Concerns or questions are answered promptly and the school is extremely fair with disciplinary and academic expectations despite being a very challenging program. Parents looking at private schools should tour those schools to really know what they are all about. At LVDS what you see and feel is what you get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

Make sure the teachers are certified. We found out the hard way When our daughter went to high school. She had to take health and a computer class over again because the LVDS teacher had no certification in those subjects. Coach Lair was one for Health. Ok for Gorman but not the ccsd. You would think with all the money we spent there and all the teachers layed off that LVDS could of solved this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2011

LVDS is a wonderful and solid educational program from preschool thru 8th grade. It has produced successful high school and college bound students for 50 years in the Las Vegas community and no ther private school in the area can make that claim. The activities and clubs accomadate all interests of the student body, especially in middle school. If you decide to send your children there, be aware of the cut-throat parents who will stop at nothing to get an edge whether it is to volunteer in a classroom or get their children ahead in the academics. Sadly, some parents in recent years have made it difficult for the others who play be the rules. Also,because of this style of parenting, the children also have become little princes and divas thinking everything should go their way and lack moral values. The administration is wonderful and have a challange keeping up with the overindulged students and their parents. If you can navigate the social issues, your child will do fine at LVDS. Some classes are more tolerable than others and pay attention to whom you have something in common with and stick with them to survive. Teachers may be more biased than others, but that is everywhere.


Posted July 24, 2011

A cold and terrible school in which my child regressed overall. Little parental involvement allowed, onerous homework assignments and a tolerance for bullying and harassment justify an unsatisfactory rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

LAS VEGAS DAY SCHOOL is a horrible school, i go there and i started to fall behind 2 years ago. the school did nothing about it. Upuntil my dad told them that i was leaving to go to another school. All of a sudden they want to help me, like set me up a tutor and a talk to me, but they knew i was having trouble before that. The people who run the school (Daslers) are greedy and they care about them selves and just want there money!!!


Posted December 28, 2010

I am unhappy with Day School. I couldn't believe how, in 1st grade, there is practically no parental participation allowed. The teachers are not nurturers at all. It's a wry cold school. We will be switching out at the end of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

Above average academics. Does not attend to the whole child. A lot of homework and busy work. Not a teaching model of education - mostly self directed learning. No parent involvement. Not a fit for "out of the box" thinking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

It's been consistently good education for my son, and they don't nurture or coddle, they teach. Going to be sending my daughter here next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

At the end of the first grade my 1st grade son was tested and performing 5th grade math and reading. You need to be involved with your children since there is a lot of homework - but it is worth the investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

It doesn't get any better than Las Vegas Day School. Both of my children have received an excellent education as well as flourished in the positive environment. It is clearly a step above all others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

Our daughter learned great study skills because of Las Vegas Day School. She still has a great love of Art becasue of a wonderful Art teacher at the Day School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

I have two children at Las Vegas Day School and they absolutely love it! LVDS offers a challenging curriculum but the teachers are so fantastic at teaching your children that it does not seem like work. Both of my children love coming to school everyday and love all the after school programs available to them(tennis, art club, choir, chess, band, cheerleading, computer club, dance, drama and more). There is also plenty of parent involvement opportunitys with music programs, field trips, art projects and more. A very well rounded school for all. I would defintely recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

Las Vegas Day School is a fabulous school. I am very satisfied with the curriculum and the knowledgeable and caring faculty. I am confident that my kids are receiving the best education in the best environment Las Vegas has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Black 3% 10%
Hispanic 3% 40%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Neil H. Daseler
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (702) 876-3294

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Las Vegas Day School offers a traditional school environment and an accelerated academic program with an emphasis on the individual student.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Gorman High School
Meadows School
Public High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3275 Red Rock St.
Las Vegas, NV 89146
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 362-1180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Wassell Academy
Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT