Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

First Good Shepherd Lutheran School

Private | PK-6

We are best known for quality Christian education.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $47,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

My wife and I currently have our 3rd child in FGS, we absolutely love the school. FGS is a small school with only one class per grade level, this has given all of my children a well rounded education due to the varying teaching styles of each individual teacher. The principal is extremely approachable, as is the entire staff. Parents are encouraged to deal with the teacher first, as it should be, and then, if they still have an issue, to bring it to the principal or vice-principal. I have sat in his office and discussed concerns with him on several occasions, sometimes I have seen changes in my favor and other times I have not. That is life, deal with it. Regardless of the outcome, I have never felt like I was just being "handled" to get me to go away. The staff at the school is fair, firm and consistent. As a parent, I am not foolish enough to think that my child could not have a disciplinary issue that may need to be addressed or a performance issue that may need to be handled. I encourage any individual reading these reviews to take into account that the overall rating is 5 stars. This school is a loving, caring and nurturing environment. Come tour our campus and see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

this school is amazing I would highly recommend it over other private schools I love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

I have both a pre-schooler and elementary child here for the last year and I have been satisfied with the following: Pre-School: great teachers, great admin, warm and caring environment, well paced education (teaches to the child rather than to great expectations) child loves being there; however, if your child is an intellectual powerhouse already at age 3, this school is NOT for you. It is emotionally conscious, but not for parents looking for a academic rigors. Elementary: no bullying is tolerated, admin and teachers do a great job of maintaining awareness of this issue. My child's first day of school, EVERYBODY knew his name, teachers greeted him like an old friend, and they had a gift bag ready for him. He felt loved and was ready to connect with the school that week. Academics is traditional, nothing innovative or aggressive, but that's not as important to me as my child's emotional well being which is much harder to fulfill than academic excellence. To compensate for this, he skipped a grade, but did not experience the "loneliness" most kids in his situation feel when they jump a grade. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for parents who care about emotional well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

My children are very happy at FGS and I highly recommend all the teachers at this school except fourth grade. My son lost a full year while in the fourth grade at FGS and I won't let that happen to my other children. I might move them to another school then, maybe Lamb of God or Faith Academy. Even public school would be better than 4th grade at FGS. It's a shame too because everything else at FGS is perfect. The fourth grade teacher is the reason I gave the school 3 stars instead of 4 or 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

One of our children graduated from First Good, and our other child is currently attending. We are so blessed to have this school in Las Vegas. The principal, Jim Krafft, is beyond amazing in his leadership and dedication to the students. The teachers are caring and mentor and teach the students to strive beyond their capabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

The teachers are great, the curriculum is great, the price is great, everything about the school is great!! I love everything about the school. I just wish it would go higher in grade levels!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

The school is very exceptional with educational and Christian aspects, but lacks informing the parent of situations that should be resolved with the parent only. I do have to agree with the other parent's review regarding favoritism between teacher and certain parents. The favoritism is certainly shown towards the student. Both aspects should certainly be eliminated completely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

School teaches to student's level. Learning groups help children get a solid foundation at a pace they can handle. Higher level kids are not bored and can continue to excel in a positive friendly environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

First Good Shepherd is an outstanding school. Enrolling my child at this school was possibly the best parental decision I've ever made. My child has attended for the last four years and I have the utmost respect and appreciation for the work that all of the teachers and Mr. Krafft do to make this such an educational and compassionate environment. There are so many great extracurricular activities and families are really involved in their children's education. My child can't wait to go to school each day and is actually sad whenever school is out for vacation. I think that says it a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

This school is awesome! The teachers are all so nice compared to other public schools. The principal, Mr. Krafft, is so nice and friendly. He never hesitates to help others. The curriculum is a lot more advanced compared to other public schools, specificaly in math and science. However, as one of the students, sometimes kids can be a tad bit hypocritical of others, although it's not too often. My only complaint is that there is a lot of favoritism.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2010

We have been truly blessed to have found the FGS community! This school was just what my sons needed to thrive and excel. Our local elementary school was not making adequate yearly progress and we needed a safe, secure, nurturing environment that promoted academics. With one class per grade, your child will receive individual attention and there is NO possibility of getting lost in the crowd. All of the teachers are responsive and concerned about the learning environment. The school encourages parental involvement and support. All members of the family are welcome at all of the school events - the Fall Carnival, Thanksgiving Feast, Christmas Musical, School Picnic - all fabulous opportunities to see the impact of the school community. Lastly, Principal Krafft is a fabulous educator! He runs a rigorous academic program and expects that students will respect each other and their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Both of my children attend FGS and being a real LV native, I can say that this is one of the finest schools in the LV valley, if not the best. It still has the old LV 'small town' feeling, which is great considering it is surrounded by such a large city. The staff, teachers and principle are second to none and the tuition cost is more than reasonable. We love this school and the people who make it what it is. Keep up the great work, strong values and faith that you instill in our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Pre-K through 6 grade school. The first two years for my kids have been great at this school. They are enjoying their classes and are learning a LOT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

FGS is very focused on the children. The school is a close community where the parents are very supportive of the school. Children treat each other with respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

This is the best school in the United States! Mr. Krafft is amazing and so are all of his teachers. The only negative thing about this school is our students have to leave after sixth grade. I wish they could stay through high school. Mr. Krafft was my teacher and principal for seven years. When I finished 6th grade I left knowing the world needed me, and I had something special to give, that only I could give. Along with that feeling I also had the confidence to anything that was before me!! Thanks again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

This school is ok. The children learn a lot and it is safe. But there is way too much homework and a lot of pressure and rushing to get things done. There is also a lot of favoritism. Some of the teachers are nice and others seem to have 'issues'. There are definetly pros and cons with this school and one would expect a little more since it is a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

FGS is one of the greatest schools I've ever went to. I highly recommend it , my favorite teachers are Ms.Dibos and Ms.Ward. Well Ms.Ward is actually a teachers aid ,but shes awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

FGS is a school that not only prepares children exceptionally well, but also instills such a heartfelt Christian education into the hearts and minds of the students. I attended this school from K-6 over 20 years ago and leadership of the principal is still the same. Mr. Krafft is a man with high expectations because he truly cares about each student and his staff. My own children now love the school. I am a CCSD elementary teacher. They do not have the discipline problems that cause CCSD teachers to pause and deal with a concern, stalling learning. Plus parent involvement is great here. The money is not wasted at all. Many staff members are former students which I believe says a lot. You won't be disappointed. This is a wonderful school regardless of the drive or area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

As a former student of First Good, I can truly say that this is one of the best elementary schools out there. Not only do they offer a numberof extracurriculars, First Good truly prepares their students. The students are miles ahead of their counterparts in the public school system, as was shown to me when I went to middle school. Why is First Good one of the best schools out there? Because of the teachers that go the extra mile. From Mrs. Sprouse and Mrs. Orne in Kindergarten to Mr. Krafft and Mrs. Dibos in the sixth grade, First Good's teachers are a dime a dozen. I would recommend this school to everyone who is looking for their children to get a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

FGS is an amazing school where children are the number one priority. The principal and teachers are hard working, dedicated, spiritual and fun! My children love school and wake up each morning ready to go to school happily. Mr. Krafft is a leader like no other. He has a most positive attitude and is a wonderful Christian man. The drive is so worth it! If you are looking for the best school in town, go no further, you have found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 37%
Black 15% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Hispanic 6% 40%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • James E. Krafft
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • ELEA
Fax number
  • (702) 384-2080

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track Meet @ end of year
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track Meet @ end of year
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 South Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89101
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 382-8610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Joseph School
Las Vegas, NV







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT