Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hyde Park Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 21, 2011

HPMS has it's pros and cons. Pros: magnet program,music program includes band and orchestra and choir, 6th grade English, 7th grade history,8th grade geography . Cons: if your child does not test and get placed in the top math and science classes, you do not have the consistency in teaching. My child had the worst math and science teachers in 6th grade and has the flakiest 8th grade English teacher currently. Since the economy tanked, the moral has shifted in the staff. Their claim for explaining things is that they do not want to "spoon feed" the students and do not want to discuss assignments in great detail. Class organization varies from edmodo to my ccsd to scoolnotes and those sites are not updated regularly to help students manage study time. If your child does not follow verbal directions well, this is not the school for them. There is a large portion of minorities who say discriminating comments to others to "test" beliefs such as are you a racist or do you belong to the KKK? Prepare your child for the social roller coaster that takes place at lunch and in the classes. Some teachers are afraid to discipline, but not all of them. Enter at your own risk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

This school is probably one of the best schools in the state of Nevada. They also have some of the best teachers. For example, one of the teachers was elected for the best teacher in the world and shook the president's hand. Only 100 teachers were chosen out of the whole world. I also recommend the school's orchestra program. They have beat numerous middle and high schools in competitions. If you or your child live in Las Vegas and you don't know where to go, choose Hyde Park Middle School.


Posted August 25, 2011

look hyde park is like any other school you just got to dig into all the stereotype. Me being a 8th grader should know this. you still got your bullies and your "girls with a lot of friends with benefits" its just most kids are to into work to actually socialize. which i see as a bad thing. being able to deal with bullies and making right choices is what counts the most. not doing your homework. im not saying to not do your homework just get your head out of all the stereotypes of hyde park.


Posted April 9, 2011

This is the 2nd year my daughter has been in the magnet program. It is a great school. There can be a lot of homework and yes, the teachers do seem to hand out projects at the same time. If your child is considering this school, they must be prepared to work. But it is well worth it. I have 3 older children and know this is the time your child can get on the wrong path and make bad choices. This school keeps your child busy and your child will become more independent & confident in themselves. The orchestra program is outstanding. Yes, the school is old. But its just a building. It's what goes on inside the building that counts. I work for LVMPD and will tell you there are very few incidents that occur at this school compared to other schools. I don't think the magnet kids are "snobby" as others have said. I believe they take more pride in themselves and don't fool around or act up as much as most kids not in the magnet program. My daughter is in 7th grade and already thinking of which colleges to attend and which type of scholarship she'll decide to us to get there! lol
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

My daughter attends this school and it is a great improvement over the previous public school she attended. She is in the magnet section and has very good, challenging teachers. The orchestra teacher is way above and beyond her previous teacher and her orchestra competes with high schools. Don't believe any bad reviews listed. Trust the positive reviews! Signed, happy parent (with doctorate in education).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

I am an eighth grader at Hyde Park and I absolutely LOVE it! I love my math class- I'm in Geometry, and love it, and I am always able to be challenged, unlike in my elementary school. I am in advanced orchestra, and last year, my class won best orchestra in the west coast (including high schools). It is older and kind of dirty sometimes, but not horrible. We have a lot of school spirit, and the teachers are absolutely AMAZING! They are really nice, and I haven't had a teacher I dislike. They are fantastic. I have taken all accelerated classes, plus I'm two years ahead in math and taking beginning Physics/Chemistry, and I still have a 4.0 GPA. There is a lot of homework, but if you are a dedicated student you'll be fine. I will really really miss it next year- trust me, this school is amazing!


Posted July 30, 2010

The teachers and staff at HPMS are very good. They encourage you to do your best and every assignment challenges you. The kids in the magnet program are very nice and smart but the neighborhood kids have ruined the reputation of the school. The band program is amazing and Mr.Tyler is awesome. I am going to be a 8th grader this year and I will miss this school very much. Go PANTHERS!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted April 11, 2010

this school is ok. i've been here for 2 years and so far i know is that the the school is filthy and no one cleans the bathrooms which leaves waste everywhere. the classes are usually very boring and some of the teachers are very mean like insulting students and some teachers often yell.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2010

I'm a 7th grader and I think this school is great for anyone who wants a good education and loves to learn. so far i've been in choir, band, PE, and guitar. It's all so fun and next year im going to be so sad to leave but it just shows that i've learned what i needed to. So have fun c u l8r!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2010

This school is way better than most public schools, the curriculum is very good and so are their teachers. Other public schools i have been to have poor curriculum. But since hpms is a magnet school, it has the curriculum of a private school. I went to Challenger since preschool [private school] , it was about 2 years ahead , but the kids had no fun. Then i changed to a public school, then to hyde park. Which was like going to high school, fun and educational.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2009

Hyde Park, what can I say? This middle school changed my life & gave me the opportunity to do my best. It was hard but in the end, it was all worth it. Through Hyde Park, I learned many things that have helped me succeed in life & the students there are all, for the most part, very welcoming & fun to hang out with. The teachers are great! They're always willing to help you with any questions. And if you like playing an instrument or singing, the music groups at Hyde Park are some of the best, in all aspects. My experience with the orchestra at Hyde Park was one of a kind, traveling to other places in the U.S. & the world, competing, & just playing for fun. So, if you're looking for a middle to go to, consider Hyde Park. -9th grader at Phillips Exeter Academy
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2009

I'm a 7th grader at hyde park and i'm in choir! I think it is a great school and most the teachers give you little homework which is good sometimes. The teachers and all the staff cares about you. They even have great electives! * Lets give it up for the Panthers*
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2009

I'm a 6th grader at Hyde Park and this school is absolutely, positively wonderful. The teachers explain everything quite well, but the homework does get a little heavy sometimes. As long as you can deal with it, though, it's not really all that stressful. I'm in Orchestra, and... well.. I'm really, really enjoying it. Special thanks to my math and reading teachers, and especially Mr. W. Looking forward to a great rest of the year at Hyde Park... Go Hyde Park Panthers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

Both my children go to this school. It has been a great school that keeps kids focused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Well, I'm a seventh grader at HPMS and I absolutely love it. The programs they have are one of the best in the country (orchestra, band, etc.) and all the teachers are really good at teaching. The teachers are not only good at teaching, but they're fair to every student and extremely nice. Although, many people complain about how the teachers are mean, blah blah blah, I have to disagree with you because they're just strict (there's a difference). And many kids complain about the work overload. I think that if you can't handle the projects, maybe you're not ready for the magnet program yet. Or it will just take you another quarter to get used to the work. Don't forget to join clubs like Science Olympiad, NJHS, etc.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

This schol concentrates on bringing out the best in each student. The reflection is seen especially in their music department.


Posted August 18, 2009

The school is very good and clean. People just don't like it because some kids are not in the magnet program so they are not accelerateed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

My daughter went to Hyde Park for 3 years and now she is ready for High School. Special thanks to Mr. W in Orchestra, Mr Lavelle good luck in Africa, Ms. Thompson. Good luck next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

I'm a sixth grader and I love it at hyde park. It isn't the best school of all time, but the teacher know how to make everyone feel just as important everyone else. Before when I when to a regular public school I would pass tests and assignments so easily that sometime I didn't try at at, but at hpms in the magnet program it challenges me and I try new things everyday. : )
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2009

I'm an eighth grader at this school and it is truly the most amazing school I have ever been to. The choir, band, and orchestra are some of the best in the state! At competitions, we are known to win the Sweepstakes awards, if not many awards. The Orchestras compete with high schools, the bands go to many states, and the choirs are great too. The math and science are very challenging, but at most times easy to comprehend. There's a lot of homework but it's worth it! I recomend it to anyone who wants an awesome school!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

578 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

578 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

540 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

537 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

511 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

511 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

510 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

566 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female69%
Male67%
Black/African American49%
Asian97%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial78%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant68%

Reading

All Students73%
Female78%
Male69%
Black/African American57%
Asian97%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial87%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female68%
Male72%
Black/African American66%
Asian94%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial76%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant70%

Reading

All Students72%
Female76%
Male68%
Black/African American61%
Asian90%
Hispanic54%
Multiracial79%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch57%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiency11%
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female59%
Male57%
Black/African American49%
Asian86%
Hispanic32%
Multiracial80%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian72%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch37%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities62%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant58%

Reading

All Students61%
Female63%
Male58%
Black/African American47%
Asian88%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial80%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch40%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities64%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant61%

Science

All Students68%
Female65%
Male71%
Black/African American54%
Asian92%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian79%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch51%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 40%
White 32% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 6%
Black 9% 10%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Hinson St
Las Vegas, NV 89107
Phone: (702) 799-4260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Delta Academy
Las Vegas, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT