Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hyde Park Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2009

i'm 7th and going 8th this year and i love this school except for the math courses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2009

I'm a 7th grader at Hyde Park this year, and I'd have to say that this school is amazing. Teachers are wonderful, and they try to challenge you as much as possible. Our band, choir, and orchestra are some of the best in the district and travel all over the nation to compete. Hyde Park gives you a great opportunity to try new things, and I'm sure everyone will love it there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2009

i'm an 8th grader here and this school is truly amazing. the teachers here are really great.but at some times they overload us with homework making us stay till 1 a.m working on it. also the teachers seem to give us all projects at the same time. mr.kuzma is a great principal. he interacts with all the students and it doesnt feel weird when you talk with him. some deans are really harsh while others are great. the choir,band, and orchestra are amazing! the choir was able to go to carnegie hall this year and last year they recieved 2cd place(they lost by a half of a point to a high school!). they orchestra got to london and went to chicago. the band got to go to hawaii and could have gone to mexico but couldnt due to the war going on there. all in all i really recommend this
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2009

I'm a seventh grader at Hyde Park and so far I'm loving it ! My principl, Mr. Kuzma, is very determined to help us students succeed in school . Along with all the other teachers who support each and everyone of the students at Hyde Park . We learn in the funnest ways, with the best tools and best resources . Hyde Park is truly the best school in Clark County Nevada !
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2009

I am currently an 8th grader at hyde park middle school and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. Here they teach you everyhting you need to know and more. The opertunities that students here in hyde park middle school are endless. However, hyde park does have a worst side to it. The teachers are great, but i think that it gets to their head that we are smarter, and give us more homework than the usual, at times an excessive amount that will sometimes keep me (and many others as well) up until 12:00 am. This is of course counting the collective homework from the 4 core classes - math, science, english, and for 8th graders geography. Other than that, hyde park was one of the best decisions I've ever made. Go Hyde Park Panthers!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

Im a student at hyde park middle school, im sure all of you heard this: 'Hyde park is great!' 'The teachers are wonderful!' 'They have such good programs that prepare our children for high school and college!' sure sure thats our stereotype at hyde park is. As an 8th grader I've been here since 6th grade, learning to growing up in this school made me learn a lot about life. The students can be mean even in the magnet program, most of the teachers are strict and expect so much of us. The best students here do not socialize and basically keep to themselves, some students cheat and break the rules and do not get caught. Don't be fooled, but if you protect yourself and do your work you'll be fine in this nightmare
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2008

This school is amazing! Love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2008

the teachers there are great and the principal interacts with the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2008

I'm a brand new 6th grade magnet student and I find this school to be a very nice place. The teachers helped us locate our new classrooms. The teachers also told us the essential things we need for their classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

I am a 6th grade magnet student at Hyde Park Middle School Academy of Math and Science. The teachers are excellent. They can teach you so much in your time at Hyde Park. The academy of math and science program is very well taught. We have advanced English and reading classes which are challenging and you can learn a lot from them. Our band teacher, Mr. Tyler, has led our school to victory in competitions with our Symphonic Band, Varsity I Band, and Varsity II Band. The beginning band students also learn a lot and work hard. The staff will do anything to keep us safe. The teachers have taught me so much in my first year in middle school. I have realized that I have learned a lot more at this school than the middle school I was zoned for. I would recommend this school to anyone entering middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

HPMS Academy of Math and Science is superior in education and teachers and staff. Unbelievable things happen there and will continue to happen their because of dedication and passion for learning and teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

If you are interested in learning in depth science and math material, Hyde Park Middle School is a wonderful place to go to. We have an award-winning orchestra, band, and choir program, for those who are interested in electives. In fact, our top orchestra went to London, England during spring break, and our top band just got back from Hawaii! To be in the math and science program, you must apply and be accepted, but it is well worth it. Every spring, we have about 3,000 applicants, which says a lot about our school. Celebrating its 50th anniversary next year, Hyde Park Middle School is a great place to go for academic achievements
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2008

Hyde Park is a great school. At first I was worried about the location. And the surrounding neighborhood just seemed a bit scary. But now it doesnt matter. The school is great and the magnet program isnt bad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

This school is AWESOME. The kids are nice. The teachers are nice. Everyone is on task, this school could take you FAR in your future. This has been such a great school for me, and i am glad i came here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2008

I will admit, at first I was nervous about the school because of its age and the location, but the magnet program was more than enticing. Now that my daughter has settled into the Academy, I know I made the right decision. Besides mastery of academics, the diversity of the school population encourages free and independent thinking, and I have never seen and administration and principal more dedicated to its student body. The orchestra program is top notch and Mr. Woolstenhulme is the driving force behind it. I would highly recommend this school to any parent deciding on the magnet program. It is well worth all the sacrifice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

Our daughter is in the 8th grade at Hyde Park. Her experience in the Science and Math Academy has been outstanding. The staff and other students she has associated with are excellent. She has had a number of opportunities to excel and participate in extracurricular events. She is very prepared for high school and college as she has had to develop good study habits at an early age. Opting to go to Hyde Park was one of the best decisions she has made. It is an older school in an older neighborhood, but we have found that there have been less problems at the school than the school she was zoned for in a nice neighborhood. We have nothing but great comments to make about the entire experience and staff. Can't wait until our next child has the opportunity to attend this school. It's the best MS in Las Vegas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This could be a personal experiance or simply a widespread problem. My daughter has attented Hyde for 6th and 7th grade. Slowly I have watched her progress into this unknown person. I have seen the people she chooses to be around, and they are at best, not the right kind of crowd. My daughter is failing math, and refuses to switch out to an easier or class or simply pay attention because 'thats where her friends are' she should have been put on probation but was never placed on such of a thing. Which makes me wonder what is going on there at the front office. I hear my daughter openly brag about ditching school and heading to the meadows mall. Just a fair warning to any parents, do not be fooled into thinking that a magnet school is a safe better learning community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I am in the magnet program, and i think it is the best magnet in the state. It has the highest test scores on the distric, but the school's grade is the third best in the state, because of the local kids. The kids in the magnet are mostly smart, and the teachers are ok.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2008

I'm a sixth grader here in Hyde Park Middle School, and I've got to say that I've learned way more here than I ever would've at my zoned middle school. They teach very advanced pre-algebra, advanced english and reading, and we learn life science. It's very fun and yet very challenging so you will never get boed. And I'm sure that you'll just love the teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

I absolutely LOVE this school. I like how the system is set up. It is just an absolutely amazing school. It teaches you so much!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

578 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

578 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

540 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

537 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

511 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

511 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

510 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

566 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female69%
Male67%
Black/African American49%
Asian97%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial78%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant68%

Reading

All Students73%
Female78%
Male69%
Black/African American57%
Asian97%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial87%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female68%
Male72%
Black/African American66%
Asian94%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial76%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant70%

Reading

All Students72%
Female76%
Male68%
Black/African American61%
Asian90%
Hispanic54%
Multiracial79%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch57%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiency11%
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female59%
Male57%
Black/African American49%
Asian86%
Hispanic32%
Multiracial80%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian72%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch37%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities62%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant58%

Reading

All Students61%
Female63%
Male58%
Black/African American47%
Asian88%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial80%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch40%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities64%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant61%

Science

All Students68%
Female65%
Male71%
Black/African American54%
Asian92%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian79%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch51%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 40%
White 32% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 6%
Black 9% 10%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Hinson St
Las Vegas, NV 89107
Phone: (702) 799-4260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Delta Academy
Las Vegas, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT