Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Faith Lutheran Middle School & High School

Private | 6-12 | 1381 students

High technology in a truly Christian setting.

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $144,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2010

I am currently attending Faith! I don't like it! The teachers are always busy with sports or other stuff after school. Every one thinks it's so great but its not. The cafeteria food is either under cooked or over cooked, and the dress code is enforced every now and then. Oh and my favorite they are trying to turn all of our text books into online textbooks!whoo hoo! I mean no one said education was easy, so if you are going to get a good education then you might have to break your back in the process. I happen to live far away from the school so being able to see the teachers before is hard to do! The library is okay but they don't have amazing books, mostly children books. Oh and the students are not always nice. No bulling but no boundaries! Please dont waste money coming here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2010

Faith is a truly amazing school! I dont know how anyone could trash it. I love the uniforums, and the fact that everyday I wake up knowning that I wont be teased because of my love of God and for my religion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2009

I attended this school for 6th grade. I was also in this school for the first month in 7th grade. I loved this school, you get an excellent education but the prices are outrageously high. They are giving all the freshmen mac laptops now and that raised the tuition. I'd only recommend going if you have a lot of money to spare. I had to leave this school (and all my friends) thanks to the prices. And, the school did absolutely nothing to help us. >:(
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2009

Very disappointing experience! Office staff is unfriendly, unhelpful, and disorganized. Our child came in from public school at a higher academic level than peers. Math program in particular is awful. Teachers are unavailable except to correspond by email. Theft and inappropriate language are rampant. Once the school had our money it was difficult to communicate with faculty or staff. Don't waste your child's valuable time at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

I love this school! Having a son wh isn't as faithful about homework as I'd like him to be, I'm extremely grateful for the calls from his teachers before he has a chance to fail the course (even after 4 yrs of same thing). These calls oftentimes come in during evening hours from their home phones. Most of them even supply parents & students with their cell phone #'s. Unsurpassed caring & dedication from the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

This is the most outstanding school I have ever been involved with. The administration and teachers are the best in Las Vegas. My son is very lucky to be attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

Every day I Thank God for this incredible school. My children are doing so well and loving school, I couldn't ask for more or be more thankfull.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

Faith is amazing. It has been such a blessing to have our son attend the school. This school has something for everyone...sports, drama, dance, academic competitions, etc. It is nice to be able to have great education in a christian environment. The teachers are awesome. The coaches are patient and are awesome. The drama teachers are truly amazing! You all deserve a giant applause. Thanks for doing all that you have done with our son! As you can see, I highly recommend Faith! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

This is my child's third year at Faith Lutheran and I am thankful she has such a wonderful school to attend. Her academic performance been fostered at Faith (and we have the standardized test scores to prove it), and she has had the chance to participate in all kinds of extracurricular activites even at the middle school level (dance, drama, honor society, service clubs, etc.) Just attended the statewide cheer and dance team competition over the weekend and Faith won every Division AAA category in which they competed. That's just one small area, of course, but it reflects the students' and faculty's dedication and desire for excellence. My child attends after-school and security is just fine. This school has an excellent balance between Christian ethics, learning, and fun. In my opinion and I have lived here for almost 20 years, Faith is the best private school in Las Vegas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

I am a little disappointed in this private school.Safety is lax, kids are unattended after school at pickup areas, front office is unavailable most times, Some of the teachers are unhelpful to kids and parents, yet nothing changes. Dress code is deplorable yet again nothing changes. Edline is not done nearly as well as CCSD's and hard to understand. Tuition is reasonable, however with the yearly increases and amount of money that flows through the school, you are bombarded with requests for donations, which the way you get treated doesn't make for a giving heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

Faith is an amazing school. Some people may complain about the uniforms, but who cares? This is high school, not a fashion show. I'm a current student, and I've actually grown to appreciate uniform rules - they prepare us for the real world. The quality of education at Faith is great, you really learn a lot, and the teachers genuinely care about the students. It's a good environment too; the studnets at FLHS are, for the most part, good kids. We don't have major problems with bullying, fights, drug use, or anything or the sort (most high schools do). Not to mention, we have some of the best sport teams out there. Some of the rules may seem silly to a 14 year-old (such as no colored belts), but I think it's worth it for the quality of education we receive.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2006

this school is horrible. the rules are absolutley insane. every child is wearing almost the same thing, there are rules about belts, hair length above eyebrows, just about anything and everything to take away from a childs individuality. If you are planning on sending your kids here, dont, unless it is for punishment. Also one of my sons attended here and one at palo verde high school, they were both in the 9th grade and i was very suprised to see that they were learning the same matterial at the same time, and even getting the same textbooks and homework. the only difference was one cost me about 45$ (pens,pencils etc.)while the other was costing WELL into the thousand of dollars. Bad choice of school. F
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

Overall, Faith Lutheran is one of the most valuable schools in the city. The class sizes have about 20 to 25 students, thus the higher student to teacher ratio. My one complaint is the high school mathematics department, which needs major tweeking and adjustments. The teachers in this department have trouble controlling the classes and their teaching methods are not up to par for a high school of this caliber. The other departments excel in my opinion and will benefit the students greatly. Many people believe that only the sons and daughters of wealthy and prominent parents attend Faith...this is the case for many of the students, but certainly not all of them. Faith does grant scholarships to those who need financial help and assistance. Is Faith worth the $7,000 a year tuition? In my opinion it is because many public schools in the state are academic catastrophes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2005

I think faith lutheran is the place to bring your children if you're looking for an exceptional fina arts program. Mr. And mrs. Ball are amazingly talented drama directors. I have seen productions at this school that have blown me away. Parents are always saying that the academy is the the place to be. Faith lutheran drama dept. Has been seriously overlooked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

I went to Faith Lutheran for four years until I recently had to move. It was traumatic having to leave and I miss the school very much. The teachers are amazing people who know how to effectivly teach students what they need to know and make it fun at the same time. The campus is beautiful and is put to good use with a good variety of sports and clubs. The Christian atmosphere and weekly, student led chapels are a wonderful experience. I recommend Faith Lutheran to all parents wishing for their students to attend a school with good ethics, great academics, wonderful teachers, and good friends. It has made an extremly postive impact on me which will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 26, 2004

Needs to improve in dress code, too many kids looking sloppy with torn pants on sides, hair code on boys is the worst I seen in a private school, front office needs to greet with a smile when anyone enters the school, math in high school grades needs improvement, some teachers need to dress more professional,not dress like the kids. Needs more parents involved in P.T.F. meetings,it's an o.k. school, but could improve with parents involved more in different areas of school codes,activities,committees.Excited about cafeteria finally being built, it's about time,don't understand the reason for lockers being outside the school, most kids don't like being out in the heat or cold to get there books,need something done about the kids being outside in the cold & heat,when staff members have their children inside the offices,nice & warm & cool.Hope this will help make changes,there is also room for improvement. Thank you!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My child is in her 2nd year at Faith and we like the small classroom sizes, morality, ethics and rules enforced here. I would appreciate more economic and racial diversity, but don't want to send my child to public school just for those reasons. The homework is tough and the curriculum seems tougher than at her former private school. Faith is worth every penny we pay for tuition and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

I was a student at Faith for 4 years and I loved every moment of it! I recommend this school to everyone who was thinking of putting their child into it.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 46%
Asian 10% N/A
Hispanic 6% 34%
Black 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Faith Community Lutheran School
Mountain View Lutheran School
First Good Shepherd Lutheran School
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 19% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 78% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 2% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Nevada Las Vegas
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Exemplary School - Lutheran Church Missouri Synod (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Significant developmental delay
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • IT support
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Steve Buuck
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (702) 804-4488

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Significant developmental delay
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Culinary
  • IT support

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Faith Lutheran is the largest Lutheran school in the United States and the largest non-public school in the state of Nevada. We would be honored to have you join the Faith Family!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
300
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
325
Students typically come from these schools
Faith Community Lutheran School
Mountain View Lutheran School
First Good Shepherd Lutheran School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Nevada Las Vegas
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 19%
4 year college - 78%
Military - 1%
Workforce - 2%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2015 S Hualapai Way
Las Vegas, NV 89117
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 804-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Doral Academy
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT