Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 500 students

Leadership based upon Biblical principles
 
 

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $68,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2011

This school is awesome. It is the best in Vegas. I have sent my children here for many years. It has always been unquestionably Christian and strongly academic. This fall every high school student is getting an iPad for texts, homework, and whatever else this creative staff can come up with. I am looking forward to my grandchildren going to MVCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2010

As a parent who has gone through the lower and upper grades, I can attest that the elementary is great. My children were performing above grade level, the attitudes of most teachers and students were positive and loving, keeping in line with the Christian faith, chapel time/bible study were great beneifts. There are a few children with behavior problems that continually get a pass and should have been expelled by now, but they are paying tuition and I doubt the school will walk from the money. The upper grades leave a lot to be desired in terms of academics, favoritism, and an over-focus on fundraising and sports in lieu of academics. Some teachers are a God-send, knowlegable and certified....while others lack the certification, degrees, or love of children/education to teach effectively. The previous poster is correct, the elective choices in the upper grades are poor to say the least and might be a hinderence to college acceptance. In short, MVCS is great at the elementary level where a focus on good citisenship, child/parent/teacher realations and mastery of the basics is the focus.....but once you are college bound, the academics leaves a lot to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

Continuation of Page 1 Teachers are required to continue their education and encouraged to continually read material that helps with their field of study. The technology at MVCS exceeds that of any school in the valley. Classrooms have projectors, every room contains computers, they have two computer labs, a state of the art media center and parents can track their child s progress through RenWeb. When I went to college it was a breeze because MVCS prepared me for what college was going to be like. The teachers made sure we were prepared for what we were going to face. Academics are held to the upmost of importance. The school holds many activities year round that help reinforce what is taught in the classroom.


Posted November 4, 2010

As a former graduate of MVCS I would like to state the impact this school and church has had on my life. The atmosphere of this school radiates from the moment you enter. Feelings of joy, love and excitement are shown and felt throughout the building. Teachers will bend over backwards for their students and work very hard to make sure each one succeeds. Not only do they teach, they love and cherish each child. I would like to clear up also that the teachers at MVCS are qualified to teach and have Masters/Bachelors degrees.


Posted November 4, 2010

Continuation of Page 2 Taste of Missions teaches students the importance of world studies, Walkathon promotes healthy living, Speech Meet exposes students to public speaking and chapels develop the spiritual mind of students. My experience at MVCS helped me build an eternal foundation that will hold strong throughout all of life s misgivings and joys. I am who I am today because of MVCS. I am proud of what I have accomplished. I would like to thank all the staff at MVCS. Thank you for all the time, encouragement and help you have given me throughout the 10 years I was there.


Posted September 23, 2010

Ex teacher... Wanted to teach at a christian school, but after MVCS, I'll stick to public. Staff was under-qualified and overpaid, considering their own academic level. I've seen teachers waive test scores for their 'pets' and not for the rest of the students. Some teachers sit online on facebook or myspace all day while students teach themselves through outdated books. Bible classes teach basic bible lessons, but don't they teach how to apply biblical teachings to their 'walk with God' on a day-to-day basis. I was a math teacher, and had some students stay after to ask me about other homework, claiming their other teachers wouldn't help them. Basically, unless your child has family working at MVCS, or they are one of the lucky ones that a teacher wants to favor, they arn't going to get a well deserved education. Certainly not one that costs $5,000. FYI I RESIGNED. WASN'T FIRED!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2010

How are students supposed to compete for college with such a bland amount of elective choices? Grades 7th-12th choices are things such as PE, health, Spanish/French, Art, Computers. There is no "language level" like Spanish IV, and no specific subcategories like sculpting, oil painting, photography or computer programming. The only interesting classes were Web Graphics or Culinary, and these are only available to upper level high schoolers. Should the children take the same Spanish, art and computer class over and over and over each year? Where's the advancement? How does a student improve upon skills if they repeat the same classes with the same teachers?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I would like to take this opportunity to reach out to all current and prospectve students and families of MVCS. As the principal of this school, I would like to express the opportunity that a website such as this has to be a forum of constructive conversation. One that builds up a community through the discussion of ideas and best practices. At MVCS, our administration welcomes the opportunity to discuss any and all concerns. Through these discussions, we are able to either receive information that helps us improve our program or provide answers that shed light upon unknown factors in any given situation. Yet as an educator, I am distressed over the cowardice displayed by individuals who hide behind being anonymous in order to simply take cheap shots. That type of discussion does not provide anything constructive for anyone involved, nor does it provide an opportunity for improvement.


Posted May 10, 2010

Terrible disappointment! Tuition is too high. Teachers are not qualified to teach school anywhere. I was totally mislead!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

...they even focus more on sports than academics.That's a big down fall. Should have discounts. Tuition is overpriced. Not all teachers are qualified. anonymous
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

i have been at this school since kindergarten i am a seventh grader the curriculum could be better the teachers are ok but the school is focused on fundraising money for nothing they get 5,000 per kid give the teachers a raise get new books not ones made in 1995 out of 5 core classes 4 use books bible we use our own Bible which I like 3 are made from 95-99 there is one made in 07 which is terrible they have no benefits for returning students like myself i mean 8 years should mean at least a little off I would love to go to Washington State for medical but we have no electives that offer that except for health which is very basic out of the 09 class two went to colleges that were not minor ones and not UNLV
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

It's a great school! My 4 grandchildren go to school there, and they are getting a quality education along with lots of school activities to be involved in. It's worth what it costs to have them there!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted July 12, 2009

My daughter attended 6th grade and will be attending again this year. This school was a great choice good academics, good positive atmosphere, good after school opportunities. My daughter was extremely happy and comfortable at this school within a week and is looking forward to the start of the new school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I think it is a great idea that MVCS requires even the 12 graders to sign out. Why shouldn't they? In the event something happened to someone's child they would be responsible and believe me the parent would hold the school responsible. Yes the hallways are crowded so that just tells me more people in the las vegas valley are looking for a good christian education. Stop complaining and start volunteering. It's no secret christian schools rely on money to survive. Don't you?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

MVCS has many opportunities yet over the years has become underplayed. Moving the 5thand 6th graders into the highschool wing was ridiculous. even with the loss of many students this last year the hallways are a disgrace. The administration does not know when to stay out of your 'personal buisness' the education is average, you would think that paying 5 thousand a year would grant college prep classes at least but the school mostly sets standards on sports and money. Students are now required to tell admistration when you leave campus, thats understandable for elementry, but even 12th graders are made to check out. The admistration treats students as if they belittled us. When i had noted to some of the teachers and principal that i was looking for another school they tried to change my mind for me. I hope to find a better school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2009

I went to MVCS for the first 3 years of high school. I loved every minute of it. It is a better environment for learning and that fact that you become friends (more like family) with everyone in the school is a wonderful thing. There were not any cliques like you usually see in a public school. This is coming for someone who was reluctant to start and the school grew to love it instantly and when I had to leave my senior year I was so far ahead of my peers in public school that I was bored, graduated early, with honors, and received an advanced diplomia. Then when I went onto college it was a breeze. MVCS really prepares you for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2009

mountain view is doing a great job in everything!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

i am an 8th grader at mvcs and i have to say that i highly dislike this school. i really tried to see this school in a good way but i just could not. all i ever do is get made fun. in my past ive attended a public school and never had i received such rude comments towards me. and i have to agree with the last comment these teachers and staff don't teach us for the real world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2009

I have 2 children who attend MVCS and overall we are very happy with the school. Some of the reviews complained about the way other children treat their children...just because it is a christian school doesn't make the teachers responsible for your children's behavior! That starts at home. It does take time to make appointments with administration, however, many of the administration members are also teachers which I find commendable. This school is right for alot of families, but they certainly cannot please everyone. Do your homework and and be part of the solution...Volunteer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

My son attends 5th grade at MVCS and when I read some of these negative reviews I feel like they musy be talking about some other school. Maybe things change in the high school, but up til now the education has been excellent. I attended an older East Coast school which sent about a third of its students on to Ivy League colleges, and my son has so far received a better education than I had at the same age. The children treat each other well as I would expect in a Christian environment, and the teachers are admirable. The only issue I have seen is disorganization on the part of administration. This has not caused us any actual problems but it does nothing to increase the confidence of parents that have concerns. Wonderfully diverse student population.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 46%
Black 21% 10%
Hispanic 17% 34%
Asian 7% N/A
Two or more races 7% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 94% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 3% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation UNLV
Grand Canyon University
UNR
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • IT support

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Crystal Van Kempen-McClanahan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ACTS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • STEM
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Culinary
  • IT support

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • National Honor Society
  • Student Leadership Council
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • MVCS-Leadership Institute provides an environment that promotes a lifelong learning experience with solid Christian Values. MVCS is a Preschool-12th grade private school located on 20 acres in Northeast Las Vegas. MVCS has been serving the Las Vegas since 1983. The curriculum at MVCS-Leadership Institute is college-prep and fully integrates leadership philosophy. Students from PK-HS develop into confident leaders by learning the skills of problem solving, team building, and service.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
500
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
600

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UNLV
Grand Canyon University
UNR
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Community college courses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 3%
4 year college - 94%
Military - 3%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 E Bonanza Rd
Las Vegas, NV 89110
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 452-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Child Haven 6-12
Las Vegas, NV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT