Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View Christian Schools

Private | PK-12

We are best known for Leadership Institute.

 
 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $68,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

87 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2009

I have 2 children who attend MVCS and overall we are very happy with the school. Some of the reviews complained about the way other children treat their children...just because it is a christian school doesn't make the teachers responsible for your children's behavior! That starts at home. It does take time to make appointments with administration, however, many of the administration members are also teachers which I find commendable. This school is right for alot of families, but they certainly cannot please everyone. Do your homework and and be part of the solution...Volunteer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

My son attends 5th grade at MVCS and when I read some of these negative reviews I feel like they musy be talking about some other school. Maybe things change in the high school, but up til now the education has been excellent. I attended an older East Coast school which sent about a third of its students on to Ivy League colleges, and my son has so far received a better education than I had at the same age. The children treat each other well as I would expect in a Christian environment, and the teachers are admirable. The only issue I have seen is disorganization on the part of administration. This has not caused us any actual problems but it does nothing to increase the confidence of parents that have concerns. Wonderfully diverse student population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

I regret every dollar I poured into this school--from tuition to fundraisers to money gifts I was asked to provide by administration. The education is mediocre, the teachers are not all certified and the administration is too concerned about money to make any good decisions regarding what is best for the kids. What a terrible school disguised as being Christian! My child is being more educationally challenged in public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

I have attended MVCS for the past 2 years. I would have to say that this school is amazing! I am doing much better here than my former school and my teachers take the extra time to help me do better. I recommend this school to anyone looking for caring teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2008

I'm sad to say that I only wish that I had found this website before I enrolled my child. After 9 weeks I have made the difficult decision to move my child to another school. I agree that the school seems to be more interested in the fundraising and the sports. I was shocked to hear that chapel was cancelled to attend a pep rally. Why do preschoolers need to attend a pep rally? I was informed that the homework would be available online for me to print. Even public schools give you hard copies. When I went to the login it was just websites to go to and obtain the homework. For the money you pay, they can afford to make a few copies. Even public schools give you hard copies. Please ask the right questions when enrolling your child in this or any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

I went to MVCS in 6th grade, but came back for my years of high school and graduated in 2006. I loved every minute of it how everyone was so involved I would of never recieved that at any of the othe private schools. It was like a family and I still talk and visit with the staff and my whole graduating class. Highly suggest going to Mt. View.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2008

My children have been at MVCS for 5 years, and this is the first year that I don't feel that the school has earned an exceptional rating--I would give them 1 or 2 stars if I was only considering the 07-08 year. While there are many caring teachers and the curriculum is solid (at least for elementary and middle school), in the past year, the administration seemed more concerned about enrollment numbers, dollar signs, and athletics, and less concerned about academics, security and behavior. Phone calls to administration are often not returned, discipline is inconsistent and favoritism is obvious. I hope to see them return to their previous standards in the coming year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

My daughter graduated from MVCS and she loved every minute of her time there. The teachers are caring and the adminitrators give of their time after school to coach the kids and mentor them. The two staff members who do not support the school should leave. If its such a bad place why stay? I love the place. My daughter is who she is today because of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I have had my children attend Mountain View for about 10 years now and I have to say I am pleased. I for one feel the education offered is above average and ultimatley the success of my students depends on them and myself. The staff at MVCS are very helpful and encouraging. Not to mention the safety factor. MVCS is a well maintained and gaurded school. I plan on having my children graduate from this school. Thank You MVCS!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

Totally not preparing the students for the real world, one teacher I know doesn't even have a college/teaching degree, good job Mtn View. They care more about the money than the teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

Love the school my childeren go there and they love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

I wil be taking my child out of this school during Winter break. How can my child get a good education when the teachers do not have one? No wonder my child is behind her public school friends!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

MVCS has the ability to be a great school. I think there focus should be more on the students and not the enrollment numbers. Everything is always about numbers. Educating the kids should be priority. Until they realize that the kids that are there are priority, they will continue to struggle.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 9, 2007

My child has just began public school, and he/she is now being put in different classes becuase mountain view did not have their students in the right classes according to grade. They start you out with the wrong english classes so that if you do indeed decide to change school you are completely off with the rest of the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

MVCS didnt get me prepared for where i neee to go, i want to go to an out of state college for fashion, and the classes that i need the either do not offer or they did not tell me that i was supposed to take them. I love the students there, but the teachers aren't good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2007

mountain view is not worth the money! most teachers are underqualified and just don't really care. i spent most of my days there doing busy work instead of actually learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2007

I have recently taken my child out of MVCS and put him in public school. I am amazed at all of the classes he is behind in. There are also many classes that he took at MVCS and is not getting credit for in public school. MVCS has not been a good experience for us!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

MVCS is the best! And yes, it's a Christian school. You can feel it in the atmosphere. I know many of the teachers personally. They sacrifice so much for their students. I have been in prayer meetings where MVCS teachers are crying for their students for hours. These teachers truly care. The love they show is straight from God. I Know the staff of MVCS, and they are most definitely close to God (and it shows).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

My children are starting their sixth year at MVCS. I have found their education far exceeds that of their public school peers. The school offers many extra-curricular activities from elementary through high school. The teachers have been excellent. We have rarely had issues with teachers and have always been able to work things out. Administration is easy to contact and open to workng with parents. My children love going to this school. They have very good relationships with the teachers they have had and look forward to returning each fall. We plan on keeping our children at MVCS until graduaion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

I rate it an average because it can be very well, average. The tone and manner of some of the teachers can be unproffesional. I like that the classrooms are very diverse and not too large, but even with smaller classrooms help is not distributed evenly. In my opinion, the tution doesnt match the service.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 46%
Black 21% 10%
Hispanic 17% 34%
Asian 7% N/A
Two or more races 7% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation UNLV
Evangel University
Arizona State
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Crystal Van Kempen-McClanahan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ACTS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Mountain View Christian Schools Leadership Institute Provides the Environment that Promotes A Lifelong Learning Experience with Solid Christian Values. MVCS is a Preschool through 12th grade private school located on 20 acres in the North East area of Las Vegas that has been serving the Las Vegas community since 1983. MVCS Leadership institute is a fully integrated leadership philosophy, where young people from preschool through high school, are trained up in problem solving applications, teamwork, communication skills through a fully integrated leadership development program. MVCS features a Leadership Institute, college-preparatory curriculum and extensive electives program. We also offer a comprehensive athletics program that features a gymnasium with weight room, and 8-acre athletic complex with baseball, football, and softball fields. MVCS is sponsored by The Champion Center of Las Vegas
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UNLV
Evangel University
Arizona State
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 E Bonanza Rd
Las Vegas, NV 89110
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 452-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Child Haven 6-12
Las Vegas, NV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT