Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 500 students

Leadership based upon Biblical principles
 
 

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $68,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2007

I had high expectations for MVCS, but my children will not be returning next year. The curriculum is average-except too much influence with bible teachings-it overshadows the need for more emphasis on basics, like math, science, history, etc.. Unfortunately, it is a whole lot about money. The fundraising for missions is obsessive, while the kids are still in trailers. Some of the Junior and High School students speak more filth than I expected for the environment. The Library is poorly stocked. The only positive is the safety aspect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

I am a staff member of MVCS and am sad to say that my view of the school has changed. There is no forgiveness from the administrators and I have seen many good staff members let go due to impulsive decisions by those in authority. I do not feel the mission statement is lived by, and often times I am disappointed that this is a Christian organization because of the contradictions seen throughout the entire school. Unfortunately, the school wants to be the best, but does not do what is necessary to become the best.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 21, 2007

Im so glad that finally, people are putting the truth out there about mountain view chrstian school. I used to love it, and it was so much fun. But now, things have gotten so far out of hand. The teachers dont pay enough attention to us as they should. We didnt excel anymore than kids in public schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2007

I have been on staff at MVCS for several years and unfortunately I have to agree with several comments and complaints that have been posted as of late. If it were not for the tuition discount my children get because I am an employee, I would send my children elsewhere. I work with a few teachers who do not even have a teaching degree and I believe some of the ones with degrees teach here because they would not cut it in public school. The leadership is very prejudice against a certain population of children despite how they portray themselves to the parents. Parents are not encouraged to be involved and when they do, they get discouraged because they see that their children's best interests are not in the hearts of the administration and most of the staff. It is actually a very sad situation.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 16, 2007

I am a former student of MVCS and after being put through the worst year of my life I am happy to see that the truth of this school is being put out. I was unfairly treated because I made the mistake of doing what I thought was right. The favoritism at this school is ridiculous if you are not liked the teachers and other staff they will have it out for out for you. What I mean is you will go through hell dirty looks from the office ladies teachers acting differently in classes. My parents paid good money for what? In my bible class all we did was sit and talk. I could have done that in public school for free.


Posted July 13, 2007

It is great that the ugly truth about MVCS is finally getting out. I pulled my children out a couple of years ago due to many of the same reasons. This has been a total waste of money--especially when there are perfectly good public schools in LV to send our children to! The administration and staff should be ashamed of themselves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I agree that the elementary school is great and teachers do a good job. But the high school portion is full of favoritism and even grades are subject to the whim of teachers at times. The school does not focus on academics and preparing for college like they should especially in their senior years This school used to be above the public schools but not any more. I pulled my kids out this year after 10+ years in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

While the emphasis (well, over-emphasis) on Christianity at Mountain View may seem advantageous, it, in essence, screwed me when I got to college. The whole time I attended Mountain View, every subject, every idea was based on God and Christianity. I can't remember writing a paper where I didn't refer or mention God at least once. That didn't fly in my public college. Of course, they wouldn't discriminate based on religion, but I could no longer base my arguements on God, because to most people in the scientific profession don't believe in God. My education from MV no longer seemed like an education at all, more like a huge Bible class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2007

I recently graduated after attending Mountain View my entire scholastic career. While I was there, the school seemed like the best there could be; the low number of students made it easier to get involved in sports and other programs that I would never have been successful at in another school as well as smaller class sizes which made learning more personal. Then I graduated. I realized that the real world was nothing like Mountain View. Being taught in an environment that encourages and accepts Christian beliefs made it easier to follow those beliefs, but once I had to become a part of society, that fostering of my religion was no longer present. They make it easy while you're there, but they don't teach you how to uphold those beliefs when they're challenged.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2007

Mountain View Christian School started out to be a good school when my child was in elementary. But as she has gotten older the only thing they offer is a wonderful volleyball team. In her freshman year (which will be her last @ mvcs) she was treated very unfairly. Teachers most deffinatly have their favorites and will go out of their way to help the students that they consider more special. I would not consider sending my child here again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

Mountain View is good for the elementary programs there, but that would be it. Favoritism is a huge deal. The school focuses so much on how much money they can raise through fund raisers and such that education almost seems to be put secondary. I would not suggest anyone to MVCS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2007

I love love love MVCS! My son graduated this year (he's attended since the first grade) and my daughter will be a sophomore in the fall. Their teachers have always gone the extra mile for each of them. I never felt 'out of the loop'. The office staff are wonderful and personable. They know your children and you by name. MVCS is worth every single dollar we've spent on my kids education. If I had to do it all over again. I wouldn't have changed a thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

I am pulling my child out of this school after attending for 5 years. I would expect him to be ahead of public school but indeed he is behind and will have to take summer school. I am very disappointed in the immaturity and unprofessionalism of the entire staff. This has been a waste of money for our family, but hey, at least the administration can afford to live like kings and queens! Not to mention the new cafeteria I helped pay for! Do not send your child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

This is our 5th year at MVCS. We love it! Wonderful environment with teachers and staff who truly care. Challenging academics, great art and music teachers, band, sports, Bible education and chapel each week along with a safe and fun school environment are reasons we like it so much. For the most part, parents are very friendly and down to earth and parent participation is high. Diverse group of ethnicities and backgrounds but teachers and staff treat everyone with respect & kindness. Private Christian education is certainly a sacrifice as it isn't cheap. However, we have found it is well worth it! We are very happy with MVCS. Our daughters love their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

MVCS has been overall a good elementary school. I have great concern for the high school level of teaching i.e. the quality of the teachers and what is available for the kids. They do seem to have a high priority for the safety of the kids. The whole first quarter has seem to have been more about how much money the school could raise, and not so much on education. Hopefully 2nd quarter will be better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

MVCS is the best Christian School in Las Vegas. The teachers truly care about the needs of each student and want to be there. I have seen many teachers go the extra mile to see the kids succeed. For example, my daughter's teacher offers free tutoring after school for the children who need extra help. I am very impressed as a parent. I also like the new state of the art kitchen that was opened this year. Now my child has a healthy hot lunch each day. The rising tuition is the only issue I have with MVCS, but the quality of the school is well worth the sacrifice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

My daughter has attended MVCS for five years now, and started there in the 6th grade. We have never regretted sending her to MVCS. I believe the quality of the education she is receiving is superior to what she would get in the public schools in Las Vegas. Brian Glover
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

My child has attended for almost three years. He is in pre-school and has done very well there. He truely enjoys going and has learned computer fundamentals, art, physical education & music. I especially like he attends chapel once a week with children his own age. He has had four fundamental teachers since starting there and I would score them all very high on discipline, manners & teaching respect for others. He has been taught well on the basic education for his age level, including the bible. I did have a problem once with a teacher, which could happen at any school, and we quickly resolved the issue by talking. My son has been at 2 other daycares prior to Mountain View, any I've never seen the rudeness/disrespect towards the kids as I did at the other places he attended. I would highly recommend visiting MVCS & forming your opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

I feel that MVCS is a great school.It has weak areas just like any other school, however it provides a great enviornment and has many great activities. I am very pleased.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2004

Very good school, Safe secure, Fair and the most color blind environment that I have ever seen. Excelent facilities for sports and the developmnet of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 46%
Black 21% 10%
Hispanic 17% 34%
Asian 7% N/A
Two or more races 7% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 94% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 3% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation UNLV
Grand Canyon University
UNR
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • IT support

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Crystal Van Kempen-McClanahan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ACTS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • STEM
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Culinary
  • IT support

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • National Honor Society
  • Student Leadership Council
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • MVCS-Leadership Institute provides an environment that promotes a lifelong learning experience with solid Christian Values. MVCS is a Preschool-12th grade private school located on 20 acres in Northeast Las Vegas. MVCS has been serving the Las Vegas since 1983. The curriculum at MVCS-Leadership Institute is college-prep and fully integrates leadership philosophy. Students from PK-HS develop into confident leaders by learning the skills of problem solving, team building, and service.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
500
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
600

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UNLV
Grand Canyon University
UNR
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Community college courses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 3%
4 year college - 94%
Military - 3%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 E Bonanza Rd
Las Vegas, NV 89110
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 452-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Child Haven 6-12
Las Vegas, NV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT