Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J Harold Brinley Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2013

My son went to this school back in 2007-2008. There were shootings and kids bringing guns to school, luckily we moved after only being in the area for a year. Why am I writing a review now 5 years later?! Because my son was giving a grade he didn't deserve and ALMOST had to take a class over again. It was his computer class. The teacher gave him a NP. Well we didn't know that was on his report card until he got in the 11th grade and my husband and I knew we wouldn't have missed that so we fought it and you know what happen?! The school was wrong. The principal said the teacher must have accidently bubbled in the wrong thing. I was completely floored. But I am writing because if this happen to my son I know it has happen to someone else and I am hoping by me writing about it someone can see that if you fight the school on it you will get change! He now has a pass in his computer class and doesn't have to take it over again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

brinley is an amazing school with amazing students. at that school you have ever race you can think of we are so diverse. i love the teachers and the new princpal. sure we have fight and arguments but so does every other school. yes we do have some kids that dont care and or ghetto but there is only a few of those type of kids.we have a lot of school pride we have amazing staff. we also have many clubs and sports team


Posted November 19, 2012

i was a student at birnley but i transfrerred. i was in 6th grade and even thought the school has a bad review it has good people some of the teachers were to blame , but most of the students were the best. so now i say that im a proud brinley bruin at heart


Posted September 2, 2011

I go to this school now in eighth and this skoo tight it at even fights I broke up one Taday aha but this skoo a good skoo and the teachers listen but the bball team srry but Imma b on it so it's all good but f u go ta this skoo u gotta say swag and Gucci lol Nhaw Jp but but it's


Posted January 25, 2011

this can be a good school but it has so many student who don't care . don't blame the staff they tried but the kids are very disrespectful i am an A B student and try my best but others in that school just don't care. i am deferent and so are some other students . i wouldn't go to any other school because the teachers helped me so much . i din't care about school till i went to brinley and i am proud to say i'm a bruin .


Posted September 24, 2010

Previous Parent here. With brinley's revolving door of principals and teachers that refuse to e-mail to help working parents stay informed and the complete lax security this school is unsafe and should be taken over for the sake of the children. After my son attended I refused to let anymore of my children experience this and moved out of state to give my children a chance. If you can don't let your kids attend there is only a handful of good teachers and I feel for them


Posted January 31, 2010

This is a great school. I went here for 6th grade but my mom transfered me out. She thought that the fights outside of the school were because of the students but some of those were highschoolers. This is one my favorite schools and it has great people! The teachers I had were my favorites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

I am currently an 8th grade student at brinley middle school. If you read alot of these other messages on this wedsite they talk very negitive about our school. Brinley is not a bad school at all. Yes it has had its bad years but that was in the past. There are inly a hand full of kids who just simply dont care... All of the other ones have moved on to hhigh school. It is not our fault that the subsitutes that come here read about our past behaivor and judge the students who go there now. There are only a few students who are rebelus now. It erks me how people just focus on the past and just because we have had a bad past that it falls back on the kids now. Elisha
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2009

There are alot of kids at this school who just don't care. But blame that on their parents, not on the school! It's a good school with lot's of activities. They have accelerated English, Math, Reading, and Science as well as pre-algebra for 7th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I was a long-term subsititute at this school. I have never had such a group of disrespectful students and lack of administrative support, and I even subbed at juvenile hall, which was sadly much better than Brinley. The Principal 'Ms. Gibson' never left her office, even after I sent her multiple e-mails asking her to please come to my classroom and back me up with discipline she never came. The kids ran the class, and there was nothing I could do about it. I had a 6th grade student tell me to 'f*ck off,' and he was back from the office in 10 minutes. What a horrible horrible horrible school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2008

One word about this school. Terrible. The principal doesn't really care and keeps us trapped in a small dim cafeteria. The deans get you in trouble for no reason just to set you off. The school is filled with litter and junk. We have the worst clubs ever. They change their rules constantly and treat us all like elementary students. The deans, the principal, and the vice principal doesn't even listen to the students. This is coming from a kid who went here in 6th and 7th grade. I'm currently in 8th grade. I still hate it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

They should close this school down. It is disgraceful to see the lack of respect for teachers. The administrators do nothing to help the teachers. The students can do no wrong. I am a parent who has transferred my son out because it is not safe. I have seen kids f off teachers and the principal does nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I have had more issues with the disrepectful staff then any student who attends. 'They are a substitute' seems to be an acceptable response when contacting the administration office, but then again the vice principle whom I was speaking with admitted they were a substitute as well. My son tells me he goes to class, an assignment is written on the board, a hand-out with questions is given to him then turns in that Friday. The rest of the week the teacher is on the internet. Ive gone and witnessed this in more then one of his classes. If the teachers are not longer interstested in educating students then maybe they should find other employment. I realize they are not there to raise my child, but they are there to educate them and this is lacking here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

This school is out of control!! The Principal won't let the teachers discipline the students, so the students run wild and run the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

Brinley middle school is a great school. They have a lot of help for the students and academic work for them. Brinley keeps my friends and i involved in a lot. The teachers are also great! Some may not agree with all of these facts but i do and i believe in Brinley.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2007

this is the worst school I have ever had to deal with!! The kids are disrespectful, and the administration thinks that talking to them will solve the problem. think again!! get your kid out of there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

One of the worst schools if not the worst in terms of disclipine. Absolutely no respect for authority . Lack of respect for the teachers. Graffiti on walls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

One of the worst schools if not the worst in las vegas.I have never encountered such disrespectful and rude students. They have a record of kids lining up for disciplinary reasons.The teacher turnover is alarming.Teachers always complaining about the disrespectful students.Administrator changeover constantly.A chaotic and sad situation exists.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

I went to BMS in 2004-2006. It is a great school, the teachers and the staff members there treated me very well. They made believe I can do anything that come my way!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2006

My son attended BMS for 6th, 7th, and will complete 8th grade in two days. We have enjoyed Brinley. Ms. Gibson and her staff really took care of my kid like he was one of their own. That could be, however, because I built a rapport with them, was always accessible, and they knew they could count on me. I see many children who can be a bit unruly, but they are not unmanageable. These are typically the children whom one wonders if they raise themselves. At Brinley, it seems that the parents who complain are only seen on campus maybe once or twice a year. Often, I attended my son's games and there were only the same handful of parents who attended. Thankfully, BMS had caring staff to fill in when parents didn't.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

242 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students27%
Female25%
Male28%
Black/African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian23%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch27%
Full price26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities29%
Students with limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English33%
Not migrant27%

Reading

All Students42%
Female50%
Male35%
Black/African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian55%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch42%
Full price41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities47%
Students with limited English proficiency16%
Proficient in English51%
Not migrant42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Female39%
Male32%
Black/African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian39%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch35%
Full price36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities40%
Students with limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English44%
Not migrant35%

Reading

All Students42%
Female51%
Male34%
Black/African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian43%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch38%
Full price67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities48%
Students with limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students21%
Female22%
Male20%
Black/African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian36%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch19%
Full price28%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities23%
Students with limited English proficiency3%
Proficient in English24%
Not migrant21%

Reading

All Students29%
Female33%
Male25%
Black/African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian48%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch28%
Full price36%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities32%
Students with limited English proficiency3%
Proficient in English33%
Not migrant29%

Science

All Students29%
Female29%
Male28%
Black/African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian51%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch28%
Full price29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities32%
Students with limited English proficiency3%
Proficient in English33%
Not migrant29%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 40%
Black 18% 10%
White 14% 37%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-4549

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2480 Maverick St
Las Vegas, NV 89108
Phone: (702) 799-4550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT