Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J M Ullom Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 646 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

I had my son attend ullom from first grade until 5th grade. I went to parent teacher conferences and was extremely pleased with how each teacher had a wonderful grasp of where my child was at. My child received an excellent education at Ullom. Each and every teacher was extremely supportive and interested in my child education. After 5th grade I moved to different side of town where my son now attends st. Francis de sales school, I say this because I take my child's education very seriously. My son was prepared to take on the curriculum of a rigorous private school due largely in part to the great staff at Ullom elementary. My child speaks English at home but we are Hispanic. I was careful to monitor if ESL students were diverting the teachers attention away from the class, I did not want this to hinder my son's education. I never felt this to be the case. I believe Ullom is an excellent school with exceptional and kind teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

Both my children attended J.M. Ullom elementary school and I have been very please with their education. I am a single hispanic mother who through hard work and dedication have put myself through college and have obtained my degree. It saddens me to read some of the reviews including the ones that say students haven't learned the "American" language. The teachers at Ullom, as well as the administrators strive to make sure that their school offers the best it can with what it has. Both of my children are excellent students, now of middle school and high school age. Every student is given the opertunity to excell, how we as parents encourage our children , and accept responsability for their education as a team effort. reflects on their success. I encourage my children to be the best people they can be. So i applaud the teachers at Ullom elementary school for all of their efforts. I look forward to enrolling my kindergartner this upcoming school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

My son attended first grade at this school. He did not attend J M Ullom Elementary during his kindergarten years. During the beginning of the school year, the teacher said he tested well above average for all areas of study. Each parent teacher conference, his teacher reported he was well above his classmates and doing well in all areas except one. His mother and I placed special attention in that area while trying to keep up with the other areas at home. His final report card showed all A's and one B. The thing that worried us is his percentage for each area gradually decreased throughout the year. My son felt like the students who misbehaved got more attention than he did throughout the year. After looking at his last report card, I feel the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

We have made our AYP two years running and this last year our students and staff made our high achieving goals. That means students had a 60+ percent pass rate on the state CRT. We do serve a large population who see English as a second language. We have an intervention system that works for low achieving students as well. Our facilities are old, but our level of technology rises every year, because this is a Title I school and our principal is proactive about the use of technology. Kindergarten teachers last year had high numbers, however this year numbers are very low for kindergarten. You will be hard pressed to find a more high achieving school for the demagraphic that we serve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 11, 2009

My daughter attended kindergarten last year at J.M. Ullom. Her teacher was great and tried to keep up with the standards set however it was difficult with the amount of children who hasn't yet mastered the American language. This I felt was a set back for my child. The one Parent Meeting I was invited to was long due to it being done in the Spanish language and then interpreted it English. Parent involvement is next to nothing. Today I got a call from the School and it was in Spanish, something about a free dental clinic. I'm trying to get my daughter relocated to another school that will support her educational needs or I will have to pay for Spanish classes. Shopping carts are selling food to children when they get out of school, the traffic is bad. The school is run down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

all 3 of my children have attended this school. I would not have it any other way. My youngest has this year and 1 more.. requested that my neice goes here...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

I am a bit disappointed in the school in many ways. Parent involvment is very sparse, extracurricular activites are non-existant. The safety and well being of the children before and after school is a nightmare. No crossing guards or any supervision what so ever for the children crossing the streets surrounding the school. The children are terrified to cross the street, parents double parking blocking the road, along with people frequently speeding down the street.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

I feel like this school has to constantly stuggle so much with teaching Spanish-speaking kids English, that they have little time to teach other things. I don't know that it is all the staff's fault that the school does so poorly on testing, but I do see grammatical errors on sheets sent home from time to time, and that irritates me. How can my child be taught proper grammar when the teachers can't spell and write? This school is in a poor neighborhood, and the low amount of tax dollars funding it really shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

112 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female59%
Male57%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch57%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiency45%
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant58%

Reading

All Students47%
Female55%
Male38%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch47%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities50%
Students with limited English proficiency28%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female74%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch82%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiency93%
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant82%

Reading

All Students56%
Female61%
Male54%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Students with limited English proficiency54%
Proficient in English58%
Not migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female79%
Male71%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiency67%
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant75%

Reading

All Students68%
Female77%
Male61%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch66%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiency48%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant68%

Science

All Students57%
Female61%
Male54%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Students with limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 75% 40%
White 12% 37%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Black 4% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-0719

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4869 East Sun Valley Dr
Las Vegas, NV 89121
Phone: (702) 799-7780

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT