Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J T McWilliams Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 687 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2013

My son goes to JT McWilliams. He has been there for 3 years now. The first 2 years were great but this year we were having problems with the teacher and we getting nowhere with the principle. My sons grades went down this year (he is usually a a/b student- this year he is mostly a c/d/f student) My son does not like the teacher and when we had a meeting with the teacher and principle we were being talked down to and were being told that the problem was at home and that the teacher was great and he n ever had a problem with her in the 5 years he has worked with her. We have done our part at home to make my son work harder to pull his grade up (he is also in the gate program-which he is doing great in) Last report card he had pulled up most of his grades but still had 1 f. I am still having problems with the teacher and she is still being "mean " to my child. I dont feel that he is getting what he needs from this school any longer and am working on getting him into another school for next year. We had requested that he get another teacher but the principle would not do it, but it was something that was our fault and not the teacher. I am not happy with how things have turned out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

My three kids attend this school and I really like this school for my kids. The teachers know what they are doing and are great at their jobs. I just wish some of the parents were a little more involved with how their kids are getting along in school. You are doing a wonderful job Principal Cheung.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Teachers, parents and students at J.T. McWilliams Elementary School work hard to build a school community. Together we are bringing up standards and making the school a place of learning for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The faculty and staff at McWilliams are friendly and compassionate. They work closely together and with families to support students's successes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The teachers and staff care about the students. They are friendly and nice to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

It is the best place to work. We have the best kids. They are so eager and ready to learn. Everyone is working together to bring up standards, test scores, and making the school a place for everyone to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

My son has been at J.T. going on 4 years and has done very well there.I have met all my sons teachers and feel that they are extremely caring about the children's education.This school does offer extra activities as well as parent involvement. The staff have always been helpful and I'm glad my son has done very well there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

The teachers are very good and care about the students alot at this school. But there are no programs to help motivate the students. They have no honor roll, student of the month,, no principals list. The principal of this school is very stand offish and does not interact much with the students and parents. My daughter went to this school for 4 years. She did well at this school because she is very bright but I think she would have excelled at a different school. This school is economically depressed so they do not have many opportunities to give the kids extras. The racial make up is not particularly diverse. My daughter was definitely in the minority. So she didn't get to have a lot of interaction with the other students due to the fact that the majority are still trying to learn english and adjust to how the system works.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2004

This school has special programs, the teachers are excellent, the staff is very compassionate and caring, and the school is very safe. I am very pleased with McWilliams. My daughter has attended for 4 years with excellent results.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
24%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

105 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female73%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiency72%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant73%

Reading

All Students50%
Female58%
Male42%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch47%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Students with limited English proficiency43%
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female80%
Male75%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Students with limited English proficiency73%
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant78%

Reading

All Students69%
Female75%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiency66%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female44%
Male30%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch38%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities40%
Students with limited English proficiency20%
Proficient in English49%
Not migrant38%

Reading

All Students41%
Female49%
Male29%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch40%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities44%
Students with limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant41%

Science

All Students28%
Female29%
Male28%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch27%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities30%
Students with limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English40%
Not migrant28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 81% 39%
White 9% 39%
Black 6% 10%
Asian 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 4%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-3170

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1315 Hiawatha Rd
Las Vegas, NV 89108
Phone: (702) 799-4770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT