Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clifford J Lawrence Junior High School

Public | 6-8 | 1446 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2008

Its a really beautiful school the teachers are amazing my daughter love to go to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

I diagree with you.Lawrence is not a 'terrible' school. My son transferred to Lawrence from Guinn (we live by Lawrence.) While it was a rough crowd the school was great! He was A Honor roll all year. So, I can compare Lawrence..... I think as a parent you are responsible to be 'partners with the teacher(s)' when it comes to your child's education! I keep close tabs on his homework & his grades (check 'In Touch' online system weekly.) If I have questions about anything (even the simplest one..like what the homework is about) I write his teacher & give them my number to call me. They do! My 8th gr. son is on the National Honor Society, Lawrence Bowling League, & a Student Aide.The Principal is wonderful!Lawrence has a red carpet on the 1st day of school for students?! Literally! For kids to succeed & learn,parents need to step up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

its a horrible school. my daughter learns nothing !!!! The learning environment is also horrible. I am trying to get her out of this school ASAP. I will never ever recommend this school to any student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

I am a former student of Lawrence, and I can tell you the school has changed a bit since I first came there. Although the staff says they strictly enforce many rules (such as the one way hallway and backpack policy), I was surprised that at the end of my last year there that they begun to become a little sloppy and let a few of backpacks in classrooms (then again no one's perfect), but aside from that, the staff was friendly, despite being strict, and the principal was very kind too, always supportive of our sport teams and our great music department. The counselors are all nice and they can help you if their not busy. Other than that, Lawrence seems like a great school, but be careful of those bad kids with failing grades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2007

My son has been at Lawrence for 2 years. The teachers were surprised by me showing up and asking how things were, but it was more because most parents don't show up and check in or they just hear from parents who's kids have bad grades. I volunteer regularly and now most staff know me. They are very strict and quick with zero tolerance. I have never felt my child was in any danger. I feel one way hallways is a great idea. This alleviates the kids getting trampled as one comment above noted. The no back packs in class rooms does work very well. The class room size is limited and when you have 30 back packs laying all over, there is no walk room. And it also eliminates a child from bringing any unwanted threats into the rooms. I have been very pleased with this facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

My son has been at Lawrence for 2 years and is now being shoved over to Fertitta so rich kids can be re-zoned to this school. However, it may be a good thing as any 10 second tardy results in missing the entire class (now that's good education!) and many other nit picking things has given my student a very poor attitude to school and authority. The band was great, but the second year, raw beginners were placed in advanced classes making it boring for any students with experience. The back pack rule seems paranoid and it weighs 23 lbs. My summary seems the staff is too frightened of what could happen and it just seems like prison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

As a former Lawrence Junior High student, I must say that I was very surprised by the other comments. I thought my three years at Lawrence were great, and never experienced any negativity. Behavior issues and poor grades are not the fault of the school, but the fault of the student and quite possibly his home life/values. Entering middle school can cause people to fall into peer pressure and want to 'be cool.' It has nothing to do with the school. The teachers and administrators are wonderful, and as a recent graduate [graduating with a 4.05 GPA] I think it's safe to say that with the proper motivation, Lawrence is a great learning environment. Go lions!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 9, 2006

As a parent of a former and current student I am shocked to read all of the negative comments posted by parents. My children and I have had a wonderful experience at Lawerence. Mrs. Mead is the most caring and attentive administrator I have ever encountered. I am a parent volunteer and I strongly disagree with the comments concerning the disrespect of the students. I have found the majority of the students kind and respectful and as far as the students that are disrespectful- they may be students at Lawerence by they are products of their parents homes-respect and any other virtue needs to be taught at home
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

This school is doing a bit better they now have internet access and also have a new principal. One way hallways are now in effect in the school and enforced.A new no backpacks on campus rule is not enforced often,but for good reason that the rule is thought to be unnessary.The school has inproved on communication with parents but the students barely have any respect of the deans and teachers.Overall the school is getting much better academically and discipline.All the school needs to work on is the students respect of the staff at lawrence.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2004

I don't know why it seems that only negative remarks get posted and hopefully someone has experienced something positive. My son attended this school for one year. He was an A student. After attending this school I started to experience not only behavior issues, but poor grades as well. I tried to be an involved parent and found that the teachers were surprised when I was interested in my son's behavior and grades, but there was still no communication after my phone call to them. The school does not have any online communication and stated they are one of the schools unable to afford it. This caused great concern to me and my son continued to perform poorly. My son is now in private school where they have enough time to call me when there is an issue of behavior or grades. My son is held accountable. We are working together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2003

My child was trampled,walked on by other kids while walking through the hallways to get to his next class, I called the school and nothing was done about this even though it has happened to other kids and is clearly a safety issue.


Posted May 27, 2003

Not real impressed with the administrators. After 3 kids attended this school. Kids seem to fall between the cracks.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

498 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

498 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

482 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

483 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

479 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female45%
Male44%
Black/African American27%
Asian71%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial50%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian45%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch39%
Full price52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities48%
Students with limited English proficiency23%
Proficient in English47%
Not migrant44%

Reading

All Students64%
Female72%
Male56%
Black/African American53%
Asian77%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial69%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities68%
Students with limited English proficiency30%
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female76%
Male68%
Black/African American45%
Asian87%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial72%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian79%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch65%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiency56%
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant72%

Reading

All Students71%
Female77%
Male66%
Black/African American56%
Asian78%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial72%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiency27%
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female50%
Male43%
Black/African American32%
Asian78%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial44%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian51%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch39%
Full price56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities50%
Students with limited English proficiency31%
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant47%

Reading

All Students49%
Female54%
Male43%
Black/African American33%
Asian71%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial41%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian57%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities53%
Students with limited English proficiency11%
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant49%

Science

All Students53%
Female52%
Male53%
Black/African American40%
Asian72%
Hispanic45%
Multiracial50%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian56%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full price60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities56%
Students with limited English proficiency28%
Proficient in English55%
Not migrant53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 33% 40%
White 29% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 6%
Black 12% 10%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4410 South Juliano St
Las Vegas, NV 89147
Phone: (702) 799-2540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Doral Academy
Las Vegas, NV







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT