Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Las Vegas, NV

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desert Pines High School 1

Posted December 07, 2014
- a student
Worst school ever. I have A's and B's and I sleep in all my classes, their is also a lot of pregnant girls.

Desert Pines High School 3

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
I think this is a good secondary level school for my third son(he is in 11th grade. There are better h.s. in other states. We have the experience en Michigan(Ann Arbor schools), California, Ohio, Virginia and Maryland. The economic situation is different in each school district. That is why we understand the limitations of Nevada to instruct our kids in a better way: politics and social/bussines groups of power trace the routes of the people in this state; like in any other one


Desert Pines High School 1

Posted September 04, 2014
- a student
I am currently going to Desert Pines High School and it is too easy in every class. I pretty much slept through my algebra 2 class and got 102% by the end of the year. I had extra credit because I answered all the assignments within a couple minutes while the teacher gave us about 30 to finish it. I do not recommend this school for any student unless they are having difficulty understanding most subjects.

Desert Pines High School 2

Posted October 08, 2013
- a student
I am a 2012 Desert Pines High School graduate. I was an A & B student all 4 years with no effort whatsoever, no homework and cant receive lower than a 50% on assignments policies were big contributors. Their were a few good teachers there that taught and genuinely cared about the students however the bigger percentage are just their. Overcrowded is an understatement, had a class with 40+ students and there weren't enough chairs, had to sit on the floor for a while. Any additional help was only given to the exceptional honor students or athletes, basically to the students that didn't need any help. Yes this school has primarily Hispanic/Spanish speaking students but the teachers do not stop class to try to help those students, there is a separate ELL program for that just like any other school. School spirit is non-existent, the CCSD police has bigger impact of authority and respect than the teachers and staff, overall this is just another run-of-the-mill high school. But the help and opportunities are there, a few athletes received scholarships to out of state universities, a lot of students received scholarships, grants, etc. It all depends on what the student makes of their time.

Desert Pines High School 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a community member
I'm going here this school year yea!!! Imma see what its like. Imma be a freshman well I'm going to be in the magnet program hopefully its good


Desert Pines High School 1

Posted October 09, 2012
- a community member
this school has to be the worst school people are rude and stuck up and the girls their are conceited.

Desert Pines High School 5

Posted August 08, 2012
- a community member
I am very disapointed at everyone who thinks the school is horrible! This is a very great school! if parents complain about the no homework policy thats because its just freshmen year far along with it they end up getting it. if you want them to have more homework than usual make them get honors or AP classes that will straighten them out. I was a proud jaguar student who was in the magnet program. AOC was the academy of commuincations that changed my life! i became more confident and outspoken. The teachers always include EVERYONE so no one is left out! this gives great job opportunities as well. like internships with other professional radio stations and news stations in the city. I would like to ask the parents to think twice about this school because they are the ones that dont understand all the things the teachers and especially the councelors do for the students to pass and graduate. -class of 2012 graduate

Desert Pines High School 1

Posted October 05, 2010
- a parent
Deplorable. Test scores reflect it. Large population of non-English speaking students bring others down because teachers have to spend a larger percentage of their day trying to teach the Spanish speaking kids. Be cautious driving around the campus and neighborhoods after school. After school fights are not uncommon.


Desert Pines High School 0
no rating

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
I think desert pines is an awesome school ama parent and my daughter loves that school

Desert Pines High School 4

Posted February 18, 2010
- a student
Okay so even though DP isn't one of the best schools, i do love this school. Our teachers are either very understanding and helpful or very useless and irritating. The administration is a joke, but coming to school with my friends nd having awesome classes is worth it. I'm a magnet student and although the magnet program isn't something to boast about, the studentss really try (when motivated.) I just wish other people would see that. I love my graduating class of 2011, because it's liek a family. Our school is so multicultural and i'm always learning something new about people. The dress code is ridiculous, however. (So when voting for the SSA comes around, please say NO parents. :]) Yes, our standards are low, and you know what, i'm okay with that. Life's standards are low and it's up to ME to make them higher, not the schools. :p -VLS

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Pines High School
3800 Harris Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89110
(702) 799-2196
Last modified Desert Pines High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desert Pines High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top