Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ethel W. Staton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 814 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2014

I would give this school 10 stars if I could. Dr. Lombard and Mr. Layton are wonderful, caring, and know each child by name. We have not had a bad teacher yet, and this is our third year at Staton. The teachers really care about the kids. My kids have thrived here. Staton is, without any doubt, the best elementary school in Las Vegas. It is a credit to CCSD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

My son is a third grader at Staton Elementry. We moved here from Houston Texas last year and was afraid that the Staton would be behind in curriculum. To our surprise our son had a challenge to catch up with the rest of the class. We are thrilled with the school and the teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

The teachers and parents are fantastic. My daughters have learned more than I expected and they have had fun doing it. The PTO does a great job of raising money so that students are given every opportunity despite the cut backs the district is facing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2013

I happen to have a friend who enrolled her son in Staton this year. The interesting thing is that she was a teacher in a well known expensive private school, and her son attended K-3. Her son found himself trying to catch up in MATH, and READING. She told me she assumed that her school was superior to all public schools and that she was amazed. She often refers to never drink the kool-aid again and to keep an open mind. And yes her family is planning a trip to Europe this summer with the money she saved. Staton is truly one of the best public school in Las Vegas if not the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

We have 2 children that have been attending Staton for the last 2 years. All of the teachers that they've had so far have been truly wonderful. I also volunteer on my spare time and the faculty always makes me feel so welcome. The principal and vice principal are always present and know all the children by first names. We are blessed to have this school available for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

This is a great school! The teachers, administration and parents all work together to create a safe and learning environment. I never worry about what teacher I get because they are all exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

Staton Elementary is the best school in Las Vegas. My daughter has learned so much and benefits everyday from the guidance and leadership of this school. The teachers are fantastic. The PTO is awesome. The principal and vice principal are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

THIS IS THE MOST SPECIAL SCHOOL I WILL EVER KNOW AS A MOTHER. I FEEL VERY BLESSED TO LIVE IN SUMMERLIN AND TO GET ETHEL STATON ELEMENTARY SCHOOL FOR MY CHILDREN. I WILL MISS THIS SCHOOL AS JOEY WILL BE GOING TO SIG ROGICH. MRS GARDNER AND MR. LAYTON ARE BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE. THEY ARE THE MOST CARING PEOPLE THAT I WILL ALWAYS BE THANKFUL FOR. SINCERLEY, EVA ROY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2011

My daughter is in the all day kindergarten program. I'm very impressed with how much she's learned and how much she loves school. I'm extremely happy with this school, and the staff shows a great deal of love and respect towards my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

I am so grateful to have Mr. Herz as my son's 4rth grade teacher last year. He is one great teacher who built up my son's self esteem to where he left off in the 2nd grade. Out of his whole experience at Staton, he rants and raves over Mr. Herz. School should be a place for learning, but more importantly FUN and comforting! The Riley's will be forever grateful to him!


Posted January 12, 2010

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!! My daughter is in 3rd grade. She has been in private schools since preschool and we were nervous about going to a public school. SHE LOVES IT!! Her teacher Ms. Powers is wonderful and she loves the specials. I think the principal and the staff have a great vision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

This is a top notch school! My son attends the all day kindergarten class. The principle, teachers & staff are all exceptional. The empowerment program is simply amazing too. All students should be lucky enough to attend a school like Staton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

We arrived from England in Feb 2009 and our daughter went into Grade 2, She had a lovely teacher ( Mrs Dalton ) and thoroughly enjoyed being in the classroom, she is starting Grade 3 in August and I hope she continues to do well. The school is very clean, the Campus is very safe and the staff are very helpful, I am glad we found such a great school for our daughter after such a big move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

Was a good school now not at all. Administration worried about test scores and appearance not what is really going on in the school. We have had bullying problems for most of the year - had to contact principal numerous times for action to be taken. About 50/50 on the teachers - the good ones tend to follow the previous principals standards and values which is good. Very overrated even by Nevada's low standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

Great school, wonderful and caring Kindergarten teacher. Clean campus and a safe campus. I am a grandmother to a grade K student.


Posted October 10, 2008

My child was lucky and got the same great teacher he had in kindergarten for 1st grade. He loved this teacher! Then, 6 weeks into the school year they changed his class because of overcrowding. I've talked to the principal and the superintendent. Neither cares that my child is devastated and doesn't want to go to school anymore. They don't even care that I am going to unenroll him because of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

2 of my 4 kids attend Staton and I love it. The teachers are very high quality as are the specialists and support staff. The prinicpal and vice principal have implemented many wonderful programs that supplement and enhance classroom learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Great teachers! I can't say enough about them. I'm not to pleased with the new principal. She has no personality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

We are very please with Staton Elementary. This past year we have had a new principal. She has really made some positive changes. The school was great before and now it is even better. Many parents are involved with functions and volunteering. The music, art and drama classes are enjoyed by all of my children. We have never had a bad experience with any of the teachers and my oldest son attended from grades 2 - 5. All of his teachers were caring and wonderful educators. There are no complaints about this school from us. We highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

My daughter attended this school for Kindergarden and she loved her teacher. The teacher was great and she learned a lot during Kindergarden due to this teacher's strict teaching style. The principal did not return my phone call when I called to complain about the parking problem at this school. Not very much recess time. My daughter is now a 1st Grader at this school. It has really gotten worse due to overcrowding. Some students are placed in portable classrooms with no bathrooms nearby, all bathrooms are in the main building. Kind of a problem is you know 1st and 2nd Graders. My daughter use to love school but now she hates it. The kids bully her and the Principal refuses to do anything about it. My child's grades have slipped due to her current teachers teaching style, or lack thereof. We are moving away due this.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

140 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female90%
Male95%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch85%
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%

Reading

All Students85%
Female89%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian96%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch82%
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant92%

Reading

All Students91%
Female95%
Male88%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian94%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch82%
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant89%

Reading

All Students82%
Female87%
Male78%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant82%

Science

All Students87%
Female84%
Male90%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 37%
Hispanic 15% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Black 6% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Sageberry Dr
Las Vegas, NV 89144
Phone: (702) 799-6720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT