Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ethel W. Staton Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
I feel like every child is reached out to. They have monthly tasks that they work on including responsibility, courage, friendship, etc.

Ethel W. Staton Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Staton Elementary has heavy parent involvement. Their PTO raises funds to cover teachers and items that are not provided by CCSD. This is necessary to help a school succeed.


Ethel W. Staton Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2016
- a community member
My son attended full time kindergarten and is now in 1st grade here. I've been so impressed with the teachers, curriculum, and how much my son has learned and thrived. I believe this school is up to par with any private or charter school here. In fact, he was just accepted into a charter school, but I thought, why ruin such a good thing, everything has been fantastic here, so we stayed and I'm so happy with my decision. I feel so blessed to live in a short walking distance from this school.

Ethel W. Staton Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
I would give this school 10 stars if I could. Dr. Lombard and Mr. Layton are wonderful, caring, and know each child by name. We have not had a bad teacher yet, and this is our third year at Staton. The teachers really care about the kids. My kids have thrived here. Staton is, without any doubt, the best elementary school in Las Vegas. It is a credit to CCSD.

Ethel W. Staton Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
My son is a third grader at Staton Elementry. We moved here from Houston Texas last year and was afraid that the Staton would be behind in curriculum. To our surprise our son had a challenge to catch up with the rest of the class. We are thrilled with the school and the teachers!!!


Ethel W. Staton Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and parents are fantastic. My daughters have learned more than I expected and they have had fun doing it. The PTO does a great job of raising money so that students are given every opportunity despite the cut backs the district is facing.

Ethel W. Staton Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
I happen to have a friend who enrolled her son in Staton this year. The interesting thing is that she was a teacher in a well known expensive private school, and her son attended K-3. Her son found himself trying to catch up in MATH, and READING. She told me she assumed that her school was superior to all public schools and that she was amazed. She often refers to never drink the kool-aid again and to keep an open mind. And yes her family is planning a trip to Europe this summer with the money she saved. Staton is truly one of the best public school in Las Vegas if not the best.

Ethel W. Staton Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2012
- a parent
We have 2 children that have been attending Staton for the last 2 years. All of the teachers that they've had so far have been truly wonderful. I also volunteer on my spare time and the faculty always makes me feel so welcome. The principal and vice principal are always present and know all the children by first names. We are blessed to have this school available for our kids.


Ethel W. Staton Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school! The teachers, administration and parents all work together to create a safe and learning environment. I never worry about what teacher I get because they are all exceptional.

Ethel W. Staton Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
Staton Elementary is the best school in Las Vegas. My daughter has learned so much and benefits everyday from the guidance and leadership of this school. The teachers are fantastic. The PTO is awesome. The principal and vice principal are the best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ethel W. Staton Elementary School
1700 Sageberry Dr, Las Vegas, NV  89144
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (702) 799-6720
Last modified Ethel W. Staton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top