Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sig Rogich Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2014

great school, no bullying. my 7th grader couldn't be happier. staff is great. keep up good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2014

I love this school. The principle is amazing. Just the other day she did the ice bucket challenge and the whole school was working on getting donations to donate to ALS. Most of the staff is great but quite a few of them are the meanest people I know. They just yell at you and don't want to listen to what you have to say cause your "only a kid". Other than that I love all of my teachers. They are the best. I love rogich.


Posted August 29, 2014

A couple of the teachers are great but a few of them are bullies. My English teacher poked fun of me in class and I felt so awkward. She kept doing this throughout the year. I dreaded going to school because of it and I am not returning this school year. My grades dropped as the year went on as I really couldn't concentrate on my classes due to my feeling of hopelessness.


Posted April 23, 2014

This school is a great school. I am so pleased with my daughter progress . The staff are very friendly too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Though some of my teachers are some of the best teachers I've ever had, I have learned little to nothing new this year. I actually got suspended simply because I cut a corner on a basketball court before the game began and because the vice principal had let the power go to his head, he suspended me because he wished it. I am an all A and B student with straight accelerated classes and Algebra I. There was one time where I was looking forward to school and to absorb the knowledge...Now, I feel as if it doesn't matter anymore. As for the bullying in the school, I have been harassed more by the staff than the students themselves. despite my many attempts to stop them, i merely get punished instead. And even though both my mother and myself have spoken to them about the theory of skipping for me due to my practically falling asleep in class, they slammed the door of opportunity in our faces. I have never even been tested for it. This school was one of the worst schools i have ever attended and caused me more mental abuse than i ever thought possible. I'm glad i'm leaving next year.


Posted January 28, 2014

I am a student and I love this school it is great. Yes there are a lot of kids but most are really cool. I came from a private school for the last 8 years and I like this so much better. My other school was rigid and we had less students but more bullying at the private school. I really love this school and most of the teachers.


Posted October 15, 2013

Rogich was mostly a great school, but there was a big bullying problem and some of the staff didn't really care about what their students were learning or what was going on in the classroom. The electives are fantastic and there are some really good teachers there, some of which are still my favorite teachers to this day. But the bulling and ignorant teachers is ridiculous.


Posted August 22, 2013

school hasn't started yet and we are recent transplants from New York. What I have seen so far at Sig Rogich has been impressive. Thorough, caring staff with great attention to detail. My 12 yr old daughter feels more than comfortable going to a new school in a new state just because of the greeting she got at orientation. Even thought there was a paperwork snafu and her packet wasn't ready she was able to tour the school and get all the info needed. Again i was impressed and the paperwork problem was easily fixed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

I went to sig rogich for 6th grade and it was probably thew best year of my life! The staff is great! That basketball teams are at the top. Rogich hasthe best teachers in the state. In the summer they give us packets so we can be prepared. Rogich has a minor bullying issue though. But they stay on top of it. Rogich is probably one of the best in the state. Go Rough Riders!


Posted August 12, 2012

I love this school!! My daughter has been goin since 6th grade and is going into 8th this year.. The teachers are on point with communication with the parents and the school is doing a great job with staying on top of school/ cyber bullying.. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

This school is great at everything compared to all schools in the valley. Everything about rogich is flawless except one small problome. there is a minor bully porblome hat the school but many kids over come it bu saying the bullying motto "we dont do that here". Overall this school is amazing and has taught me so much about life and learning. GREAT STAFF!!!


Posted December 13, 2011

The kids at this school might as well have a bar code stenciled on their foreheads....because they are just a number to the teachers and administration. The sixth grade counselor has been on maternity leave for pretty much the entire school year. Her replacement either doesn't care enough, or is too busy to pick up the slack. We purposely moved to this area so our kids could attend this school, but now feel that we made a huge mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

Great school, there's interest in the development of the students, a great enrichment program in music and arts. The student body is one of the best my daughter and I have met. The teachers are great, helpful and interested in student success. There is definitely a positive environment that motivates teachers and thus students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

This school has a good reputation and it definitely lives up to it! The teachers are very dedicated and well organized which comes from a good administration holding high standards and expecting no less. Ms Harrison is a strong and devoted leader which sets the pace for Sig Rogich! Excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Rogich's staff are loud and oblivious. The principal is uninvolved with her students and has her vices deal with the students. It is a good school overall. The teachers are great. But the principal should be more involved in her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

Sig is a great school for your kids to learn in matter of fact my daughter goes to rms and she loves it!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

My daughter has just started 7th grade and so far the experience has been fantastic. She came from an expensive private school and the teachers here make the material much more understandable and easier for her to learn. She feels successful at this school because the teachers, staff, and administration really care about these kids and their achievement. The atmosphere is so friendly and my child feels very safe here. Thank you for this wonderful 'hidden' gem in Summerlin!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

Rogich MS is the best school ever. the staff is so nice and since ive been in the band program Mr Holmes and Mr. Robinson except Mr. Holmes is retiring but Mr. Robinson is great also. Mr Wilkinson was the best Science Teacher too i loved all my teachers i had in 7th Grade (im going into 8th Grade this year) also going back 2 band I got accepted into Varsity band so i skipped JV(Junior Varsity) so im really excited for my 8th grade year!!! Go Rough Riders
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

Rogich is a great and a really overacheving school. Teachers are good. Activities are great. Discpline is okay. Im entering eighth grade at rogich next year and i cant wait. But i do agree with the other student, rogich is the only school overpopulated in clark county besides hyde park, but i think they fixed by sending some incoming students to johnson. Good School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2009

Rogich is the best school ever! All the teachers and staff (well, at least MOST of the teachers and staff) are really friendly, cooperative, and nice, but also are firm and dedicated. I am a seventh grader and Rogich has always been a second home for me. Rogich has a great learning enviroment. The only thing I could possibly think of that is a downside is the overcrowding. There are way more students at rogich than the school was built to teach. There is a shortage of some things, including paper, textbooks, and desks. I think this might be hindering all of the students' learning potential. Nevertheless, Rogich does have excedingly high test scores!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

620 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

620 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

569 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

569 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

603 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

604 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

599 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

633 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female81%
Male76%
Black/African American49%
Asian78%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial90%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch66%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant79%

Reading

All Students89%
Female93%
Male84%
Black/African American74%
Asian87%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial92%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)42%
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female79%
Male77%
Black/African American55%
Asian89%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial77%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant78%

Reading

All Students83%
Female87%
Male80%
Black/African American63%
Asian87%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial80%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)30%
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female69%
Male66%
Black/African American46%
Asian78%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch44%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant68%

Reading

All Students76%
Female81%
Male71%
Black/African American54%
Asian82%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch54%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)34%
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant76%

Science

All Students74%
Female77%
Male71%
Black/African American46%
Asian79%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch52%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 37%
Hispanic 15% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 6%
Black 8% 10%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

235 North Pavilion Center Dr
Las Vegas, NV 89144
Phone: (702) 799-6040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Meadows School
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT