Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kay Carl Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Kay Carl is a great school filled with staff willing to put in the extra effort to help out their students. The principal, Mrs. Swann, is always there, is very closely involved with the students and knows the children by name. She plays games at lunchtime, helps out all over the school and doesn't hide in her office to only make sporadic appearances at assemblies and large functions. The front office staff, Ms. Nyesha, Ms. Elaine and the other ladies are always friendly and helpful and are great and fielding a variety of questions they get asked and the kids love them. The teachers are amazing, they work together as a team to do what is best for students and will help out with children that aren't even in their class. For years, Ms. Bartlotta has stopped my kids in the hall to ask them what book they are reading and encourage them to come check out a book from her classroom library and none of them have ever been her student. These teachers truly care about the kids.They are encouraging, patient, and love teaching and have never forgotten that kids also need to have fun. There are numerous school events, activities, sports and after school clubs to make sure children are included and active in the school. If you are looking for a great public school, you have definitely found it here!

Kay Carl Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
The staff is very encouraging for the students to always make good choices and rewards them with praise anytime they do


Kay Carl Elementary School 3

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
I am very happy with our school. the teachers and Principal are all great. however they can do some changes at the front office. unfriendly staff member whispers as certain parents walk in and never takes the time to say hello, good morning, or even how can I help you ? sometimes she can't even be found.

Kay Carl Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2014
- a community member
what an Excellent and wonderful school - Kay Carl ES! Wishing there's another nearby 89108. The children are so sensitively Well-behaved!

Kay Carl Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
This is my child's 3rd year at this school. There are many exciting and positive changes this year due to our new Principal. The lunch room is now run so efficient and is a fun environment for the kids. Kiss-N-Go drop off and pick up is a much safer solution for the children. It would work better if parents followed the rules and traffic laws. There are many great teachers and the office staff is wonderful to deal with.


Kay Carl Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2014
- a parent
kay carl is a good school.my child this year improved big time there was so many programs like a star wars book club,,art clubs,science clubs and more.The teacher was so kids and he respected and discipline.he dress nice too me parents .pe teacher was a superstar. I would suggest this to a friend

Kay Carl Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
Principal is mia 98% of the time. Assistant principal well talk around and around and around you until you've forgotten why you even called. I've been told that this used to be a very good school. But it isn't any more. Teachers seem beaten down. The p.e. coaches run threes school. Two words....zone variance.

Kay Carl Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
Kay Carl Elementary school is one of the best schools in Clark County. They have an excellent selection of talented teachers and the curriculum includes a wide variety of subjects and classes. The students that go to Kay Carl elementary really like their environment. It is one of the best managed schools in the whole state of Nevada.


Kay Carl Elementary School 3

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
Okay school. My son had a sub teacher most of his 1st grade year. Great teacher for 2nd and 3rd (same teacher) and 4th grade the teacher was verbally abusive to the kids. Now in his last year, new teacher with the school that is retiring.

Kay Carl Elementary School 1

Posted October 25, 2012
- a parent
This has been the worst experience I could have imagined for my children. My daughter didn't have a teacher for the second half of first grade and no one even told us the teacher had gone out on disability. They had numerous subs who didn't know what they were doing which caused my daughter to go from all A's to an F in math. We are still working to get her back on track and will be for the rest of second grade. At least we did get the best second grade teacher. And if they consider having the kids pick up trash as a great P.E. program then there are major problems at this school. I can't wait to get my children out of this school next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kay Carl Elementary School
5625 Corbett St, Las Vegas, NV  89130
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (702) 799-6650
Last modified Kay Carl Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top