Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Patricia A Bendorf Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 850 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2014

We just got through our first year if Kindergarden and I am very impressed with the level of education that my son received. The teacher was very hands on and spent a lot of assessing each child's individual learning needs. I am glad the principal pushes their teachers. I want my child to have the best education possible without having to worry about how to pay for a private school. We loved our teacher this year!! So far, I give this school 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

We have had nothing but nightmares with this school.My child switched teachers this past Fall. This helped my child tremendously. But the current prinipal is the main ploblem of the place. It is runned like a well run prison. And the principal is the Warden. None of the teachers look happy at all. And half of the specials teacher like library and music teachers are mean to the kids. If you don't like kids why would you be a teacher. At the beginning of. February my child started asking me about going to a different school next year. About a month ago I over heard my child tell somebody that they were NOT going back to Bendorf next year. My child used to LOVE school before Bendorf. Now my child hates school and begs me to pick them up early.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

The teachers are awesome. However every year teachers leave and new teachers come. Bad management. My kids are in 2nd and 1st grade. They have been there since kindergarten. There was snack time for kindergarten with my first child, but it was dropped with my second. Both complain they do not have enough time to eat at lunch. They have said that recess is before lunch. That is extremely wrong in my book. They have also said that staff rush the kids when eating and THROW AWAY LUNCHES! I have heard parents complaining and they were told it was the students fault they talk too much. WHAT?! I have lived in Vegas my whole life, when I was in school I have never had been rushed or my lunch thrown away and recess was after we were done eating! They will not be attending the next school year. Good luck if you are zoned for this prison. No a prison is 10 more stars than this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2014

The current principal is not a good leader and should not be a principal. She has her favorites and the rest of the staff stay out of way. She doesn't want parents involved in the school. Many good teachers have left since she was placed here. She did the same things at Ober. Instead of creating a community, she destroys it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

Everything rises and falls on leadership. I just can't find much to brag about this school, except that they are really good at regularly sending fundraising opportunities. Compared to the three other schools my child has attended, I'm sorry to say this one has got a firm lock on fourth place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2014

The current principal is terrible. The majority of the staff transferred last year after three years with her as the leader. Many staff will probably leave again. This is the last year for my child. Thank goodness. Don't let test scores fool you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2014

First off, no school is perfect and this one is no exception. I have to boys that attend this school and are in second and fourth grade. They have been here since kindergarten and love this School. I love this School as well. Aside from over crowding in the class rooms I think that the teachers are hands on with each student and cater to their individual needs. I haven't had a negative experience yet and honestly over all I think Bendorf is a great school. Two thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

Other parents... I have already pulled my daughter from this school because of her horrid teacher and experiences with this principal. She doesn't like kids and intimidates and mini pulsates them. Blue ribbon school... Maybe before this principal was there but not because she has done anything to help that. Please... Other parents need to call and make concerns known! We all need to speak out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Just a terrible school. It's all a show. They say that they are against bullying, but they do nothing to prevent it from happening. Also, the principal is oppressive. She just wants to put fame to this school by always reminding the me and the other parents that they are a blue ribbon school. My child is currently in 5th grade there, and he's been there since kindergarten. He told me that his principal is always boasting about her achievements, even though the school got those awards just after the principal switch. There's some game called 5 square. The kids always lie and cheat in it while the teachers are looking. They don't do anything about it. Also, there is a lot of bullying in 5 square. All in all, a horrid school. Note : The teachers are great, but the principal sometimes harasses them, like what happened to my other son's teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

I MOST DEFENITLY HATE THIS SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!! WE JUST MOVED HERE FROM A FAR WAY BETTER SCHOOL & MY 2ND GRADE DAUGHTER (WHO LOVES SCHOOL) CAME HOME FROM THIS SCHOOL, HORRIFIDE!! SHE TOLD ME THAT HER TEACHER CURSED IN HER CLASS & THAT SHE WAS PLAIN MEAN!! ALL I HAVE TO SAY IS THAT IF YOUR GOING TO BE WORKING WITH LITTLE KIDS DONT SAY THOSE WORDS! WHEN WE WENT TO THE OFFICE TO ADRESS THIS ISSUE THE PRINCIPAL WAS IN A "MEETING" (OFCOURES! HOW CONVINIENT!) WE HAVE BEEN WANTING TO HAVE A MEETING WITH BOTH OF THEM & CANT SEEM TO HAVE IT BECAUSE THEY ARE "ALWAYS WAY TOO BUSY IN MEETINGS" THIS IS BY FAR THE WORST SCHOOL EVER!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

My daughter hated this school, she was bullied and when I tried to bring it to the attention of the principal she just said you need to see the counselor. When I tried to see the counselor it was a 2 weeks wait to discuss the bullying of my daughter which I was not happy with. When we were finally able to see the counselor she just told the students to shake hands and get over it. Really? My daughter was miserable at this school and cried daily before going to school. When she was transferred to her current school, the difference was like night and day. She was happy and became an honor roll student. I feel very bad that she was subjected to such cruelty and the school did not even care. So much for this is a no bully zone!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

I really like this school. The high standards the pricipal has for the stundent and teachers is great, that means she cares about our childrens future. I have read some of the negative reviews and can't say I agree with them. Our children go to school to get and education not to play. These high standards will teach them the discipline they will need in the futre as well as work ethic. You have to perform well to succeed in life. Yes it would be nice to have more activities and educational feild trips but this is not the schools fault it is a funding issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2012

Terrible school. Oppressive tyrant of a principal. Stressed teachers and kids trying to get high test scores. Kids cannot run on playground for fear of liability and must cross arms and put hands over mouth during hallway walk. Walk - NO - RUN far away from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

This is just the experience I have with my child's teacher whom I LOVE. She is an amazing kindergarten teacher and I hope there are more teachers like her in my child's education future. Unfortunately like all school's all teacher's are under paid and over worked. So, you will see both good and bad reviews but they depend on the person whose working with your child. I'd also like to add I've worked with the speech therapist at this school as well and she is very good as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

Don't let the ratings fool you, the only thing this school has going for it is great CRT scores! Other than that is is a miserable place for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

This is a GREAT school!!!! My granddaughter has attended Bendorf for the 3rd & 4th grade and she has gone from the teacher telling us that she needs to be held back(because the school she came from was so far behind) to getting A-B honor roll. She has an excellent teacher, an excellent music teacher, an excellent art teacher, and I am sure the PE teacher is also excellent. I love this school and I think CCSD should use this school as a model of what a excellent K-5 should be teaching and exposing students to. Proud grandparent of a Patricia A. Bendorf Student.


Posted March 18, 2011

Hi, I'm a mom of 4 yr. old boy who needs special education and today I got a call from Early Childhood an they assigned him to this school just for the rest of the school year; is a little far from my home I live in Mountains Edge , but after read all of this I'm scared and not sure if they 'll help my child. Does somebody have any coment for this? Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

My daughter has not been in this school for two years. I was curious when I received an automatice email today re: Bendorf. When purchasing a home, I overlooked several very nice opportunities due to the fact that I felt this was a terrible school. I agree with the parent who posted concerns in April of 2009.....my sincere comments are no longer posted here :) The teacher and Principal at this school were more than shocking to me as to how they behaved, even in front of me. My honor roll student was accused of being on prescription medications by her teacher after three weeks in her 3rd grade class. The obviously aggressiveness of this "strung-out" educator sent us away.


Posted November 23, 2010

Hi. I have been in this school since kindergarten. All of my teachers have been very nice to me and helpful, but after I've graduated from that school, and went to LJHS it seems that the whole school has changed from fun and helpful to boring and uncaring. a few years ago, everything was all nice and now its like a prison. the principal was so nice and caring (and from what I've heard, they have a new principal) and now she has been mean and has also retired and her new successor is even worse.


Posted July 7, 2010

My childeren has been at this school for 5 years now and during that time we have seen the school go from bad to worse. I have seen programs cut, good teachers leave and childeren treated like inmates in a prison. Dont get me wrong some childern are treated ok if they can make it on their own, but if your child needs any extra attention do not expect to get it. Bendorf has cut science, handwriting, PTO, Boy Scouts, Movie Night, scock hop, any and all field trips out of the school criculum and from what I have been told was to expect more to be cut. I understand that overall as parents we should expect a good education for our childern, but to what expence. Right now the only thing this school has going for it is good test scores, which is the schools only criculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

111 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female75%
Male87%
Black/African American75%
Asian93%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiency82%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant81%

Reading

All Students73%
Female71%
Male75%
Black/African American64%
Asian85%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiency71%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Black/African American76%
Asian93%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch85%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant86%

Reading

All Students85%
Female81%
Male90%
Black/African American76%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch85%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female78%
Male84%
Black/African American75%
Asian81%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch70%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant81%

Reading

All Students78%
Female79%
Male77%
Black/African American60%
Asian81%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant78%

Science

All Students70%
Female65%
Male75%
Black/African American65%
Asian81%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch54%
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 37%
Hispanic 24% 40%
Black 17% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 6%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3550 South Kevin Way
Las Vegas, NV 89147
Phone: (702) 799-4440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Doral Academy
Las Vegas, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT