Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sierra Vista High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2112 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

I moved back to Las Vegas from California and went back to Sierra Vista and I couldn't believe the change. There is no longer any school spirit and as far as the teachers go they don't really care about teaching they get paid (in my opinion) to just sit there throw 50 slides of notes on the bored then give you a packet of work and tell you it's due tomorrow. In California they actually taught us something and the transition was horrible to go back and fail. But it gets to a certain point as a student when you can't blame anyone but the teacher when ever kid in the class is failing because then it's the teachers fault. The kids are horrible just doing the most in a bad way that's only hurting them. The school is almost like a school filled with wanna be gangs and drugs and that's just what I figured out my first week back as I sat there only observing how everyone and everything has changed. The once amazing school, the school that was known as the role mode school is nothing but a disaster almost like a jail that we spend hours in trapped learning nothing. I had two good teachers last year and I was taking seven classes so that says a lot.


Posted July 1, 2014

This school is absolutely the worst. I came from California and was very disappointed to attend this school. There are always fights occurring and the staff seems to care more about the dress code than the actual academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2014

This school is one of the worst in Clark County, in my opinion. Uncaring teachers, way too many fights occur out of nowhere in the learning environment, and it's not very clean nor is its staff organized at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2014

SV has DRASTICALLY changed in these past few years since the recession, &still is changing. I've had at least 1 of my children attending since 2005, &I'm very disppointed in what it's becoming. Since the economy dropped in 2007, you can see a big change in the school's student body, teachers and parents(things started getting bad around late 2010-ish). Many people lost their homes on this side of town, so of course many people moved in from the wrong side of town when homes dropped. Many of the teachers at this school are careless/arroggant &the adminstration is constantly switching people. Also, many of the students are ignorant, don't care about their school work/school in general. There is constant conflict between the new young students(physcial fights), &racism as well against others since the main ethinicties of the school are now becoming Asian or Black. This school has NO school spirit anymore, and there's no parent involvment either within the new incoming generations of parents/students. It's rather disppointing that a once a new awesome school, has changed for the worse. SV was a WAY better school before, &it's sad that now I don't even want my last child to even attend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

Not really good. Socially there are tons of teachers who choose their favorite students, so it's hard to just talk to teachers when they think you're random or weird or 'why are you in my class?' There is also some bullying. Academically, there are some teachers that are awesome at teaching, but give extremely hard or overwhelming amounts of work in very little time and there are some who don't teach well at all. For class variety, there is enough to make it interesting, but nonetheless it is not enough to be enjoyable. I would recommend the Weight Training class, but that is my personal interest so I can't speak for all the students. All in all, it is below average, and if you can go somewhere else. There is more to school than just grades; it is about learning and gaining experience, but also to enjoy it. The school puts too much emphasis on the test scores and basically places your value as a person based on them as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2013

This is a very good school and my son is doing pretty good. We are glad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

My school is fast developing a sense of community and singularity of purpose. It's a new school but it's beginning to get its bearings straight. This year, a rally to welcome the incoming freshmen was held and it was well attended. The faculty is impressive. The management is rational. I expect great things from the school for my child this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

CCSD needs to replace all teachers, admins, and students at this school. I'm pretty bummed that it still exsiting. Sierra Vista brought bad memories and bad grades to me, but it wasn't my fault. The administration really sucks no wondrous why there's no school spirit. As far as I'm concerned, that school was the worst.NOT ROCCOMEND THIS SCHOOL.would have gave 0 stars.


Posted June 6, 2013

My school is a wonderful school to go to all of the teachers care and want you to do your best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2012

I have experienced nothing but positive things from Sierra Vista. My son has attended the last 4 years and he is graduating. High School is a bit different in that your child definitely learns independence and the teachers are teaching that here. The staff has been great and we have enjoyed our time with the Band program. The honors and accelerated courses are great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

Well said, I am a southern parent--etiquette and education are instilled from birth...unfortunately Clark County has been nothing but one disappointment after another with my 2 school age children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

Coming from out of state, I was truly expecting more from the "5th largest district in the US." I find it deplorable that students only have to pass one semester of classes in middle school in order to attend high school in Clark County. Sierra Vista is not a terrible school, but I have never taught (in 16 years) such immature students. The school has a no tolerance policy for cellphones, iPods, etc, but trying to enforce the policy is much easier said than done. Class size plays a large roll in the problems in Clark County. I spend more time on discipline than education in my classes due mostly to the disrespect and immaturity of students. I believe that most teachers and staff truly care about their students and have a passion for teaching, but the educational environment is not conducive to true learning. I absolutely love teaching and my students, but teaching at Sierra Vista is exhausting and disheartening. With the budget cuts and layoffs these problems will only get worse. Regardless, I get up each morning eager to teach and share knowledge with my students. A big problem with SVHS is the rampant drug problems plaguing the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2011

Terrible experience trying to transfer my daughter from the Northshore school district. Only 2 months till graduation and they will not let her graduate and walk with the senior class due to curriculum incompatibility. Sierra Vista wanted her to take World History and PE over the summer and charge us for it. They even suggested we send her back to her old school. Staff was absolutely inconsiderate in this case. We ended up having to send my daughter back to Seattle to finish her year. Cell phone use is prohibited in class as it should be, but apparently not enforced. Teachers sell snacks to kids prior to class? Not good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I think this is one of the best high schools in vegas, There is minimal violence and they do definately support the zero tolerance policy! The dress code is also strictly enforced therefore we don't have to see boxers or thongs, which is great as a parent!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

i like it i think its a good school a place to make good friends and such.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2008

I think this school is very disorganized and the teachers really need to do their best to explain more to students. Especially when handling geometry or any level of mathematics. Some teachers do, but most of the teachers dont, it is rare that there are teachers who explain anything at all. They need to be more organized. Plus, the school cannot set up any kind of dance. Plus, some staff members smart mouth the students, i think they should try to understand the situation first before they say anything like 'its impossible' if you tell students to do your job, ofcourse its possible that someone is going to mess up, so dont smart mouth us students, if you dont want us to smart mouth you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2008

Yes, this school is clean and everything is updated because 'it is a new school, it only opened up in 2001. As for the staff..... they are so poorly operated. The students are more helpful then the adults in that facility. As for the teachers.... its hard to say. My child hardly gets any school work. Nothing seems organized. High School students in CA are being prepared for College..here its seems like they are still in Primary School. The Faculty needs to step it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

Its a great school. Great teachers in the accelerated programs like honors and ap classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2007

Last year at back to school night, I was one of the 3-5 parents there for each of my daughter's classes. That's pathetic since my daughter's classes had between 35-47 students in each of them. Sierra Vista is a great school, one of the BEST in Vegas! Well run, great counselors, good location, professional and caring faculty, lots of electives, lots of clubs and activities, new facility, clean, new computers... My son graduated '06 and my daughter now attends .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

Moving here from the Eastcoast,I find that Clark County School District is way behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

496 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

485 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female78%
Male80%
Black/African American61%
Asian89%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial90%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander91%
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch74%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiency45%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant79%

Reading

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
Black/African American64%
Asian75%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander91%
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiency20%
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant81%

Science

All Students74%
Female67%
Male81%
Black/African American39%
Asian77%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial79%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander86%
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiency35%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant74%

Writing

All Students82%
Female85%
Male81%
Black/African American63%
Asian78%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial94%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander95%
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch80%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 30% 37%
Hispanic 25% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 6%
Black 14% 10%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-6847

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8100 West Robindale Rd
Las Vegas, NV 89113
Phone: (702) 799-6820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Durango High School
Las Vegas, NV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT