Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eileen Brookman Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 696 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2013

I AM AN ACTIVE BOARD MEMBER OF THE PTA & have been for 3 years. When the post from 2/28 was brought to my attention I never thought it would be that ridiculous & that I would have to be on here defending Brookman. My children have attended school here for 4 years now & I have never had one negative thought about ANYONE here. From day one I have felt at home here. Everyone is family,at Brookman from teachers to parents to Admin & Staff. To the woman who wrote the post: I am pretty sure I have never seen you at a PTA meeting. Have you ever helped at the school at all? Not just in your childs class (I personally avoid that as I think that it is a distraction to the teacher & students) There are so many other things that you can help with & have not or you would not be saying these things. These people that you talk so poorly about, Do you know them? Did you ever try to get to know them? You should be ashamed of yourself. You're setting a HORRIBLE example for your child. Being a "former PTA President" you should know the ins & outs of schools & what each person including the office people endure on a daily basis. I am honored to be part of the Brookman Family & YOU SHOULD BE ALSO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

In regards to the post from February 28, 2013. You should be ashamed of yourself. You are a spoiled woman. When you make a post like you did, you should tell the entire story, not just the details that make you look good. You have talked to many parents about your issues, and so we all know who you are! Coming from Texas and not knowing very many people, I am surprised at your willingness to talk about someone behind their back. You had no idea who I am friends with, and yet you proceeded to tell me all about how horrible this woman was, so I played along and listened to see how far you would go with the story. I am appalled and disagree with almost everything you said! You are power hungry and want revenge because your daughters teacher won't bend the rules of her classroom for you, your husband, OR your daughter. Everyone is treated exactly the same, and you don't like that! I have seen her teacher there at 7:30am and she stays well after 6:00pm, does this sound like someone just wanting a "paycheck?" Kids thrive when they know where the boundaries are, both my kids thought she was a great teacher, and they appreciate her even more now that they are older. You are very bitter!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

I applaud the previous poster AND this teacher for standing up to a parent that obviously needs to be put in her place. It sounds like this mom is living in a fairytale and thinks she is sending her daughter to fantasyland everyday! How does she discipline her "best friend" if she has never had to yell at her?!? I have several kids, and if you don't yell once in a while, you are not parenting!! Just sayin'!! Sounds like mom needs to homeschool since she is so superior over the people that have degrees and spent years teaching, or maybe it's just time to switch to a NEW day care!!


Posted February 28, 2013

Being a former PTA President and moving here from out of state, I've seen the good, bad and the ugly that goes on in the schools. Brookman is not a school that I feel deserves the rating it has earned. The Principal seems to care about the kids and their education. The front office is beyond RUDE and LAZY! Most of the teachers are there because they care about the kids and some are there for a paycheck. My daughters teacher is one of those! My daughter used to love going to school, she would get upset on weekends because she had no school. Now she HATES it and she is only in 2nd grade. She yells at my daughter and other kids in class. Now if I don't yell at my kids neither is her teacher. This is a woman who is suppose to be helping my daughter not hurting her self esteem. Now that I've confronted her she singles out my daughter. So all can do is keep confronting her about her behavior, which is totally out of line from someone who is teaching our children. As being part of PTA in other states I've come across a lot of teachers, and this lady is by far the least favorite I have come across. Be careful when your child is going into 2nd grade, you just might end up with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

best las vegas elementary school. My 3 children went to Brookman since its opened and they loved it. Great teachers, principal and staff. One child is a A honor roll student and one had learning problems and they have a great reading and after school program that had helped her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2010

These other posts are really old so I thought I'd write something newer. I really like Brookman. I feel as though the faculty cares about the students as well as their families. I'm really liking the principle Mrs. Dunlevy. She is on the ball. She gets involved with the students and I'm sure that each one feels as though she knows them personally. She seems to be firm but fair. As for the office staff. I think they are very nice. I agree that they don't smile a lot but I've noticed they are just business minded and so I don't take it personally. The teachers are well rounded and are open to parental involvment which I love. As a parent I appreciate a school that recognizes the important relationship between family and education. It's great when there's balance. All in all, great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

This is my first year attending Eileen Brookman an so far i think its a great school. My only complaint is the front office they have a terrible attitude they never smile. There not friendly at all, the few times that i had to go into the office they made me feel as if i was bothering them. They should be warm and friendly, the atmoshere should be inviting to all students and parents. The Kindergaten teachers are great their very friendly and always have a smile on i give them an A+. Mrs. Dorsey is my daughters teacher and shes wonderful she works hard to keep her students high achieving, very warm and loving to all her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

So far I would have to say this school is average. My sons teacher is great and out going. Most of the PTA members are very warm, but I guess there's always one that spoils it and makes it hard to get involved. I have been told that the Principle does everything by the book, but is not good with dicipline. I have not had a chance to see if this is true, YET! I have also noticed the attitude in the front office aswell. I just smile at them all and say thank you alot. It catches them off guard and they are forced to be nice back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

This school does not discipline everyone equally. They believe whatever certain kids say, and dicipline according to that. There is a lot of unrully kids. The principle cares about the students, however, she is not involved in the disciplinary process. She leaves that to the vice principle which is inconsistent. The front office staff is very stuffy. They favor those they like. They are not friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

The principal here fondly cares for the students and seems professional. The teachers caring and creative. My daughter has gone here 3 years of schooling here and my biggest problem is the front office staff. My low rating is because of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

My overall experience with this school so far has been pretty good. The teacherd and some of the staff I have come in contact with have been very warm. However there's a certain sense of favoritism that I have witnessed amognst certain staff at the front desk. My first encounter I considered to be a coincidence, until it happened two more times. One of the other incidents didn't involve me, but I did witness the change in attitude of a staff member when she was dealing with myself and the other parent opposed to the third parent who'd came in after us. Once I realized it wasn't just me who noticed it I then saw what was really going on! I am not pleased with this sort of behavior coming from people who work in the school district. What examples are they setting for children? Treat people according to their looks?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

Brookman E.S. has two wonderful kindergarten teachers. They find fun creative ways to teach. Mrs. Root and Mrs. Keck work together so both classes are on the same page. Also, they encourage parent involvement. Our experience so far has been great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2005

This is a great school. Due to special learning needs, my son has requested the opportunity to learn his core classes at home and attend art, PE and gifted classes at Brookman as permitted by the school district. The princpal has been especially helpful with this process, and the teachers are especailly kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

119 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female60%
Male68%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiency42%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant64%

Reading

All Students47%
Female36%
Male56%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch36%
Full price60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Students with limited English proficiency25%
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female66%
Male73%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiency44%
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant70%

Reading

All Students63%
Female59%
Male67%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiency38%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female83%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiency68%
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant78%

Reading

All Students70%
Female78%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch66%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiency45%
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant70%

Science

All Students50%
Female48%
Male52%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Students with limited English proficiency16%
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 39%
White 27% 39%
Asian 7% 6%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Black 5% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6225 East Washington Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89110
Phone: (702) 799-7250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT