Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roger D Gehring Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2014

Front office staff very pleasant to work with, very attentive and they look hard working. Registration went smooth. On open house the teachers/staff looked happy to be there. Big library full of books! I can tell my child will love and do well in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2014

Roger D Ghering is a nice school. Me personally I like some of the teacher The office staff iskind andwelcoming at least some of them The school lunches are not the healthest things and most kids who have school lunch don't eat it. If I had to rate this school I would give it 4 stars.


Posted April 7, 2014

My son has gone to this school since Kindergarten and it was great till this year!! The new Principle is absolutley horrible and is a micro manager with the teachers. They don't even get to teach the way they want and are dictated to teach her way! They have taken the spelling tests away and cursive writing lessons and give them lessons during the day that they don't give directions to. It is a shame that this school has gone down hill at a dramatic rate and I won't even start on all the bullying going on!!! BE KIND is their motto and the ONLY KIND AND CARING PERSON IN THIS SCHOOL IS KAREN IN THE OFFICE!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

In 2010 I moved from CA to NV and this is the one and only school in Las Vegas that my son has attended so far. He started at Gehring in the 1st grade and is now entering 3rd grade for the 2013/2014 school year. I must say that I absolutely loved my son's 1st grade teacher Ms B. The staff in the office is really nice and helpful, especially Karen. Gehring has a wonderful and very active PTA with lots of exciting events scheduled throughout the school year. Last year's principal Mr. Schroeder and the vice-principal at Gehring, Mrs. Locke made a very good team working side-by-side at making Gehring ES the best it can be with high expectations from Students, Parents, and the PTA. There is lots of school spirit here....Go Geckos!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

This school has done wonders for my daughters education!!! They fought right along the side of my husband and I to get her the help and education she needs to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

This school is excellent! Location is nice and my kids really did excel with their academics! I would definitely recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

I really like the front office staff Karen is great! the assistant principal is also really nice everytime I see her she talks to me! My only concern is the way parents Drive in the front parking lot like it is a race track ... I have reported it so I am really hoping there will be something done about it before a kid gets hurt or killed by these parents careless driving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

I withdraw my kid out after 3 days in school. Stuff is unprofessional, teacher told 7 year old kids " their parent will go to jail if they will be taking during class". NO one showed my little one where is food court she was lost. The principal yell on her not on teacher (who responsible for my kid). Not a good school, will not recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

Great teachers and administration! The teachers really care and are actively involved in helping their students learn and grow. We've had three kids go to Gehring and have been repeatedly impressed with our teachers. The PE department is outstanding! The library is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

when my daughter first went to this school it was rated a 7. It is now a 6 and I know why. My daughter has had horrible teachers. She has been left alone in a classroom for longer than 20 mins without any supervision. Her current teacher will not help her with any assignments and she even threw my daughters project in the trash right in front of her. The principals do absoulutley nothing when you bring your concerns to them. If your love your child please do not send them to this school. Cartwright is rated an 8 and they are right next door.


Posted January 27, 2010

We love the custodians, the office staff, the principal and vice principal. The PE teachers are amazing too!! Go Gehring Gecko's!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I have been a volunteer helping children with reading problems since the school opened 8 years ago. I see how the students are encouraged to excel in all areas of learning,


Posted May 5, 2009

My children are truely happy and enjoying and even look forward to going to school. Mrs. Schultz truely loves what she does and I feel she truely cares about my daughter. She has learned so much this year. Thank you to Mrs. Schultz and the Gehring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

My son went to Gehring from the day it opened in first grade through 5th, excellent school excellent caring teachers and staff A+++ My daughter went k-2 but we are relocating. She will miss her teachers they really made her 3 years there memorable and special. Thank you to a great staff and a lot of very special teachers! We will miss you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

The quality of the staff at Gehring elementary is unappreciated by many. I believe that the teachers and administration here are excellent and do incredible work across the board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

This school should hire more teachers like Mrs. Yazdani. She is very professional,well equipped with knowledge and displays motherly affection and concern to all her students.She focuses on the individual strengths of her students and she is very good in giving positive reinforcements. My son strives hard to maintain his being an A student because of her.She definitely is an asset to Roger Gehring. We are so fortunate that my son is in Mrs. Yazdani's class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

Excellant G.A.T.E. program, increasing opportunities for enrichment classes (arts, drauma, chess, math) started 2004-2005 school year, supportive staff. Traffic improving, several crossing guards available, just need more attentive parents picking up their children, wonderful support and interaction of administrative staff, teachers dynamic and emphasizing each student's strengths and promoting cooperative, non discriminating interaction between students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

Academics- average, extracurricular activities- poor, parent involvement-average Overcrowded, dangerous driving and walking for children. No supervision when child leaving school. Staff extremely young and somewhat unprofessional and inexperienced. Totally disatisfied with the school system here-moved out of state.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female66%
Male60%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch56%
Full price72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant63%

Reading

All Students60%
Female70%
Male50%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch58%
Full price63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch86%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant88%

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male78%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch83%
Full price85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female72%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch61%
Full price85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant71%

Reading

All Students73%
Female76%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian85%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch62%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant73%

Science

All Students64%
Female65%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch57%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 34% 37%
Hispanic 30% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 6%
Two or more races 12% 5%
Black 7% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1155 East Richmar Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89123
Phone: (702) 799-6899

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Imprints Day School
Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT