Advertisement
Advertisement

Omar Haikal Islamic Academy

Private | PK-8 | 157 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2013

This Omar Haikal Islamic Academy is a wonderful School! Our son is finishing up his first year in the academy. He enjoys kindergarten and can already read at a 1st grade level. We are also please and proud that a current seventh grade student has won the Nevada Spelling Bee and is moving on to the National Scripps competition in Washington, D.C. We are so encouraged and inspired by this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

Asalavalekum.. i am intrested to do work in this school.. i think its my honour to work this types of schools.


Posted August 19, 2011

I want to say that the academics of this school are great. Kindergartners learn to read at first grade level, do addition and subtraction in maths and also learn Arabic as a foreign language. They are working hard to maintain their educational value and the safe and nurturing environment they rovide is a plus. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

This is such a great school we have a great surrounding and brought up on a solid foundation. I am so proud to represent my fellow students by serving as student council President.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2009

It is really nice to see such a dedicated staff!


Posted February 22, 2009

I love this school. everyone is so involved with your child from the principal to all the teachers. the environment is safe and academics are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

The Academy gives our children the best of both worlds. The children get religious education and the academics are very strong. The facility is beautiful and state of the art. This school has been a huge asset to the Las Vegas area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

this school is the best all the kids are reallt nice, the teachers are awesome I just love it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 46%
Black 9% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 34%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

485 E Eldorado Ln
Las Vegas, NV 89123
Phone: (702) 614-9002

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Imprints Day School
Las Vegas, NV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT