Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Las Vegas High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 11 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, August 21, 2014

My son and daughter both go to this school and they absolutely love it , and my niece ,who is a freshman is going here as well because she heard how great this school is
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

Las Vegas High School is wonderful! The principal, Debbie Brockett supports all programs. You will often see her sitting on the bleachers with parents cheering the football team on...she also attends fine art functions like the choir concerts. Janet Tyler is the best choir teacher in Vegas as far as we are concerned. She taught three of our children and was their favorite teacher! She has a great impact on her students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

I am a student here and the academic quality of this school sucks. I do like some of the teachers who teach well but the majority of the teachers don't care about the students. The teachers here are like "Oh that kid is sleeping? It's their problem now. or That kid just insulted me...better let him stay here and continue disrupting the class. I am a freshman, but now going to be a sophmore and I can't stress out enough about how your grade will get you bullied. Most of the seniors look down on the lower classman, but I have friends at ECTA who say everyone is treated as if they were the same age. This a sports-oriented school, they use more money for equipment rather than hiring better teachers. The student council is also rigged, since the principal's daughter always gets the title of President, no matter how many people vote for someone different. Like in one of the reviews here, they are biased to the whites. I am probably the only one who cares about my education in most of my classes. I have straight A's all throughout freshman year. The classes are easy, and we don't have to take semester exams if we have good grades. I wish we did because I need to study for something!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

Las Vegas has a variety of opportunities and te faculty and staff create a very welcome enviroment


Posted April 8, 2009

As an alumni from Las Vegas High School, I can merit the tremendous amount of effort, energy and intellect that the school is a part of. There is no dout that the 'Great Schools Rating' is based off of test results. However, we do need to take into account the enrollment of students. There are many latins, non-english speakers, who unfortunately, despite their admiring efforts, will have low test scores. This is not taken into account in the 'Great Schools' rating. Nonetheless, the actual fact is that Las Vegas High School has been, and is still considered by the community, and the District, a superior secondary education option. My suggestion that anyone concerned or interested in the actual status of this school, get aquainted with the faculty and staff. Its beyond a doubt that there you will find what Las Vegas High School is truly about. Spirit, Effort, and Excellence


Posted November 16, 2008

Las Vegas High School is a pretty good school. There's a large amount of school spirit, and for the most part students there tend to be friendly (albeit there are cliques like in most other schools). Teachers are usually helpful and do the best to assist kids. The counselors are especially good at making sure each student gets the attention they need. The sports and extracurricular programs are pretty wonderful as well. As a senior this year, I've really enjoyed my time at LVHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2008

This school has so much potential in it for these kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

i love this school!! i am a senior this year and they worked with me to hekp me get the shortest schedule possible so i can be homw with my son and provide for him!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2008

i am a student at this school and this is a great school it has many opportunities for those who are foreign students and i've notice that the students here have the school spirit they we make this school be a great place by enjoying it and make it be the best school in las vegas
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2008

I am a student and I know first hand of what goes down there. The staff do not care about the black students. They attend to the white students but when a black student needs desperate help in a situation they say they are quote 'busy!'. Las Vegas High is the worst school. 4 years I have been bullied and justice was never served.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2007

Las Vegas High School is an excellent school. From the awesome principal and administration to the great extra-curricular activities, Las Vegas High is a great place to attend. Our kids have loved it! The band program is tops along with sports!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

Las Vegas High School is one of the best in the district. They have an administration that displays incredible leadership, teachers that are knowledgeable and caring, and a staff that is friendly and helpful. The wildcat school spirit is infectious and celebrated by the whole community as they support the many award-winning extra-curricular activities. I would highly recommend Las Vegas High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

Las Vegas High School provided my four children with a well-rounded education. The teachers, counselors, and administrators really care about the students. Their Advanced Placement teachers are top notch. LVHS has outstanding sports teams often taking State titles in Football, Boys and Girls Volleyball, and Wrestling. Their music and theater programs are some of the best in the city. Their Jazz band has taken top honors in several regional competitions over the past two or three years. It isn't a perfect school, but the opportunities for students to be successful are readily available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

Las Vegas highschool is a kurupt school the principal care more about her office workers than the students that attend Las Vegas high.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted February 23, 2004

Las Vegas High School is not Las Vegas Academy which is a grammy award winning and Blue Ribbon magnet high school located in Las Vegas. Yes, the address is 315 So. 3rd, LV for the LVA, but Las Vegas High School is a different high school and is not the Academy. LVA is tops in the nation. Las Vegas High School, located at a different address now, is not the high caliber that LVA is. The historic building LVA occupies was once Las Vegas High School, prior to 1992, when the Academy opened with fewer than 1500 students. LVA is the top of the top schools in the nation, offering the best education anywhere that prepares our future leaders of the world with the tools necessary to exceed all expectations. (From a parent of a former LVA grad)


Posted August 19, 2003

The teachers act as if they really care about the students. The school is new and the classrooms are very nice. Overall we are very happy with this school. The only problem we have is the bussing into our area from other areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

668 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

672 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

666 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

670 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female80%
Male86%
Black/African American63%
Asian95%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch81%
Full price85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)52%
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiency59%
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant83%

Reading

All Students76%
Female79%
Male74%
Black/African American71%
Asian80%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch74%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiency25%
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant76%

Science

All Students78%
Female73%
Male83%
Black/African American62%
Asian83%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial94%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiency36%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant78%

Writing

All Students79%
Female85%
Male74%
Black/African American74%
Asian83%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial82%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch77%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities83%
Students with limited English proficiency29%
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 40%
White 16% 37%
Black 9% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-0192

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 East Sahara Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89142
Phone: (702) 799-0180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oasis Baptist Church
Las Vegas, NV


Eldorado High School
Las Vegas, NV


Chaparral High School
Las Vegas, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT