Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Word Of Life Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 252 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2009

The preschool is GREAT! The teacher's are fun, loving, Christian, and very dedicated. The students are always happy and they learn the ABEKA curriculumn and is a very advanced curriculmn. The 3 year olds are in well advanced some are even in a Kindergarten level and the four year olds are reading, doing simple addition!! If you have a 3 or 4 year old child go to WLCA Preschool. your child will be loved, and will learn a lot!!


Posted March 18, 2009

This School Is a great place for your child if they love to be challenged. I admit that some things at the school need to be fixed,but at the same time,I understand the school is very young and it will take some time to make things perfect. I attended this school for fifth grade, sixth grade, eighth grade, and tenth grade so I know what I'm talking about! There have been good times and hard times, there have been times when I hated attending and times when I absolutely loved going. The curriculum is pretty tough, but the teachers who work there can help your child succeed. The Bible is always taught and practiced on the daily-that was what I enjoyed the most in my years attending- so this is the school for you if you want your child to be taught Godly principles. Great school I recommend it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2009

My friend goes to the high school and he alway talks about how much fun he has. I would also like to attend.


Posted February 17, 2009

Excellent school with small class sizes. Bible study is emphasized. They have a great new science teacher this year. And it's not as pricey as some of the others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

I am very pleased with WLCA my son has learned so much this year and he is very challenged,, I do wish they had better play ground equipment and pick up and drop off is a little crazy in the mornings..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

very disappointe school !!! no challenging , no chance to get student developing...a lot of children left now....poor school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

this is the worst school please do me a favor and do not send your kid there if u dont want them to go home crying! all the kids there spread rumors about each other i mean which school doesnt but with a middle school plus high school is just 50 kids u have no social life! a high schoolers cant play any sports all they do is class and leave nothing for them. and if some one tells a lie about your kid the principle and vp will have a meeting with them and ur kid will just get in trouble because the will take the other kids word and ur child will have no say so just do ur child a favor and let them have a social life send them to a better school with things to do. please
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2008

My children have been attending WLCA since kindergarten and by the 2nd grade they were already writing in cursive and I've noticed WLCA is atleast 2 years or more ahead of public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

What a loving and caring environment! The students are the #1 priority at WLCA. The curriculum challenges my child to do over and above. The teachers and staff are like family and welcomes new families, without fail. I must mention that the school campus is very, very clean. We are excited for another school year at WLCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

Nice Schoool.:] my kids loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

My oldest son just completed Kindergarten. At the end of this year he can read, do basic fractions, and tell time, and count money. Excellent job with challenging him. The teachers were loving, the cirriculum was challenging, and the school atmosphere and staff were excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

Somewhat disappointed this year with middle school program. My child hates going to school and is looking forward to the very last day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

Ended up pulling my child. I agree with other poster, middle school set up is not good. One teacher for two grades? Son was failing even though he'd always gotten A's & B's elsewhere. He's back to getting good grades again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My children have attended Word of Life for the past 3 years, and we love it here! The principal is so loving and fun, and the teachers show a genuine love and concern for the students. The environment is nurturing and the curriculum is challenging. I know my children are getting an excellent education in an environment which reflects my own views and convictions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

The school is now Pre-K thru 12 now. Very disappointed with the school this year. Elementary school was excellent, but Junior High so far has been a disaster. Teacher seems overwhelmed and students seem very confused. Teacher turn around is very high. No lunch program and limited extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

My daughter has never been so happy to go somewhere and she is only 3... Most kids love going anywhere period.. Well she looks forward to going to school everyday and on the weekends she still wants to go... So as a parent what more can I say I love it... Thanks again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

Alot of Teachers leave. Tremendous costs for every little item. Lunch program is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

My twins are in kindergarten with Ms. Foster and she has done an excellent job teaching my girls how to read, add/subtract, phonics, etc.. I am really impressed with my girls' achievements and I have nothing but kudos for my kids, Ms. Foster and WLCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 10%
White 35% 37%
Hispanic 11% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3520 North Buffalo Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89129
Phone: (702) 645-1180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT