Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mt Olive Luteran School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
My son attended Mount Olive from 1st -8th grade after graduation we let him attend public high school where he was picked to atted 3 trade schools but chose the MC JR ROTC program at Basic High School. After meeting with the registrer and reviewing is grades and all of his test scores from Mount Olive he start his Freshman year with 1 spanish credit, 1 computer and 1 algbra credit. So on his first day as a Freshman he already had 3 credits because of the great education he had received at Mount Olive with nice small classroom (teacher to pupil ratio). I know we not only helped our son get a great start on his educational life but is spiritual life as well. We have been told by every teacher at the public school what a well mannered and caring young man he is. My husband and I are very greatful the teachers and education our son received for those 8 years.

Mt Olive Luteran School 5

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
We have two children at Mt. Olive Lutheran School and love it! One of this school's strengths is its literacy program. The curriculum director has a master's degree and has established a strong curriculum. When you think about it, literacy is the foundation of learning. Beyond strong academics, the school has a safe and nurturing environment and helps parents to instill a values-based and faith-based foundation. It is a small school, which is a strength. Our children get focused attention in a small class size. Parents are connected with the teachers. My wife and I see our children's teachers every day when we pick them up from school. It gives us an opportunity to discuss how they are doing. The teachers and principal are well educated, talented, and dedicated.


Mt Olive Luteran School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
Mt. Olive is a great school. The staff is friendly and caring. It is a very small school, so everyone knows each other. Everyone gets a chance to shine. It is a safe environment. You can make a difference if you are a parent that likes to volunteer. The curriculum director is very knowledgable. I have a gifted child who has excelled there. Both my kids have loved it.

Mt Olive Luteran School 4

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Great school. My two sons are enrolled and both love it. The teaching staff is there for a long time, which supports consistency. The teachers are very much involved with the students and class sizes are usually less than 16, which guarantees attention to each student. School also offers Volleyball and Basketball. Another benefit are the low tuition rates compared with other private schools and the discounted rate for multiple children. My kids love it and they are safe.

Mt Olive Luteran School 0
no rating

Posted July 06, 2009
- a parent
My child has attended Mt. Olive Lutheran School for six years! We have had positive experiences with all its teachers and staff members. Teaching christian values are priceless and provides a strong foundation rooted in the Word of God, and all the staff here have been great role models! Mt. Olive students have scored consistently well in academic testings and the teachers work hard to ensure their students are performing at or above their potential. By having small classroom sizes at Mt. Olive, it is afforded the luxury of making sure students are getting the personal attention necessary to perform at or above academic standards. We would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a quality christian education.


Mt Olive Luteran School 5

Posted July 06, 2009
- a parent
Mt. Olive is an excellent school. I have two children. One was there from 1st through 8th grade, the other is still there. They love this school. The students hear the word of God every day, their teachers are well-educated (all have at least a degree in education), they have a safe environment to learn in, and they have the opportunity to make wonderful friendships. The small size is beneficial in many ways. If your child wants to play a sport, he/she is on the team. In the annual musical, everyone can have a part. All the teachers know all the students, so any problems can be taken care of immediately. The multi-level classrooms are a plus, because they do cater to your child's abilities. If he/she is in 4th grade, but capable of doing 5th grade math, the student can be moved up quite easily. It's a great school!

Mt Olive Luteran School 5

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
The last review is now out of date. Our principal has been here for a year now and has been very easy to work with. The staff is all very easy to work with. Class sizes are small. Multigrade classrooms mean that students don't get a new teacher every year and can really get to know them, as well as teachers knowing from the beginning of the year where they are academically. Also have to disagree with the previous reviewer about the lack of academic excellence. There are plenty of good things to say, not to mention that it has one of the lowest tuition rates in Las Vegas.

Mt Olive Luteran School 5

Posted February 17, 2008
- a parent
Good Christian education with excellent prices.


Mt Olive Luteran School 4

Posted June 20, 2007
- a parent
Pros and Cons: The school has the small class size that my kids need. There has been a lack of principal on and off which has made consistent discipline a problem in the older children's classroom in my opinion. Multigrade classes don't always work though, the teachers have kids in different grades all in the same room. This leaves some kids unable to ask questions or get assignment help because the teachers are busy teaching another grade a different assignment. The teachers and pastor are easy to contact with any concerns. Not a curriculum for academic excellence, but a wonderful Christian environment with emphasis on morality and responsibility. Not a school for the sports enthusiast, they only have basketball and volleyball. Also, some parents never help out or are rarely seen. This causes the same folks to do all the 'extras' around the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mt Olive Luteran School
3975 South Sandhill Road, Las Vegas, NV  89121
(702) 885-9760
Last modified Mt Olive Luteran School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Mt Olive Luteran School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top