Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ralph Cadwallader Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1511 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2014

I just started attending Cadwallader this year as an 8th grader, and I already love it here. Yes, there are some faults (which are completely understandable, they just irk me a bit) including not being able to wear sweaters in class, even if its cold, and the entire "uniform" thing. I understand that without it, there would be unnecessary bullying, although wherever you go, there's going to be bullying. Some of the factors of the uniform are really unnecessary as well, like how the jeans can't even be slightly faded. Moving on from the attire, the staff at Cadwallader is top notch. For you soon to be 8th graders, know that you're lucky if you get Mr.Mesenburg and/or Mr.Farmintino as teachers, because they're wonderful, funny, caring teachers. I know I'm receiving excellent education, and the work they give out isn't mind-bogglingly difficult, its challenging, which is perfect. There are advanced classes as well. The teachers are very involved and care about their students' education. I'm in choir, and even Ms.Ricci, the choir instructor is doing her job right. So, on a final note, if you're thinking about joining CMS, do it asap, because its one of the best schools you'll go to.


Posted August 1, 2014

My daughter will be attending Cadwallader this year. We moved across town, so here's hoping it's a good school. I'd like to know when the school opens for new registration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2014

My daughters are new to this school i heard it is a very good school i was wondering when is open house!!??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

Come on people! This school, as any other, is what you make it. The negative comments posted here are attributable to parents and students that could not get their way or were not prepared to deal with life's challenges. It takes a village to raise a child and some if the parents refuse to take responsibility for their portion of raising THEIR child. Step up parents and students. The staff and administration care about your kids. Ms. Martinez is wonderful as is the rest of the administration. So many of the teachers are willing to stay and help students, we've not had any concerns with getting help. Now the CCSD presents many road blocks and the NV department of education is ridiculous. Yet with all those potential road blocks, the staff does a great job. The Cadwallader Band is a shining example of what is right with Cadwallader. All those kids in the band do great things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

My son has attended Cadwallader for the past 3 years (he's finishing up his 8th grade year now). Education is what you make of it, and I feel that my son has succeeded at this school because of the excellent teachers he's had over the years. Everyone in the office is also extremely helpful from the student aides you see at the front desk, to the registrar (who is an absolute pleasure to talk to). My son has received a great education here, and has been accepted to Advanced Technology Academy (computer science) for the 2014-15 school year and I feel it's due impart to his experience here at Cadwallader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

Cadwallader Middle School's social promotions for students who don't pass sells our children short. No help or communication with parents regarding missed assignments, poor test scores doesn't help parents to be engaged easily with their children. The online grade / assignemt sight is often not updated correctly and is clunky to use. The lack of parents feeling welcome is unacceptable. I understand the need for security and safety but when it makes you not feel welcome as a parent then you can't build a community around the school. I am moving out of this school dristict to a much better one before it is too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

Cadwallader is the best, there's no other school as awesome as Cad. I was went to Cad for all three years of my middle school year. the teachers are awesome, even the coach of the boys basketball team was my english teacher for eighth grade. i will miss him dearly.


Posted May 14, 2013

This school is an example of what is wrong with the Clark County school district. My son has attended this school for his 6th grade year and out of 6 of his teachers I can say only ONE of those teachers made any real effort to push him and encourage success. When he was struggling one class in particular, he went to his teacher to ask what he could do to improve, and her response was so negative. Teachers here seem to be bothered by questions asked with regards to class topics or classwork, they do not spend any extra time with the students, and a parent teacher conference consists of ALL teachers not just the one teacher that any issues need to be addressed with. When a district survey is given the teachers will hover over the students shoulders and if any negative comments are written will advise the students to remove. This is a complete disgrace, why ask a student for their opinion if a teacher is going to censor their opinion? Furthermore, why are the students not confidential and linked to their school id's? Clark County School District will continue to be a horrible district and placed in last place nationally if they continue on this path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

My son attends this school and he HATES it!! We just recently moved here from California and my so has always been a good student. He was on the honor roll every year. Once he started attending this school his grates have gone down hill. I have reached out to several of the teachers for support and I was told that they have no extra time to help my son. They cant come in early, stay late or give out any extra credit. I would not recommend this school to ANYONE!! I must say that I now see why CCSD ranks near the bottom in the U.S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2012

I, a student at Cadwallader, believe that this is not the best school. Most of the teachers/staff are rude and don't do anything to help you, you get in trouble for very minuscule things (like leaving even a little piece of trash at the lunch tables on accident gets you a dean's detention), and the dress code is terrible. I've been dress coded 2 times for wearing my jacket in between classes, which they TOLD us you're allowed to do, and you're not even allowed to wear scarfs. I don't think they realize how cold it is outside. I could go on, but I will end my rant there. Thank you.


Posted October 18, 2012

As long as you do not have English in 8th you will do great The kids all know that there is 1 teacher who makes you watch adult films in class lol


Posted October 2, 2012

In looking at this school, you must seriously disregard the reviews of the parents who weren't able to bully the administration into excusing their children's poor behavior. It is much easier to attack those who hold children to a standard of acceptable behavior than to face the fact that one's child is capable of poor choices and deserves the consequences of those choices. Luckily, Cadwallader is full of great kids with parents who care and are raising their children to respect themselves, peers, adults, and rules. The teachers DO care and show it on a daily basis. Administrators base their decisions on what is best for kids and strive to bring the best out in their teachers and students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 14, 2012

Cadwallader has failed to meet even the minimum AYP standards for four consecutive years. The parents are not involved which heavily contributes to these isues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. It is convient for me to ride my bike. The park can also make a good homework/study place.


Posted April 25, 2012

I was a student here in 2009-2010, It it was horrible! I always got bullied, the teachers were no help, and I always failed. The teachers just yelled at me and gave me really tough work and did not help me. If you got a young teen abot to go in middle school, I do not recommend this school, try somewhere else li


Posted April 22, 2012

At this time I would recommend that you try to get your student into a different school. Although it is my understanding that the current principal is leaving at the end of this school year 2012. This school has become a "punish the many for the sins of the few" type of school. Role models in the form of upper administration is a joke. The teachers do as well as they can, at least the permanent teachers. They can only do so much when being stifled by supervisors. This school also has a serious problem with rotating substitute teachers and long time subs that may or may not know the subject matter. If I could rate 1/2 a star I would, I believe a full star is too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

My child HATES this school and doesn't want to go back. i also have a younger child that should be attending this school THAT WILL NOT HAPPEN. I will not put this child through the same stuff as the older child. This school is a JOKE long term subs in classes REALLY lets get a teacher to teach this class. NOT A LONG TERM SUB. when you voice your concerns its turned around to your child isnt doing thier part. yup this school needs to have an overhaul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

This is a great school!!!!They teach all of their students to have the utmost respect to teachers, adult, and others.They howl for knowledge and get back success!!:)


Posted November 10, 2010

I regret the day Clark County changed the school zone and my children were asssigned to this school. The upper staff is absoultely terrible. I Will never forget when the principal told me that it was up to my daughter to make it right with the Dean after all she was the only Dean! WHICH BLEW ME AWAY!This was after i told her my child feared the Dean and called me crying from school and begging me not to say anything, my child was affraid to tell me how unfair The Ms. L treated her and what would come if i addressed it. As a leader her solution was unprofessional and not comforting knowing she was the voice that paved the way at her school> Ive instilled values in my child to always have a voice with respect . There are several parents who in fact agree>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

i would never send my kids to this school its not a safe place to have your kids i have a daughter that goes there and we had serious problems with this school do some research before sending kids here don't make the mistake i did by not doing research ..
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

504 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

503 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

502 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

502 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

500 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

498 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female67%
Male65%
Black/African American37%
Asian69%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial50%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities69%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant66%

Reading

All Students75%
Female80%
Male70%
Black/African American57%
Asian76%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial62%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full price83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female68%
Male58%
Black/African American44%
Asian72%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial56%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian69%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant62%

Reading

All Students71%
Female81%
Male62%
Black/African American49%
Asian84%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial71%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)26%
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female57%
Male46%
Black/African American33%
Asian73%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial46%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian59%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch35%
Full price58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities56%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant52%

Reading

All Students55%
Female65%
Male45%
Black/African American38%
Asian68%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial46%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian62%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch43%
Full price60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities59%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Not migrant55%

Science

All Students64%
Female65%
Male64%
Black/African American44%
Asian64%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial62%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full price71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities69%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 37%
Hispanic 18% 40%
Black 9% 10%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7775 Elkhorn Rd
Las Vegas, NV 89131
Phone: (702) 799-6692

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT