Advertisement
Advertisement

Cornerstone Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 531 students

Academic Excellence In a Christian Environment

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2011

Frustrating and unpleasant experiences with leadership especially the Dean. Took us a while to repair self esteem for both my children who attended from 6th through 7th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

My son is in preschool this year, and will be attending Kindergarten next year at Cornerstone. We are very impressed with his teachers. They work one on with each child at their level. He has already started the kindergarten curriculum since they noticed he was advanced. They are caring, loving people as well. The school is a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Excellent school in Las Vegas. My children have progressed successfully through the school. The curriculum is Christian based and thought provoking. Quality education and Christian Morals, this is an excellent combination.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

Great Christian Preschool at a great price-- come for the price, stay for the experience! Loving, dedicated and well-directed staff make this preschool like none other (and I had tried a few!!). The Academy experience has been great as well for our Kindergartener! Looking forward to more years at Cornerstone Christian Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

My children attended Cornerstone for a number of years but ultimately left and are happier elsewhere. The school seems to push a message of superiority over other religions. The students also appear to be ahead of other schools but unfortunately are being 'pushed' academically so quickly that they aren't mastering everything they should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

My daughter started Kindergarden there and I can say I am very impressed so far with the teachers and Principal. The parents can be very hands on and the curriculum is challenging enough. What I like about the school also is the discipline and guidance the kids receive. I would highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

This school is amazing. The kids get a great education. They also learn how to respect themselves and others through God. What more could you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

Two of our children attended CCF. It was a wonderful experience for our whole family. The teachers are excellent and they provided a wonderful balance with academics and spiritual ethics. They hold chapel every week and their worship pastor is outstanding. They just finished a new facility edition and the kitchen/gymnasium is outstanding. I highly recommend CornerStone if you are looking for academic excellence in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

My two daughters have been going to this school for the past 4 years. They are academically advanced compared to most other schools in Las Vegas. The teachers are wonderful and caring. Parents are encourged to be hands-on and are welcome at anytime. I would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

I have 2 children at this school and both my kids are soing great. they love the lord, they love to learn and respect their peers. The school feels like a small town in a big city, parents are involved. The kids learn at a higher level in math and language arts. It does lack the specials and the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

My son attended this school for the last year. I have found the school to be OK. Fairly good with discipline but the academics part is slow compared to his last school. Teacher parent communication/feed back not great. Better private schools in LV.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

My eldest son attended this school from grade K-3. This school has taught my son so much! Parent participation is at the core. My son has a sound academic foundation, as well as discipline and great study habits! He is ahead academically compared to most children his age.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 46%
Asian 14% N/A
Hispanic 9% 34%
Two or more races 9% N/A
Black 5% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • James E. Whiddon, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (702) 507-0699

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
582
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
700

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Faith Lutheran High School
Biship Gorman High School
CCSD Charter Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5825 W Eldora Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89146
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 939-5050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Las Vegas Day School
Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT