Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 531 students

Academic Excellence In a Christian Environment

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, August 16, 2014

We are currently enrolled in first grade. Last year kindergarten was okay. Academily, these kids were superior, but just like the others said they were very pushed on reading and spelling test. Now, this year we were very upset with their class size! They only have two classes for first grade. They use to have three last year. Each of the class has 25 kids!! A way too overcrowded!! Even with tuition raising every year, this school still trying to squze as much kids in one class as possible. I was regret to send our kids to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

The preschool is fantastic. The elementary and middle schools are not. Both the elementary and middle schools do not follow the State of Nevada standards. They teach below the grade level requirements, but tell the parents otherwise. If you are choosing a school based on academics, this not the school for your children. Too many students leave this school below grade level. There is a lack of leadership, lack of quality curriculum and lack of monitoring of teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

We are the parents of an 8th grade student and could not be happier with everything Cornerstone has provided our daughter. Cornerstone teaches the "whole child"; providing a strong, solid education; a caring, loving environment, and good Christian values. We have had maybe 2 or 3 minor issues come up in the 6 years our daughter has attended Cornerstone, each time they were addressed with her best interests in mind. Throughout the years our daughter has participated on the sports teams and cheerleading - these activities have helped to build her character and confidence. I read comments from others about rising tuition, the dean, and the administration... what I can say is as parents we make sacrifices everyday so our daughter can flourish, the dean's high standards are not out-of-line - not a day goes by when Cornerstone students don't meet and exceed her expectations; the administration is outstanding, they have a great rapport with their students, and the Principal is an outstanding leader. Our only disappointment is that Cornerstone does not go thru to high school, we will have to find another school to trust with our daughter. It has been a great ride! We will miss Cornerstone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

PK-4 is outstanding! Wonderful teachers, strong academics, AR reading program and best of all... each day starts with a uplifting song and a loving prayer. This school teaches far more than most, your child will learn compassion, values, and how to be a person of character. What a bonus! Small school with a HUGE HEART
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

We have 3 kids at CornerStone and have had experience with preschool through middle school. CornerStone has been fantastic on all levels. The teachers and staff are really care, the education is excellent, and the community of parents is amazing. CornerStone is not a school, it's a family. So if your looking for a place to belong, make friendships and have your children flourish in a Christian environment, then this is the place for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

CornerStone Christian Academy This is a great school. The academics are exceptional and there are also a lot of after school activities, from sports to performing arts. The teachers and staff are warm and caring and have the best interest of my children at heart. There are enough students there to allow for many friendships yet it has a family feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Cornerstone is truly one of the best kept secrets in Southern Nevada. With top notch NAEYC accreditation, the pinnacle of distinctions bestowed on only the best preschools, a deeply caring staff, creative and interactive programming, and a beautiful campus, we could not ask for more. CCA is one of, if not the best preschool in the Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Cornerstone has adequate academics, but not as good as they used to be. Stellar academics used to be the primary reason we chose CCA for our kids. Now reading is pushed earlier and earlier, to the detriment of other subjects. We live in the neighborhood and found our neighbors' children were at exactly the same level our kids are in the same grades, even attending public school. I do like having bible teachings and weekly chapel, but I can do that on my own and save $2280 a month by sending my kids to the neighborhood school instead. We will not be returning next year. The cost keeps going up but the service keeps going down. They continually require more and more materials be brought from home, which should be provided via the high cost of tuition. And the constant fund-raisers and requests for additional funds for various activities has just become ridiculous. Again comparing it to the neighborhood school, that school doesn't ask for as much 'giving' as CCA does, even though it already costs a tremendous amount to attend. ** Also, investigate teachers' credentials - it has recently come to light that some don't have degrees or teaching credentials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

CCA used to be a great school. It appears that ego has been it's primary source of downfall. The administration is either unapproachable or speaks down to both parents and staff. Their attitude is certainly not Christian like, which used to be our primary reason for attending here. The academics are satisfactory, but the class sizes have become so large that even that is sliding. They push reading early, but then slack off on it by 2nd grade. Math doesn't seem to be a priority. They expect a tremendous amount of volunteerism from families, but then are unappreciative and judgemental about the efforts made. Yet keep expecting more and more. 2 years ago I would have (and did) give CCA 5 stars. But they have become much too full of themselves now and we have found a much better place for quality education in a Christian atmosphere. If nothing else, the class sizes (especially in the lower grades) have grown so large that there would be no reason to pay tuition to attend here when they are the same size as the neighborhood public schools. It's been sad to see CCA's fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

I just want to add a point to those who are concerned about teacher- student ratio at this school. I am a parent n my son attended 2 & a half year in preschool and he is in kindergarten class now. Someone mentioned that it's over crowded in kindergarten classes but did u notice that each class has its own T.A.? So if there are 24 kids with 2 teachers, its ratio becomes 12 kids per 1 teacher. There are also other T.A.s in each grade level as well. We can't find this kind of service for the tuition price we are paying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

We KNOW Cornerstone Pre Tykes school is the very best education, love, teaching and caring environment our children could have. I have put three of my children through the Pre School from 3ys old on into the Academy. They were so well prepared for the Kinder classes and they run out of the car everyday to get into school. Walking down the hallways they run to get a hug from Ms. Debbie who always squats down to their level and give them love and a hug. Its FAMILY in this school. No one is ever left out of love and understanding. Just this year due to the long hours given freely by Ms. Debbie and her staff of wonderful dedicated teachers Cornerstone Pre K became the FIRST CHRISTIAN PRE-SCHOOL in the state of Nevada to achieve the NAEYC Accreditation, The highest possible honor in Nevada. Just walking down the halls every staff member says Hi, or Can I help you? from the janitorial staff to the office staff. Everyone treats you like family. This environment for children starting out for the first time away from parents is crucial and love and hugs abound here. God leads every life there. CorneStone is where you should consider sending your angels. It ROCKS with love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

We ABSOLUTELY love Cornerstone! This is the 4th year we have had our 3 children enrolled and I simply cannot say enough about the supreme quality of the principal, director, staff, educators, and curriculum. Much is expected but much is also given. We have found the children rise to meet the levels of expectations placed on them and delight in their successes. Cornerstone is a solid choice for preschool through 8th grade and a rare find indeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

We love this school! Our child has been here since 1st grade and will be here all the way through till High School. It is a safe, secure and very teacher/parent involved partnership in making sure our children get the best education we can possibly get to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

Teachers and Director of preschool seem to not want to help or teach a child that does not fit into their "mold". Continually wanted to have meetings to find out what we as parents had to suggest on how to manage / teach our child. Isn't that what we are paying tuition for? Severe entitlement and superiority complex, teachers and directors do not appreciate a parent who is willing to help but also expects them to do their job and what they are being paid to do. Continually wanted to send my child to the public school for "help" while we were still paying tuition. Then when we withdrew our child from the school, acted completely shocked and concerned as apparently it was going to hurt their bottom line. Unless your child is a catatonic robot, they won't fit in at this school and would be better off elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

Pros: -The children attending this school are generally well-behaved, polite and nice. -Emphasis on Christian principals. -Teaches children personal responsibility. -Parental involvement is encouraged. Cons: -If this were a free public school, it would get more stars. -Large class sizes, especially in the lower grades. Public schools in the neighborhood have smaller class sizes. -Engage in fee increases every year, while making cuts elsewhere. -Too much emphasis on reading and spelling to the detriment of math. -The curriculum seems disjointed and illogical. It makes learning a struggle when it does not have to be. The curriculum introduces advanced concepts (like exceptions to rules) concurrently with the basic rules. As a result, the students have difficulty mastering any of the concepts. -There is so much homework, that the parents are essentially homeschooling. Yet, this education is not free, so this should not be the case. -Some of the teachers and adminstrators tend to have an attitude of superiority, as if they are beyond reproach because they are "educatiors". -Some of the teachers and administrators have "entitlement" attitude and take the parents for granted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

I am very pleased with CCA. I have had my two boys in the school for 3 years. We are returning next year. The education is excellent and the staff is wonderful!!! We also have been attending the church for 2+yrs and LOVE IT! CornerStone offers so many family activities, giving the small town feeling to a Vegas life style because you are around the same people every day. You know who your children are with which makes me feel more comfortable and confident in my decision to attend CornerStone Academy & Fellowship. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

My daughter has been at CornerStone for 4 years, and will be returning for the 2012/2013 school year as an 8th grader. Coming from public school, she struggled a bit but eventually caught up thanks to great teachers. Love the teacher to student ratio, the personalized attention each student receives, fantastic administrators, and staff. Easy for parents and grandparents to get involved. Principal, Dean and teachers ALWAYS make time to hear parent concerns and are very fair. High expectations, strict dress code, little tolerance for poor behavior, which I greatly appreciate. Warms my heart to see the children singing and doing hand motions in chapel. Growing and well respected sports programs (and coaches!), new performing arts program AND the Principal knows every child's name! Really!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

TOP QUALITY SCHOOL AND EDUCATION. Cornerstone Academy is a diamond in the rough with excellent teachers and facilities. Some of the many advantages are the Christian influence, low student-teacher ratio, sports programs and lots of elective programs such as Spanish, computers, art and many others. Don't judge a school by the price of tuition, you more than get your money's worth at Cornerstone. Students are challenged and well prepared for the next grade level. Most of all, students are taught to be respectful and kind to others and good manners are held to a high standard. My daughter is finishing up her third year at CCA (K-2) and I couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

One more thing, I LOVE THE FOOD. I'm in there cooking class and they make food fresh everyday. The chefs are very fun to hang around also. :)


Posted December 6, 2011

I absolutely love this school. Teachers are awesome, the principal is really nice and caring and the office personnel are also very helpful. My six year old has advanced so much both academically and spiritually in the two years he has been attending this school. Best school in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 6%
Hispanic 10% 40%
Black 8% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Two or more races 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • James E. Whiddon, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (702) 507-0699

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
582
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
700

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Faith Lutheran High School
Biship Gorman High School
CCSD Charter Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5825 W Eldora Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89146
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 939-5050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Las Vegas Day School
Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT