Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
Cornerstone Christian Academy is a great school! Our child has attended here for two years and we couldn't be happier. It is a nurturing environment with challenging academics. If you look at the "Common Core Standards" it will tell you what skills the child should have mastered my the end of each grade. At CCA, the students are mastering these skills a year in advance. We are looking forward to both of our children attending here for many years!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 2

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
We are currently enrolled in first grade. Last year kindergarten was okay. Academily, these kids were superior, but just like the others said they were very pushed on reading and spelling test. Now, this year we were very upset with their class size! They only have two classes for first grade. They use to have three last year. Each of the class has 25 kids!! A way too overcrowded!! Even with tuition raising every year, this school still trying to squze as much kids in one class as possible. I was regret to send our kids to this school.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
The preschool is fantastic. The elementary and middle schools are not. Both the elementary and middle schools do not follow the State of Nevada standards. They teach below the grade level requirements, but tell the parents otherwise. If you are choosing a school based on academics, this not the school for your children. Too many students leave this school below grade level. There is a lack of leadership, lack of quality curriculum and lack of monitoring of teachers.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
We are the parents of an 8th grade student and could not be happier with everything Cornerstone has provided our daughter. Cornerstone teaches the "whole child"; providing a strong, solid education; a caring, loving environment, and good Christian values. We have had maybe 2 or 3 minor issues come up in the 6 years our daughter has attended Cornerstone, each time they were addressed with her best interests in mind. Throughout the years our daughter has participated on the sports teams and cheerleading - these activities have helped to build her character and confidence. I read comments from others about rising tuition, the dean, and the administration... what I can say is as parents we make sacrifices everyday so our daughter can flourish, the dean's high standards are not out-of-line - not a day goes by when Cornerstone students don't meet and exceed her expectations; the administration is outstanding, they have a great rapport with their students, and the Principal is an outstanding leader. Our only disappointment is that Cornerstone does not go thru to high school, we will have to find another school to trust with our daughter. It has been a great ride! We will miss Cornerstone!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
PK-4 is outstanding! Wonderful teachers, strong academics, AR reading program and best of all... each day starts with a uplifting song and a loving prayer. This school teaches far more than most, your child will learn compassion, values, and how to be a person of character. What a bonus! Small school with a HUGE HEART


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
We have 3 kids at CornerStone and have had experience with preschool through middle school. CornerStone has been fantastic on all levels. The teachers and staff are really care, the education is excellent, and the community of parents is amazing. CornerStone is not a school, it's a family. So if your looking for a place to belong, make friendships and have your children flourish in a Christian environment, then this is the place for you!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
CornerStone Christian Academy This is a great school. The academics are exceptional and there are also a lot of after school activities, from sports to performing arts. The teachers and staff are warm and caring and have the best interest of my children at heart. There are enough students there to allow for many friendships yet it has a family feel.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
Cornerstone is truly one of the best kept secrets in Southern Nevada. With top notch NAEYC accreditation, the pinnacle of distinctions bestowed on only the best preschools, a deeply caring staff, creative and interactive programming, and a beautiful campus, we could not ask for more. CCA is one of, if not the best preschool in the Valley.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
Cornerstone has adequate academics, but not as good as they used to be. Stellar academics used to be the primary reason we chose CCA for our kids. Now reading is pushed earlier and earlier, to the detriment of other subjects. We live in the neighborhood and found our neighbors' children were at exactly the same level our kids are in the same grades, even attending public school. I do like having bible teachings and weekly chapel, but I can do that on my own and save $2280 a month by sending my kids to the neighborhood school instead. We will not be returning next year. The cost keeps going up but the service keeps going down. They continually require more and more materials be brought from home, which should be provided via the high cost of tuition. And the constant fund-raisers and requests for additional funds for various activities has just become ridiculous. Again comparing it to the neighborhood school, that school doesn't ask for as much 'giving' as CCA does, even though it already costs a tremendous amount to attend. ** Also, investigate teachers' credentials - it has recently come to light that some don't have degrees or teaching credentials.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
CCA used to be a great school. It appears that ego has been it's primary source of downfall. The administration is either unapproachable or speaks down to both parents and staff. Their attitude is certainly not Christian like, which used to be our primary reason for attending here. The academics are satisfactory, but the class sizes have become so large that even that is sliding. They push reading early, but then slack off on it by 2nd grade. Math doesn't seem to be a priority. They expect a tremendous amount of volunteerism from families, but then are unappreciative and judgemental about the efforts made. Yet keep expecting more and more. 2 years ago I would have (and did) give CCA 5 stars. But they have become much too full of themselves now and we have found a much better place for quality education in a Christian atmosphere. If nothing else, the class sizes (especially in the lower grades) have grown so large that there would be no reason to pay tuition to attend here when they are the same size as the neighborhood public schools. It's been sad to see CCA's fall.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cornerstone Christian Academy
5825 W Eldora Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89146
(702) 939-5050
Last modified Cornerstone Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Cornerstone Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top