Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
531 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cornerstone Christian Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
I would like to give kudos to Dr. Raffail. She works tirelessly to provide the students the best possible educational experience.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Cornerstone lies on a quiet sleepy street just off of Sahara and Jones in Las Vegas. It was planned to have my son attend only for about 3 or 4 years. It turned into completing the entire 8 years. This was a wonderful experience and helped prepare for the high school he now attends. I like the small classroom sizes and the easy access to staff. The work was challenging but not unrealistic. They kept you updated with grades on a daily basis through the Renweb application. Renweb was also available on a mobile app which was handy for me. Once in the 7th and 8th grades, Dr. Raffail, the Dean was wonderful in keeping us updated on grades and events. Information was abundant and I did not feel as though I missed much. The culmination of the entire experience there was summed up in the work the staff and students put into the 8th grade class trip and graduation ceremony. These memories will last a lifetime.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a student
It's the best school ever I have been going here since 3 rd grade and I'm currently in 7th and I love it it's amazing.The academics are above grade level and group projects are highly encouraged .They have a great middle school with small class sizes of 20 kids or less. They have hands on projects and they have even started using technology based learning. With iPads for all students grades 6-8. Your student will learn how to use the iPad with all its features. I have no regrets of going here it was the best experience of my life!!!!!!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 3

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in grade K her teacher told me I need to practice her phonic and she seems very caring but until she told me if I need help with my phonic and she asked if I understand what she is saying. I was born in the United States I had learned English before elementary school and I have my college degree. Yes, I understand English if she is speaking English. What was her problem? How rude?

Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
Please, please save your money! Academics are only barely satisfactory. It's nice to have religion, but the staff doesn't live the values they preach. I can't believe they have allowed the classes to grow so large that the kids find themselves lost in the crowd with little to no individual attention. We can get that at a public school, for free! Students are not encouraged to work as teams on any projects nor are they encouraged in "stamp our bullying" type programs. And yes, you will find that bullying is as much a problem here as it is anywhere. Only they won't make the offender leave because that would cost them money. You will find that if you are a member of their church, then pretty much any request you make will be granted, especially if you tithe regularly. But if you are "just" someone that pays tuition for your children, you will be ignored when issues arise - and the WILL arise. I will say that I will continue to have my kids go to the Vacation Bible School each summer as they do an amazing job with that week-long summer program. But as for the school - we will spend our money someplace that acts like they care as much about our children as they do about our tuition checks. Run, Run, Run!


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
Cornerstone Christian Academy is a great school! Our child has attended here for two years and we couldn't be happier. It is a nurturing environment with challenging academics. If you look at the "Common Core Standards" it will tell you what skills the child should have mastered my the end of each grade. At CCA, the students are mastering these skills a year in advance. We are looking forward to both of our children attending here for many years!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 2

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
We are currently enrolled in first grade. Last year kindergarten was okay. Academily, these kids were superior, but just like the others said they were very pushed on reading and spelling test. Now, this year we were very upset with their class size! They only have two classes for first grade. They use to have three last year. Each of the class has 25 kids!! A way too overcrowded!! Even with tuition raising every year, this school still trying to squze as much kids in one class as possible. I was regret to send our kids to this school.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
The preschool is fantastic. The elementary and middle schools are not. Both the elementary and middle schools do not follow the State of Nevada standards. They teach below the grade level requirements, but tell the parents otherwise. If you are choosing a school based on academics, this not the school for your children. Too many students leave this school below grade level. There is a lack of leadership, lack of quality curriculum and lack of monitoring of teachers.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
We are the parents of an 8th grade student and could not be happier with everything Cornerstone has provided our daughter. Cornerstone teaches the "whole child"; providing a strong, solid education; a caring, loving environment, and good Christian values. We have had maybe 2 or 3 minor issues come up in the 6 years our daughter has attended Cornerstone, each time they were addressed with her best interests in mind. Throughout the years our daughter has participated on the sports teams and cheerleading - these activities have helped to build her character and confidence. I read comments from others about rising tuition, the dean, and the administration... what I can say is as parents we make sacrifices everyday so our daughter can flourish, the dean's high standards are not out-of-line - not a day goes by when Cornerstone students don't meet and exceed her expectations; the administration is outstanding, they have a great rapport with their students, and the Principal is an outstanding leader. Our only disappointment is that Cornerstone does not go thru to high school, we will have to find another school to trust with our daughter. It has been a great ride! We will miss Cornerstone!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
PK-4 is outstanding! Wonderful teachers, strong academics, AR reading program and best of all... each day starts with a uplifting song and a loving prayer. This school teaches far more than most, your child will learn compassion, values, and how to be a person of character. What a bonus! Small school with a HUGE HEART

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cornerstone Christian Academy
5825 W Eldora Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89146
(702) 939-5050
Last modified Cornerstone Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Cornerstone Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. Top