Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
Please, please save your money! Academics are only barely satisfactory. It's nice to have religion, but the staff doesn't live the values they preach. I can't believe they have allowed the classes to grow so large that the kids find themselves lost in the crowd with little to no individual attention. We can get that at a public school, for free! Students are not encouraged to work as teams on any projects nor are they encouraged in "stamp our bullying" type programs. And yes, you will find that bullying is as much a problem here as it is anywhere. Only they won't make the offender leave because that would cost them money. You will find that if you are a member of their church, then pretty much any request you make will be granted, especially if you tithe regularly. But if you are "just" someone that pays tuition for your children, you will be ignored when issues arise - and the WILL arise. I will say that I will continue to have my kids go to the Vacation Bible School each summer as they do an amazing job with that week-long summer program. But as for the school - we will spend our money someplace that acts like they care as much about our children as they do about our tuition checks. Run, Run, Run!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
Cornerstone Christian Academy is a great school! Our child has attended here for two years and we couldn't be happier. It is a nurturing environment with challenging academics. If you look at the "Common Core Standards" it will tell you what skills the child should have mastered my the end of each grade. At CCA, the students are mastering these skills a year in advance. We are looking forward to both of our children attending here for many years!


Cornerstone Christian Academy 2

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
We are currently enrolled in first grade. Last year kindergarten was okay. Academily, these kids were superior, but just like the others said they were very pushed on reading and spelling test. Now, this year we were very upset with their class size! They only have two classes for first grade. They use to have three last year. Each of the class has 25 kids!! A way too overcrowded!! Even with tuition raising every year, this school still trying to squze as much kids in one class as possible. I was regret to send our kids to this school.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
The preschool is fantastic. The elementary and middle schools are not. Both the elementary and middle schools do not follow the State of Nevada standards. They teach below the grade level requirements, but tell the parents otherwise. If you are choosing a school based on academics, this not the school for your children. Too many students leave this school below grade level. There is a lack of leadership, lack of quality curriculum and lack of monitoring of teachers.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
We are the parents of an 8th grade student and could not be happier with everything Cornerstone has provided our daughter. Cornerstone teaches the "whole child"; providing a strong, solid education; a caring, loving environment, and good Christian values. We have had maybe 2 or 3 minor issues come up in the 6 years our daughter has attended Cornerstone, each time they were addressed with her best interests in mind. Throughout the years our daughter has participated on the sports teams and cheerleading - these activities have helped to build her character and confidence. I read comments from others about rising tuition, the dean, and the administration... what I can say is as parents we make sacrifices everyday so our daughter can flourish, the dean's high standards are not out-of-line - not a day goes by when Cornerstone students don't meet and exceed her expectations; the administration is outstanding, they have a great rapport with their students, and the Principal is an outstanding leader. Our only disappointment is that Cornerstone does not go thru to high school, we will have to find another school to trust with our daughter. It has been a great ride! We will miss Cornerstone!


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
PK-4 is outstanding! Wonderful teachers, strong academics, AR reading program and best of all... each day starts with a uplifting song and a loving prayer. This school teaches far more than most, your child will learn compassion, values, and how to be a person of character. What a bonus! Small school with a HUGE HEART

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
We have 3 kids at CornerStone and have had experience with preschool through middle school. CornerStone has been fantastic on all levels. The teachers and staff are really care, the education is excellent, and the community of parents is amazing. CornerStone is not a school, it's a family. So if your looking for a place to belong, make friendships and have your children flourish in a Christian environment, then this is the place for you!

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
CornerStone Christian Academy This is a great school. The academics are exceptional and there are also a lot of after school activities, from sports to performing arts. The teachers and staff are warm and caring and have the best interest of my children at heart. There are enough students there to allow for many friendships yet it has a family feel.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
Cornerstone is truly one of the best kept secrets in Southern Nevada. With top notch NAEYC accreditation, the pinnacle of distinctions bestowed on only the best preschools, a deeply caring staff, creative and interactive programming, and a beautiful campus, we could not ask for more. CCA is one of, if not the best preschool in the Valley.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
Cornerstone has adequate academics, but not as good as they used to be. Stellar academics used to be the primary reason we chose CCA for our kids. Now reading is pushed earlier and earlier, to the detriment of other subjects. We live in the neighborhood and found our neighbors' children were at exactly the same level our kids are in the same grades, even attending public school. I do like having bible teachings and weekly chapel, but I can do that on my own and save $2280 a month by sending my kids to the neighborhood school instead. We will not be returning next year. The cost keeps going up but the service keeps going down. They continually require more and more materials be brought from home, which should be provided via the high cost of tuition. And the constant fund-raisers and requests for additional funds for various activities has just become ridiculous. Again comparing it to the neighborhood school, that school doesn't ask for as much 'giving' as CCA does, even though it already costs a tremendous amount to attend. ** Also, investigate teachers' credentials - it has recently come to light that some don't have degrees or teaching credentials.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cornerstone Christian Academy
5825 W Eldora Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89146
(702) 939-5050
Last modified Cornerstone Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Cornerstone Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top