Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
229 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mountain View Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
I think they rate below average standards. There is a real complacent in their education regimen. They tend to want parent's involvement, to the point of re-teaching children at home.

Mountain View Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
I think children adult behavior and this school does not properly foster the best attitude with regard to empathy and compassion.


Mountain View Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
There is a lack of fairness in their treatment of all children. They have a tendency to favor some students over others.

Mountain View Lutheran School 1

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
The school has poor leadership. There is a general philosophy of independent learning for the 4th and 5th grade level, in which parents tend to "home school" their children in the evenings. This is difficult for working parents. There should be more instruction and oversight of most of the children learning and comprehending subject matter while at school. Sports are minimal and technology takes a back seat in education here. Rules and religion take center stage.

Mountain View Lutheran School 2

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
The parent/teacher partnership of educational enrichment is marginal at best. There is a lack of equal opportunity for all children to be successful in learning and extra-curricular activities at this school. The same children are selected for plays, sports, and academic honors without a clear indication of superior aptitude or performance. There is a complacency of attitude toward innovative ways to educate children based on individual learning styles.


Mountain View Lutheran School 5

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
I had two kids attend MVLS and believe the environment in exactly what you would want in an elementary school. It's small and cozy. Every one knows the kids and parents and a stranger would stand out. I have never witnessed any problems with staff or parents. The parents I have met all get along and have become good friends. Our children have excelled scholastically and are well prepared for higher education. The children treat each other like brothers and sisters and will sure to be life long friends.

Mountain View Lutheran School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
I love this school! I am a teacher, and I am so happy with this schools preschool. The entire staff is caring, and friendly. My children love this place. I highly recommend it! The academics is on par, and I know my children feel loved there.

Mountain View Lutheran School 5

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
This school is wonderful. It is awesome to drop your children off at a school where they are learning great values, morals as well as academics. The parents are all involved and the teachers are top notch. My son loves this school and his teachers! Not only are the teachers great but they truly care about your child!


Mountain View Lutheran School 2

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
While the teachers and staff are great with the kids I do have one big concern... My kinder-child is left handed and is always getting low grades for "fine motor" skills. There are no lefty scissors or other school supplies at the school. I do want my child to learn to do things in a right handed world but I do not think that a lefty should be marked down for things a right handed child can do better. I am aware of my childs weaknesses and I have been working with him for years now, and does do better then the other lefty's in the same grade, but I think the grading is bias... My child cuts very poorly with right handed scissor so I am ordering a lefty pair for him, he sometimes writes or read letters backwards so I have to get him tutoring on the side, and no one seems to have any knowledge of how to guide a left handed child. I think everyone should take special training on how to help Lefty's!

Mountain View Lutheran School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
This is a fantastic school. I would highly recommend it. My three children have attended since pre-school. All three are above grade level in reading and math. If you support your child by reading with them at home regularly and making sure that they complete their homework they will do really well at Mountain View. The teachers are very approachable and take pride in their work. I can't say enough good things about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain View Lutheran School
9550 West Cheyenne Avenue, Las Vegas, NV  89129
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (702) 804-5291
Last modified Mountain View Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top