Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jerome Mack Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 11, 2014

As a 7th soon to be 8th grade student at Mack I find it a horrible school! Most students at Mack like to get into trouble and start up drama. The staff there is ok, I guess. Some teachers are really strict while only a few aren't as strict. I honestly feel like the staff at this school wants you to be perfect for them. Many teachers give too much unecessary homework. The uniforms are also pretty dry because you only get three colors to choose from which are white, khaki, and navy blue. Plus they have to be SOLID colors and if you want to wear a jacket it must also be solid colors! I often over hear other students speaking about leaving Mack for the next school year as I wish to do also. I would not recommend this school to anyone


Posted May 5, 2014

This school is OK. I only like it because of my favorite teacher. The students there are wannabes, the dean is a (cant say the word because I don't know who's reading this)... and we have the stupidest disciplines!! Im an 8th grader, I've been here since 6th. 6th was wonderful, 7th was horrible, my 8th year was ok.. maybe worse because we have a stupid blocked schedule and ugly uniforms. WE HAVE A LOT OF STRICT TEACHERS. BUT MR. GILDNER IS THE BEST TEACHER OK. HE'S JUST THE BEST.


Posted March 8, 2013

This has got to be the WORST SCHOOL EVER....... They should Knock it to the ground fire all staff and faculty and start all over again with the proper kinds of Faculty. I would not recommend this school to any parent who likes a school to communicate with you about your child/student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

Honestly, I Believe This Is A Great School. There Is A LOT of Discipline For Those Students Who Are Not On Task, Disruptive, Or Disobedient. I'm An 8th Grader This Year ; I Participate Is School Activities (Sports, Band). These Past Couple Years The School Has Improved, At Least In My Opinion. It Is Organized, Proper, And Educational ; Well In An Honor Student's POV (ACC and Honors Class) . Ohh And It's 6-9 Grades . But Yeahh Mack Is A Great School With Some Strict But Cool Teachers, Staff, And [mostly] Nice Students . The Only Thing I Dislike (That Comes To Mind) Is Its Location . I Recommend This School Though ! :D


Posted July 5, 2010

wait but what kind of education does it have because i want to have a good education and play basketball. Do the teachers give help to students 1 on 1 or no because if not i don't want to go there


Posted April 8, 2010

I loved going to Mack! When I was there it was such a great school to go to because of all the different programs they offered. Whoever said it wasn't a good school should rethink that!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2008

I think that mac is a great school beacuse of the interactive witw boards and the inside of the school is very clean.that's why I give it a five star


Posted July 1, 2008

Great school, offers a lot of programs and incentives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I enjoy going to Mack. I disagree to who ever said they have no discipline. Its not the teachers fault. They don't have to be or babysitters. You guys need first hand experience of what really goes on in there. After all it is a new school. As for the test scores like I said new school, new teachers, new kids, back up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2007

The teachers are overwhelmed by there students to the extent that the students are the 'rulers' of the school. They have little to no control. The majority of the teachers though nice have decided that it is a popularity contest. So basically they have stooped down to the students level. If the teacher is licked and popular its almost guaranteed its because the teacher is lenient and lets the students get away with every thing they want. Have you seen their test scores? Atrocious! They need more teachers with a firm hand and alittle bit of savvy on how to deal with the 'terrible teen' stage. We need BETTER 'chiefs' to take care of our young 'indians'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2006

Mack school is a great school, I enjoy working with science and english projects in my 6 grade class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2006

I am a 7th grader at Mack Middle School...I personally think that this school is so unorganized irresponsible and just doesn't care! If you are thinking about having you child go to this school please think again...
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

452 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

407 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students27%
Female27%
Male27%
Black/African American12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian35%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch27%
Full price31%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities30%
Students with limited English proficiency2%
Proficient in English33%
Not migrant27%

Reading

All Students54%
Female61%
Male47%
Black/African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian47%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full price62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities58%
Students with limited English proficiency23%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Female34%
Male31%
Black/African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian29%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch31%
Full price43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities35%
Students with limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English40%
Not migrant32%

Reading

All Students48%
Female57%
Male40%
Black/African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian56%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch46%
Full price56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities52%
Students with limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students23%
Female24%
Male23%
Black/African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian19%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch24%
Full price20%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities25%
Students with limited English proficiency2%
Proficient in English27%
Not migrant23%

Reading

All Students39%
Female47%
Male31%
Black/African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian42%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch37%
Full price46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities42%
Students with limited English proficiency2%
Proficient in English45%
Not migrant39%

Science

All Students32%
Female31%
Male34%
Black/African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian40%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch33%
Full price27%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities34%
Students with limited English proficiency2%
Proficient in English37%
Not migrant32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 73% 40%
White 11% 37%
Black 10% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-2412

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4250 Karen Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89121
Phone: (702) 799-2005

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oasis Baptist Church
Las Vegas, NV





John F Miller School
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT