Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John R Hummel Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2016
- a parent
Another great year for my son who just finished 2nd grade with Ms Santilli. The school has been extremely supportive throughout the last 3 years and he is having a blast and improving every day.

John R Hummel Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
This is my sons last year of elementary school at John R Hummel I have faith that this is the best choice of school for him because it was the best choice of school for my daughter who is now in middle school excelling academically. SHe is in the Junior Honors Society and doing well in all of her classes so far and that is because she got a really good headstart at John R Hummel. This school has a great curriculum which gives the students the ability to learn well and excel in everything they do in school, at home and in their social surroundings. They incorporate a safe and healthy environment for their students to come to and learn. Their events are so well organized and makes it a memorable for every students that come and go. I highly recommend John R Hummel for every parent to enroll their students to.


John R Hummel Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Van Horn remains to be the best teacher for both my daughter and son who had her for their kindergarten teacher. Ms.Van Horn gave them the best head start in their entire academic studies. They are now going in 10th grade and 8th grade. They have successfully maintained their grades in A's and Bs while they are active in other extra curricular activities. They have their future college goals set and i want to thank Ms Van Horn for such a memorable year for them which they continue to carry with them as they move forward in their education. She is by far one of the best teachers. Thank you Ms. Van Horn. The Clemens family.

John R Hummel Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
We love Hummel Elementary school. The teachers are so amazing, they go above and beyond.

John R Hummel Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
Before the end of last school year I would have rated Hummel five stars. Mr. Darrington, the principal since Hummel opened, left and the new principal seemed too preoccupied with "something" to be visible or friendly. The teacher morale seemed to drop. Mr. Darrington was visible, greeting students at the door every morning and saying good bye at the door every afternoon. He was also in the lunchroom, interacting with students, every day. My kids miss him and don't understand why he is no longer there. Many teachers have chosen to leave. It makes me sad that a school that had such a personal touch has turned into an impersonal, sad place. Sending my children to school where I knew they were loved and cared for by both administration and staff made a big difference. It will be interesting to see what happens during the 2014-2015 school year. Fingers crossed. My children have always looked forward to going back to school. Not this year.


John R Hummel Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
I LOVE THIS SCHOOL FOR MY KIDS , THE TEACHERS THAT THEY'VE HAD ARE EXCELLENT AND VERY CARING AND THEY COMMUNICATE EVERYTHING WITH ME, AS A PARENT WE ALSO HAVE TO BE INVOLVED WITH OUR KIDS LEARNING DON'T LEAVE IT ALL UP TO THE TEACHERS.

John R Hummel Elementary School 3

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
What a difference a good principal makes!! I see a lot improvement in the school. My daughter's teacher is great and the school seems to be managed much better. The office staff is still mean and uncaring but much much improvement has been made. There is still the cliche of parent/teachers but overall I like the progress I see.

John R Hummel Elementary School 1

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
I constantly have trouble with most of the teachers, they never listen to parents concerns nor communicate. They set-up parents as well as children. In addition, the teachers have no control over their students. The curriculum is very poorly and do not teach children the difference between bully or abuse. The students are very gossipi and the teachers begin to accuse certain children.


John R Hummel Elementary School 1

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Do whatever you can to stay away from this school. The teachers don't care, the Principal has no idea that her teachers are incompetent. I would have put my child in a different school if it wasn't his last year at Hummel.

John R Hummel Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2012
- a community member
II left Hummel as an honors student with straight A's and now so do my sisters they are now honor students as well

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John R Hummel Elementary School
9800 Placid St, Las Vegas, NV  89183
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (702) 799-6810
Last modified John R Hummel Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top