Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
K teacher Ms. Gardner, dedicated and professional, does a great job. Our child is learning everything she needs to know at this level.

Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Good school, not sure why people are rating this school so poorly. Our child has had a great experience here, her teacher Ms. Gardner is spectacular. Well run, well organized, positive environment.


Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School 1

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
Worst school ever! Had an issue with 2 teachers bullying my son and calling him names in front the class. Calling him a cry baby after they humiliated him in front of the class. I pulled him out immediatly!!! Please don't send your kids here to get mistreated

Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
Tanaka does a nice job of recognizing students that excel. The principal have a pizza party with the students every couple of months. My son was also selected as a Distinguished Dragon and was given a shirt that he now wears every Friday. The after school activities are usually free and we get involved when our schedule allows. Our family really enjoys the school.

Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School 1

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
Worst school ever!! They think it is okay for teachers and staff to be physical with students. They disrespect parents and children! Stay away. I pulled my 3rd grader out immediately!


Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School 4

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
Tanaka is a fabulous school. The teachers and staff are very friendly and encouraging. Unfortunately, the parent involvement is not where is should be, so the teachers have their work cut out for them. I am extremely impressed with the interaction I've had with my child's teacher who is always very professional and forthcoming. My child has improved greatly this last year with the help of her teacher. Although the school has not preformed well with test scores, I believe that has more to do with the parental involvement with the students. In my last school, parents had to race to be able to sign up as "room mothers" and if you didn't make it in time you had to find other ways in being involved in the school. I wish I knew more of the administration, which seems withdrawn, however I rate this school a 4 average because of the excellent teachers, the positive environment, and the open door policy with the parents.

Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School 1

Posted June 01, 2011
- a community member
Tanaka when it comes to discipline towards the students are unfair and unjust. They are uneducated when it comes to the steps they need to take. They are not fair with students its very sad they should be investigated.

Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School 1

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
Worst school ever. The counselor assalted my son and left bruises all over him. When I went to the superintendant and principle, they made excuses and made it seem like my son was the problem. The counselor still works there because I didnt want to press charges, have him arrested and go to court. The staff is also very rude. Steer clear. Terrible school.


Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School 4

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
Since I find myself checking the reviews from this website to decide on several matters in our familial situation, i gues it is but fair to put my two cents as to the outcome of my search with regards to what school my daughter should go to ... sure the score for Tanaka is just a 5 out of 10 but i have involved myself in my child's learning and i think the scoring does not give justice to the hardwork the faculty, parents and the kids themselves exert to attain the environment this school has become. My daughter has been going to this school for two years now and I can definitely say that the teachers are very well versed with what they teach - they have an open door policy with the parents. It will not be fair to just blame the teachers if the kids are not learning.

Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
I think the administration at this school is average. The test scores at this school seem to be the lowest in a five mile radius which is concerning to me. In comparision to other schools in the region I think this school needs additional programs. Many of the teachers are the school seem very talented. My son had a fabulous teacher and really learned a lot. I just wish the administration had more educational programs and the school was able to get the test scores up.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School
9135 West Maule Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89148
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (702) 799-2504
Last modified Wayne N Tanaka Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top