Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joseph E Thiriot Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 632 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 2, 2013

Please be informed before you make comments about an IEP. It takes time to get your child an IEP and they don't get one because you want them to get one. I am pretty sure a child would never be suspended for walking out of line. I have been teaching for 7 years and have yet to see that happen. Please parents take accountability for your children's behavior and quit making excuses. This school has no extra curricular activities because they have NO PARENT volunteers or support. Class size has nothing to do with the school it has to do with the school district and the people who run it. Do you really think the teachers want large class sizes and they do it to make the parents mad?? REALLY?? Kids all over Vegas play outside in this heat again this not the schools fault. MOVE IF YOU DON"T LIKE THE HEAT!! What is wrong with the playground? Its actually bigger than most schools in Vegas. As for the parking lot, Thiriot has one of the biggest parking lots for an elementary school. Be informed please before you blame and point the finger. Oh and those fences are their to keep YOUR kids safe!! Teachers don't teach for the money, they teach because they love kids so be nice please. Thank you


Posted September 16, 2013

This school is terrific my granddaughter attended this school in kindergarden and is now in first grade. She loves it everynight she sits now with both her parents to do her home work. Mybe the parents so concerned about parking and the fence should worry more about their children. Did you not hear about the 13 year that was grabbed going to school.. The fence is a protection for everyone's child. Wake up people, would you rather have your little child waiting unprotected for someone to kidnap them or have a fence to protect them. Like I said what's more imortant your child or parking ?


Posted August 24, 2013

My daughter has attended this school for the past 2 years. I find teachers and staff more than helpful and available if there are questions and/or concerns. The fact that this is a uniform school is also a plus in my book. As for all the negative comments I read here, I have never experienced any problems with disrespect or feeling as if my child was being treated "like cattle". Yes parking is limited and unless you can have acouple apartment buildings demolished that's not going to be an easily fixed problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

The parking lot of this school is the least of my concerns when compared to the teachers and administration. If you want your child to be treated like cattle, disrespected, and given the best that a sub par education can offer...then this is your school. If you, as a parent, want to be looked down upon and blown off by the teachers/office admin for demanding better...again...this is your school. This school has no real extra curricular activities to offer, the parking lot was built for about 1/3 of the current attendees(illegal parking/unsafe driving), large class sizes combined with teachers punching the clock, kids expected to play outdoors in Vegas heat(103+) on the saddest "playground" you've ever seen, constant robocalls from the school, parents stand around for twenty minutes(both before and after school) before being lined up to pick up their kids from a "fenced off" area, and the front office secretary....WOW. This school is unlike any other I've seen. It's an absolutely dreadful place and I would encourage prospective parents to either try to get into another school or home school, because this failing school is a perfect example of a broken system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

I don't have a problem with the school. I have a problem with the principal and the teacher body. My child was suspended for 2 days because she walk out of line. I felt that was very extreme punishment for an 8 yrs. I also informed them when I filled out the medical info that my child has ADHD. None of her teachers new that, I asked if they can have an IEP on file for her. It never happened. The school system is terrible here. I cannot wait to move from this place
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

I agree that the parking lot has it's problems but knowing that parents should leave home a little earlier. As a teacher there, it would be great if I had more parent support. Many of my students come to school unprepared. I know that in most families parents are working but please take the time to check your child's folder/backpack, ask them about their day, and find out what they are learning. Most of the time I feel completely alone in the education of your children. I became a teacher so that I could help our children succeed. It can feel very disheartening when I am the only one working with all these students. You are your child's greatest teacher. Don't let that opportunity slip by.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 6, 2009

yes,the parking is such problem,it takes me forever to find a parking space.plus im always late taking my child to class,because of this. And the clerical staff always in the parking lot like they work for traffic control!!!lol they really need to fix this problem,or god forbid that a child would get hurt because of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

The school parking lot really needs to expand! and more teachers for kindergarden they only have 5 currently with each class growing with the number of students attending! They really need to hire more teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

The Principal and Vice Principal are a great team...the staff just needs to get on track with the different needs of each student, and the realization that not all students learn the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

The school has new ways. It has the only campus of its kind so far. It is a two story that is still fully handicap accessible. I have a son who attended in a wheelchair and was in the special needs class there and never have I felt my son as well as my other children to be so safe at school. The administrators remember names and use them. It is a community of caring teachers and staff. There is a strong focus on all aspects of learning and different ways to learn. Arts and music are also at this school where other schools have cut them out of the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
24%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

87 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female65%
Male52%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Students with limited English proficiency53%
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant59%

Reading

All Students36%
Female46%
Male26%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch37%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities38%
Students with limited English proficiency23%
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female72%
Male67%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiency53%
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant69%

Reading

All Students68%
Female77%
Male60%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch69%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Students with limited English proficiency47%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female75%
Male69%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiency59%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant72%

Reading

All Students55%
Female58%
Male52%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch54%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Students with limited English proficiency26%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant55%

Science

All Students50%
Female56%
Male46%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch49%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Students with limited English proficiency35%
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 39%
Black 21% 10%
White 14% 39%
Asian 8% 6%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-2545

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5700 West Harmon Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89103
Phone: (702) 799-2550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Las Vegas Day School
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT