Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Steve Schorr Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

So far we have really enjoyed Schorr. My son had Mrs. Carino in K and Mrs. Jacobs in 1st, both great, compassionate teachers that challenged the kids. This school has a very open door policy for volunteering, meeting with teachers etc. Mrs. Cortney (Librian) started a reading program for the 1st grade last year based on parent volunteers coming in and working one on one with the kids. I thought it was a great program; however, unfortunatly there were not very many parents that volunteered to do this. If you want to know what is going on in your childs school I would highly recommend helping out in the classroom, PTA etc. You won't/don't know until to you go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

There is no supervision at all at the beginning of school. Kids are running wild and run in front of cars. They only have 2 ladies that are lazy and do nothing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

Great school tucked away on the outside of Las Vegas. Boosted curriculum and excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

The school is very good in terms of molding their students to become a better person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

Amazing teachers and staff always out going making us feel very welcome and understanding with child's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

I love this school! The teachers and staff are great! They always seem to have something fun going on for the kids. Two of my children have gone here, and my youngest son will be starting kindergarten here this year. I wouldn't send him anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

This school has amazing staff and administration that keep you involved in the progress of your child. They definitely care for the students and strive for their success. I wouldn't send my child anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

Schorr Elementary is an outstanding school. It has a dedicated teaching staff that goes above and beyond to ensure the success of its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2013

Fantastic administration leads to excellent teaching staff. Rave reviews from teachers with graduate degrees and above!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2012

I really love this school. The principal is great! He's always there for support and help. The amount of parent involvement is really nice. All of the teachers that I have met are nice and friendly. Some of the teachers are just outstanding!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

Steven Schorrs Elementary School started out good year 2011-2012, but has fallen from my criteria as to what a school system is to teach our children. There learning and growth abilities are not consistent. No cross guards where should be at this school location. You have to provide school supplies for the school in which this is the schools responsibility. Have more activities for a parent to come out of pocket then any school I have been involved with. They want you to volunteer, they want their paychecks when time to get paid. I need a paycheck to keep my household running. Cutting programs where is necessary for children to continue to exhale and I am not satisfied at all with learning fundaments at school any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

Steven Schorr Elementary School is one of the best schools in Vegas/Henderson. I have a son who has attended six years and a daughter who has attended two years. The principal and academic coordinator have vast experience and are very involved in all aspects of the school. They have adjusted to the reduced budgets beautifully. They understand the importance of all the "specials" such as science, art, music, PE, and library and these programs are still active and thriving. There have been additional programs available for parents to volunteer inside or outside the classroom. I have seen an increase of volunteers the last couple of years and it has a positive effect on the school. Most importantly, my kids have had fabulous teachers each year. My son is gifted which effected him in the earlier years, but the teacher recognized it and got him tested for GATE. The GATE program has made a significant change to how my son feels about school. Overall, this school is amazing and listens to the parents and students. A+!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

The teachers are of top quality. They go above and beyond what is required of them, making Schorr an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

This is an OUTSTANDING school! I highly recommend anyone to be apart of this school. The Staff and Teachers are Great people, and will try to help you with any situation you have. Teachers, keep you updated on how you child is doing in class and out of class (Hallways, Library, P.E); they send you emails and send home letters. Overall, this school is a 5 STAR SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

The BEST public school around! My kids came from a private school into Schorr and I couldn't be happier! The principle is very accomodating and helpful. He loves the school and so does the founder, Steven G. Schorr. He takes an active role in doing many things for our students year round. Including hosting a golf tourney so our school DOESN'T have to ask our parents for MONEY through many fundraisers. More parents need to step up and volunteer, that's for sure. But the ones that do, make a HUGE difference in the lives of the children at the school. Big applause for them too! And the TEACHERS are FAB! Kids only get swtiched around from class to class if the student is a problem child or because hte parents are never happy! This is inregards to the last comment posted in July!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

Terrible School. My son has had multiple teachers this year and I can't even keep track of them all. All the school does all year long is beg for money. Absolutely would never recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

great school nice teachers that follow a good standard curriculum for thekids also my son enjoys it too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Steve Schorr is a wonderful school. We have an outstanding principal, Mr. Wronski, who has high expectations of the students, staff, and parents. Schorr has several after school programs like Cheer Club, Sign Design, American Sign Language, Choir, Art Club, Drama Club, and Science Club. The teachers are very dedicated and willing to learn the newest, research-based practices. Students know what is expected of them and they meet the high expectations every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

The teachers, the staff...all wonderful!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

My son has learned so much and he is only in kindergarten. I had him enrolled in full day kindergarten and he already reads writes and does math. He loves the school and I think the school has done a great job. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female88%
Male79%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian95%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch75%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant83%

Reading

All Students79%
Female88%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female74%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian81%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant78%

Reading

All Students74%
Female78%
Male71%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian79%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female71%
Male65%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant67%

Reading

All Students70%
Female77%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch49%
Full price85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant70%

Science

All Students65%
Female75%
Male57%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch47%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 37%
Hispanic 27% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 6%
Two or more races 10% 5%
Black 8% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11420 Placid St
Las Vegas, NV 89183
Phone: (702) 799-1380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT