Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School 1

Posted October 12, 2014
- a community member
Used to be a student here, and it sucked. Every teacher was ignorant, and I hated it here.

Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
TMS is it awesome beautiful middle school! My daughters going there right now for six grade she loves all the teachers especially Mrs.Drazba, Ms.Glismann and Ms.Thomas. The outdoor campus is beautiful and very very nice Deans and principals and teachers. At The end of every quarter there is a schedule change for some of the same kids that go there. There is also something called super shark. It's where a teacher selects a student from their class or classes they then right about them and they nominate them for super shark,super shark is something that kids show excellent effort and they always are thriving to learn more!! If you want to enroll your kid in a middle school pick Terkanian middle school!!


Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School 4

Posted June 15, 2013
- a community member
TMS is a really great public school. i went there for my 6th and 8th grade year, and i loved it. You definitely feel more independent with how big the school is and the various teacher you have. You get recognized for all you've achieved with "Straight A" luncheon's at the end of every quarter. Although, certain teachers that i have had in the past lack responsibility and show a careless attitude when it comes to grades, but those are only CERTAIN teachers. Admin is nice, beautiful outdoor campus. I'd recommend this school to anyone with a child entering into middle school.

Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School 4

Posted March 10, 2013
- a parent
A great pulbic school. Only problem is over crowding, school district is planing to redraw school lines.

Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School 5

Posted July 20, 2012
- a parent
Awesome school! I love it! Super excellent teaching and education, my child loved it! If you're looking for a good school, this is it!


Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School 4

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
My son was a sixth grader this year at Tarkanian. I found the vast majority of his teachers to be competent, caring and committed to the students. His math, science, PE and especially BAND teacher were very strong. The sixth grade counselor and the librarian were also very supportive. The dean is STRICT but I like that.....there is no tolerance for knuckleheads. We came from an exclusive private school but I will say, I think this school offers a good educational opportunity and a "real world" environment.

Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School 2

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
This school is a joke. Some of the teachers there are alright, but some others really shouldn't be even teaching. They don't offer anything extra after school besides dance, cheerleading, and basketball. We can't wait to get our 4.0 student out of this school!

Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School 1

Posted April 22, 2012
- a parent
This is the worst school I've ever seen! They allow kids to be bullied. Teachers Pick and choose the students they send to the dean for dress code violations. This place should be shut down. Children should not be put in the situations!


Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a community member
The school has every right to search any students locker / back pack / purse / sachel if they believe that the student has anything in her / his possession that is illegal / immoral / poronographic or NOT in the interests of school (drawings that the student wastes class time looking at over and over. Students should NOT bring items to school that don't fit into the learning process...i.e. games / toys / photographs. Although cell phones are allowed many students do texting when the teacher isn't looking...so the student is NOT learning. This School is fantastic.

Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School 5

Posted December 12, 2011
- a community member
I am a 6th grader at Tarkanian Middle School. The teachers are great and always help the students. There are so many extra activities at this school. I have been to three schools in my life, and this is my overall favorite. Five stars!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School
5800 West Pyle Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89141
(702) 799-6801
Last modified Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lois & Jerry Tarkanian Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top