Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Innovations International Charter School of NV

Charter | 6-12 | 307 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2008

I have had my daughter enrolled at this school from the first day they opened, and although there seems to be a slow pace to the improvements of the physical aspects of the facilities and organization, I commend the staff and teachers, and especially the administrators for prioritizing and seeking the safety of the students as their priority. Nothing happens overnight, and I have witnessed little by little the gradual improvements. I had some real hand wringing when I did not re-enroll my daughter in Crestwood elementary down the street, but the aspect of watching and developing her education from grade 3 all the way through high school, with smaller classes, and caring teachers has indeed sold me that I made the right decision. Most parents I have had discussions with feel they too made the right transition for their children becuase there is no limit to parent /teacher connectivity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

I agree. I am a former student here and when i moved on to high school, I realized I was really behind and having to take other classes to catch-up. If you want what's best for you child, DO NOT send them here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

I found out about IICSN from a friend and could not be happier with the education and after school programs offered. My son is in Kindergarten and his teacher goes the extra mile and is very committed to the students. I have seen the disrespect and awful behavior of some of the students. And I have seen the teacher and principal handle the situations. My son is very excited about his classes and it is a joy to see him blossom. The school is amazing. As far as overcrowding, the classes are full and on many days the teachers have help from parents. (instead of criticizing try to volunteer) We love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

My oldest just started kindergarten this year at IICSN, and we are mostly happy with our choice. There are a few bugs in the dropping off/picking up routine, but I can see that my son's teacher is very committed, and the extra programs and classes that are offered can't be found at any other public school in the area. My son loves going to school and is learning a great deal. I can't ask for more than that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

Terrible, that is all I'm going to say
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

I could not give a negative review for this school, even if I wanted to. I have searched for not just a school for my child, but a community . . . a home away from home, and IICSN is it. T My child's teachers pour their hearts into teaching and reaching my child - they really care about the kids . . . keeping them happy and safe. The principal does not give up on her students who face challengs. She doesn't jsut manage the community. She leads it. Dr. Malin is an innovator who has created a family of people that think outside of the box to reach into the minds and hearts of the kids. Every staff member that I have met pours their lives into the school making it the ideal place for my child. I haven't regretted my choice to enroll here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

Seeing the offensive/belittling remarks made below by 'parents' are very unjustified. The school is NOT a baby sitting service. I've sat in on classes and have seen the disrespect that these children have. I do NOT believe teachers teach that behavior...it does 'start in the home'. (Learn to spell, IICSN has only been around for 2 years). Does every parent think THEIR child is an angel? Do they give YOU attitude? What do think the teachers, staff, security and the principal go through...put yourself in their shoes. Chaotic? Watch transferring of classes in other schools? There is a NO TOLERANCE policy in place in the district could or did your child handle that?? All parents read and signed the rules just as I did. Remember what you sign! Parent : Fear for their safety ...It's a School of Choice...we don't live in a bubble; there will be some falling down, booboos and name calling (were you ever in school?)...their kids! Or maybe the in it for the money should figure out how to get a personal assistant paid for each of the 600 individual children so they have a body guard, etc. HELLO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

I removed my child from this school after repeated requests for his safety and well-being went unanswered. The principal is only concerned with the amount of money she receives per child and not the quality of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I have to agree with the parent who submitted their opinion of this school below. The scholl is unorganized and overcrowded. I love most of the teachers and they seem to have their hands tied when it comes to certain things at the school. Some of the teachers seem to want to be friends and chums with the studentss and not take their place as being the teacher and the controller of the class. the students are rude and disrespectful (but that starts at home) The admin office doesnt seem to be fair in some situations. They seem to be in a chaotic state. The principle seems to be always in the clouds, she needs to come down to earth most times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

This school is unorganized, overcrowded, and the teachers seem frazzled and overworked. I worry about my child's safety every day. The administration is defensive and uncooperative. They are not living up to what they advertise on their website- the teachers don't seem to know what a project based curriculum is and Spanish is not offered at all grade levels. Everything seems very chaotic. They bit off more than they could chew.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

43 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students27%
Female24%
Male30%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch22%
Full price35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities30%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English34%
Not migrant27%

Reading

All Students42%
Female39%
Male43%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch36%
Full price52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Female46%
Male23%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch33%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities37%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English35%
Not migrant33%

Reading

All Students39%
Female50%
Male29%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch35%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English41%
Not migrant39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students23%
Female33%
Male15%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch19%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities27%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English24%
Not migrant23%

Reading

All Students28%
Female41%
Male18%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch23%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities31%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English32%
Not migrant28%

Science

All Students28%
Female37%
Male21%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch21%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities31%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English32%
Not migrant28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant63%

Reading

All Students64%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant64%

Science

All Students56%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant56%

Writing

All Students66%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 40% 5%
Hispanic 36% 40%
Black 11% 10%
White 11% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A54%
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1600 East Oakey Blvd
Las Vegas, NV 89104
Phone: (702) 216-4337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Academy For Learning
Las Vegas, NV


St Joseph School
Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT